New Arrivals and Current Reading

New Arrivals: No new arrivals this week. I did order a couple of used SF paperbacks, but they haven’t shown up yet.

Current Reading: I’m almost done with A Helmet for My Pillow, by Robert Leckie.It’s very good, very well written so far. I’m taking a break from the war books with a mystery, something from the TBR, then I’ll try Guadacanal Diary.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Arrivals and Current Reading

  1. A batch of P. G. Wodehouse audiobooks showed up this week. And the latest installment of Bill Nighy’s Simon Brett mystery drama on CD. The only book that showed up was ADAPT: WHY SUCCESS ALWAYS STARTS WITH FAILURE by Tim Harford. You’ll be seeing reviews of all of this on my blog in a week or two.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Got three more books from the exchange last week. Mostly, however, I must admit to downloading a boatload of free ebooks to the Kindle.

  3. Jeff Meyerson is not alone in downloading free KINDLE ebooks (but he does give me the “heads-up” email alerts!) Who could resist SHERLOCK HOLMES volumes for FREE?

  4. Richard says:

    George, I could. I have them in ink-on-paper, why would I want them to read on a computer screen?

  5. I got some ebooks and that’s it.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, the first two (free) Holmes collections we’ve downloaded have the original Sidney Paget illustrations, which make them with having. I downloaded the complete Oz series (14 books) this morning. Total cost – 95 cents.

  7. Carl V. says:

    Oh George, I’m excited to hear about the Wodehouse audios. Love that man’s work.

    Good job on keeping the acquisitions down and the money in the wallet, Richard! I’ve been more of a library patron this last month than anything else, so that has helped me cut back on the amount of books I normally buy. I have ordered one pricey book, the forthcoming collectible version of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust, but other than that I’ve been spending my money on races rather than books.

Leave a Reply

