2012 London Olympic Games

I’m burned out.

I like swimming, and there has been a lot of it, but the constant hammering of the Phelps-Locte rivalry was old after about a day, and has turned out to be a very minor story. Also, the swimming seems much more drawn out this year.

The daytime coverage seems to focus on soccer, weight lifting, ping-pong, soccer, shooting, dressage. Did I mention soccer? I don’t like soccer, and though there is a special package, extra cost Olympics soccer channel, the regular daytime coverage includes a lot of it. I can watch one, maybe two volleyball matches, indoor, beach, whatever, but it’s on every single day, daytime, prime time, you name it. The network saves the gymnastics for the end of the prime time broadcast, when my eyes are tired and I’m starting to yawn, then they show pretty much only the U.S. team.

Matter of fact, the entire coverage is U.S.-centric. I’d like to see the best athletes, the best teams, but unless the U.S. team is one of the top ones it seems they skip other top teams in favor of something else. I remember I had this complaint four years ago, but had hoped for better this time around. Not to be. An exception seems to be rowing, but a little of that goes a long way, for me.

The worst of all this is that I’m not at all interested in track and field. So except for the regular (not synchronized) diving there isn’t much left for me to watch. Which is a good thing, because I’m tired of watching, TVed-out. I can hardly wait for September 5th when the NFL season starts.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 2012 London Olympic Games

  1. Todd Mason says:

    Ah, well…this nationalist chauvinism (to be sure, encouraged by the organization of the games), and the Roone Arledge-devised notion that we should have single athletes picked out and focused on to the exclusion of all others, have plagued Olympics coverage (among other sports coverage) for decades. Meanwhile, indoor women’s volleyball I can watch longer than nearly any other sport…mostly because indoor women’s volleballers average more attractive to me than any other athletes…

  2. I’m a little burned out myself. Lochte seems not to be as big a deal as he himself believed(and his sponsors of course; wonder if they are having second thoughts about those fat contracts). Not much amateurism left on any level anymore.

  3. Richard says:

    True enough, Todd, but the optimist in me always hopes for something better as it becomes a more global world.

    Randy – exactly.

  4. Randy’s right about the Olympics being a big marketing machine. I’m a casual watcher, but for those hardcore fans, NBC is providing 55 hours of coverage this week. Like you, I’m more interested in the NFL. I even watch preseason games!

  5. Richard says:

    George, I’ll even watch a few pre-season games myself, depending on who is being televised in this area. You probably get a lot of Bills games there, here it’s the Seahawks. Say, how about a Bills-Seahawks super bowl this coming January?

  6. Bills vs. Seahawks…I like it!

  7. Carl V. says:

    Gotta say I’m enjoying it all. I’m not home during the day, so I’m not getting saturated by it, but I’m loving having it on at night, regardless of what is on. I’m also pretty nationalistic so I don’t mind the U.S. focus on U.S. television, although I also like seeing and learning the stories of non-Americans. In the past I haven’t been as interested in track and field but now that I’ve been running I’ve been paying more attention to the U.S. track and field folks and so I’m interested in seeing how some of the races turn out.

  8. Yvette says:

    I’m watching online when I remember to tune it in. But other than men’s diving (which I love to watch for rather obvious reasons – in fact, I like watching all the men’s swimming and diving events) which I am patiently waiting for and fencing which I also enjoy watching and some of the equestrian events and a bit of archery which I liked more than I thought I would….hmmmm, maybe there’s more for me to watch than I thought.

    But I totally agree with your point re: America-centric coverage. It is SO boring. (It always has been. Don’t think it will ever change.) Luckily, online at least I don’t have to listen to the NBC people.

  9. cgramlich says:

    About all I’m interested in is the track and field, but so far when i’ve tried to set down to watch there’s been only swimming and beach vollyball. Nothing for me. 🙂

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    NBC’s coverage sucks…and judging from the awful promos, so will their “new” Fall lineup. One major problem is that in the past you could watch the evening news and they’d warn you when the scores were coming on in case you didn’t want to know. Now with the internet, online newspapers, Twitter, etc. it is almost unavoidable you will see the results long before NBC’s canned, taped coverage. The fact that they won’t show any live action of the sports that they think the most people want to see (swimming, track, gymnastics) makes it worse.

    We recorded last night’s coverage (8 to midnight) as Jackie wanted to see the US women’s gymnastics team win (which we already knew had happened). It is really the only way to watch it. But you couldn’t blot out Al Trautwig’s constant droning on and on about the “heartbreak” of Jordyn Wieber not making the all-around final or the incessant shots of the contestants’ mothers in the stands. We saw most of the Russians because they were in the same group and the only competition (briefly) but almost none of the Chinese or Romanians and that’s it. No other team or gymnist was shown, period. And don’t even start me on the Michael Phelps stuff.

    Bills vs. Seahawks? Dream on, guys.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Oh yeah, what we’ve seen of the platform diving has been great – no Americans of course, but amazing slow motion shots and some incredible synchronized diving, which sounds stupid but is really impressive.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Since Rio is a couple of hours closer to EDT I’m hoping we get a lot of live coverage in 2016.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Just checked. They do have DST in Brazil but it’s their summer from October to February, so when the Olympics is on (August 5-21) they will be two hours later than the Eastern US.

Leave a Reply

