New Arrivals, Current Reading

I seem to have the Summer blahs, both in reading and writing on this blog. It got hot here for the first time this year, we broke 100 yesterday with a high of 102, hottest in many years. I know that may not be a big deal for you who have been sweltering all Summer, but for Portland, it’s severe. We’re watering and protecting the garden as best we can.

New Arrivals – nothing again this week.

Current Reading – I started two books and set them aside after about 20 pages. Nothing at all wrong with them, they just didn’t interest me at the time. Finally, I pulled an older one off the shelf, Roots by Alex Hailey. I’m about 300 pages into it, enjoying it though I admit I’ve skimmed a few sections here and there. I also got Frank DeFord’s new autobiography, Over Time, from the library and am about a third of the way into it. Quick, episodic stories from his years as a sports writer, most of them at Sports Illustrated.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading

  1. I usually read one book at a time. I have a novel or non-fiction book to read during the day and then an audiobook or short story collection for evenings when my faculties are fading. We just experienced the hottest day of the year here: 95 degrees. And humid. Yuck!

  2. Carl V. says:

    I’ve finally got myself into fiction again and started two books this weekend, Fool Moon, the second book in the Dresden series. Reading that one on the Kindle from a library download and am having fun with that. Also Train Dreams by Denis Johnson. And of course I haven’t left off the running and so am reading the essays in Dean Karnazes’ book, Run!

    Having been at or over a hundred for months now I can sympathize with your pain. It is awful and very, very tiresome.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Wouldn’t you just know it, our one visit to Portland in the late 80’s coincided with a 100 degree heat wave. We did have one 100 degree day in July. It was 91 yesterday but brutally humid.

    As for books I got a couple of short story pamphlets (I guess you’d call them) from Crippen & Landru (which you will be getting I’m sure) and read them: Lee Goldberg’s Mr. Monk and the BBQ (very slight) and Loren D. Estleman’s Wolfe in the Manger, an amusing Christmas tale about his Brooklyn-based Nero Wolfe wannabe, Claudius Lyon.

    I’m in the middle of Bernard Malamud’s Complete Stories. I read the third of Dean Koontz’s Odd Thomas graphic novels (illustrated by Queenie Chan) and Philip K. Dick’s Time Out of Joint. (I’m catching up on science fiction many of you read decades ago.) Also read J. G. Ballard’s dystopic High-Rise.

    And we went to two shows (one on Broadway, one off) and a concert (The Dukes of September – Donald Fagen, Michael McDonald and Boz Scaggs) last week.

  4. Richard says:

    George, I usually read just one book at a time also, but when I’m in the middle of a very long one (Roots is close to 600 pages) and a library book comes in, I stop to read that, then go back to the long one. Technically I’m reading one book at a time, just during a break from another one.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl, glad to hear you’re reading some fiction again, balance is the key, you know. Look forward to a review on your blog.

    Jeff, I got those pamphlets too, and wasn’t sure why the Christmas one was so darn late. I read it but not the other before I put them on the shelf with all the other C&L ones. The Complete Malamud stories sounds daunting. I read Time Out of Joint many decades ago, remember little if anything of it now. Fagen and Scaggs sounds like a great combo.

  6. I intend to read Roots soon. It’s just so long looking sitting there on my tbr pile.

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, it IS long. There are almost 100 pages of Kunta Kinte’s growing up in his African village before he was captured by slavers. It is the part after he reached these shores that I’m finding most interesting.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    I have started a dozen books over the last few days. So far, none has grabbed me.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, that happens to me every now and then, while at other times everything sounds good and I’m enthralled with it. Go figure, I guess. It may be a “reading mood” thing…

Leave a Reply

