New Arrivals, Current Reading

New Arrivals: two things this week:

Dare Me by Megan Abbott [Little, Brown 2012 hardcover, new] – mystery – another of Abbott’s novels of youth, angst, crime. I bought this based on the last book by her I read, The End of Everything. I have a couple of her earlier books on the shelf, but there is so much here to read I haven’t gotten to them yet.

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley [Bantam Books 2010 trade paperback, new] – mystery – the first in the Flavia de Luce series. This has been out for some time and gotten almost nothing but raves, so I finally decided to buy it. I’ve already read and enjoyed it. Review soon.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Current Reading: as stated above, I received and read The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie this week. I really enjoyed it, the writing, character(s), everything. Not sure what I’ll start next, the TBR has gotten a little overbalanced lately.Taking time away from reading is watching the Olympics, though so far there has been a paucity of the things I enjoy most (swimming, diving, gymnastics, and an abundance of things I don’t (boxing, soccer (lots and lots of it), weight lifting, shooting). Still, many hours spent in front of the tube, instead of reading.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading

  1. See, I SHOULD be watching the Olympics, because it sounds like they are showing lots of two of my favorite things: soccer and boxing. Heh. Every time I’ve seen it on it’s been swimming.

    I love Megan Abbott’s work, especially her earlier stuff. The End of Everything I liked okay, but not nearly as much as her previous, noir-based stuff. I’m a little nervous of the new one, because what it seems to be “about” doesn’t sound like something I’m that interested in. But I’m sure I’ll get it. I can’t blame her for wanting to shift gears, but it’s always difficult when a favorite artists makes a change in approach, you know?

  2. Carl V. says:

    I was worried when I first saw Sweetness on your list that maybe you wouldn’t like it. Glad to see that is not the case and I look forward to your review. One of my favorite mystery series, especially as it is more about the family than about the mystery itself. Or rather there is a greater mystery going on between novels that to me is more important in the story than the “mystery of the day”.

    I too will be spending far too much time in front of the tube these next few weeks enjoying the Olympics. Even events that I don’t necessarily “care” about will interest me just because it is the Olympics.

  3. I’m taking the Olympics in small doses. Several Western NY athletes are competing so there is a mild local interest. I read The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and was surprised that the lead character is interested in chemistry. Maybe Art Scott will give this a try.

  4. Only a few freebies for me this week. Kindle downloads.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Glad you enjoyed the Bradley, Rick. I think he did a wonderful job with the voice of Flavia de Luce. I still have the latest one to read but I liked #s 2 and 3 as well. The Megan Abbott I have coming from the library. You can’t buy everything.

    I did get a book from the exchange: The Science Fiction Hall of Fame Volume 2-A. (I already got 2-B.) Also got Say It With Bullets by Richard Powell in the Hard Case Crime edition, after reading a review on FFB.

    Reading? A very good first collection of shorts, Other People We Married by Emma Straub, whose first novel is coming out soon. Also another of Dean Koontz’s graphic novels about Odd Thomas, Odd is On Our Side. And I’m reading The Complete Stories of Bernard Malamud after reading Patti’s suggestion of his first collection, The Magic Barrel. That’s another gap in my reading filled.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Oh, don’t even get me started on Kindle downloads, Charles. One I did buy was the new collection of Cody stories by James Reasoner.

Leave a Reply

