New Arrivals, Current Reading

Two New Arrivals this week, both as a result of a July 3, 2012 post by James Reasoner on his blog Rough Edges. James has been posting older war films for the Tuesday “forgotten films” meme hosted by Todd Mason. A couple of James’s posts have mentioned the books on which they were based, and I decided to seek them out.

Guadalcanal Diary by Richard Tregaskis [Random House 1943 hardcover, first printing, used – note: not the edition shown] – nonfiction, War – World War II autobiography  – a “classic” I’ve not read. When I was in college, lo those many years ago, I did read several WWII books but most of what I read were overview histories of both the European and Pacific Theaters. So I got this for cheap on the net. It’s a first printing, though in only fair condition. Who cares? I bought it to read, not put in a case to awe visitors.

Helmet for My Pillow by Robert Leckie [Bantam 2010 trade paper, new]  – nonfiction, War – World War II autobiography  – another “classic” I’ve not read. This one takes Leckie from his induction in the Marines and training through his time fighting in the Pacific.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Current Reading  – Still working on the Carroll Shelby biography, now at about 360 pages (of 550) into it. Have gotten through his racing career and the beginnings of bringing the Cobra into existence, the racing, Ford’s involvement and vow to win at Le Mans, and finally winning that race in 1966. Next will be the 1967 race and then the post-Le Mans years, including some low spots. I may skim the years when he was working on so-so cars for Chrysler, but am very interested in what follows that. For the casual person interested in Shelby, there is probably too much detail in the racing sections: every competitor, all the assigned drivers for every car, all the results and DNFs. I’m enjoying almost all of it though.

I’m also almost finished with Fatal Flourishes, the short story collection by Rafferty.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in biography - autobiography, books, Current Reading, New Arrivals, Non-fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading

  1. Wow! You’re really making some headway on reading those books. The fog in my brain is slowly lifting so I’ll start reading Real Books in a day or two. Until then, I’m still working my way through a stack of audiobooks. I’m down to three Lortabs a day and the pain is receding. Ah, the joys of major surgery…

  2. I have that Leckie book and another by him (blanking on the title at the moment) but haven’t read either of them yet. Soon, I hope.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Interesting choices. I got in one book last week, a pb of another sf “classic” I’ve never read, A CANTICLE FOR LEIBOWITZ by Walter M. Miller, Jr. I’ve been going through SCIENCE FICTION: The 100 Best Novels and took some ideas from it.

    I finished THE SHAPE OF THINGS, a collection of SF shorts edited by Damon Knight, mostly stories from the late 1940’s, and have started Bernard Malamud’s 1958 collection, THE MAGIC BARREL. I’m also reading Steven F. Havill’s ONE PERFECT SHOT, his prequel to the Bill Gastner/Estelle Reyes series set on the New Mexico border with Mexico in fictional Posadas County.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The “oldies” radio station I listen to, WCBS-FM, celebrated 40 years playing the music last weekend. One of the things they mentioned was a concert by Dion to celebrate their fifteenth anniversary way back in 1987, and the two-CD live set of that concert. Somehow I’d missed the concert (I think we were out of town) and the CD, which I got this week. It’s called DION AND FRIENDS: LIVE NEW YORK CITY and if you skip some of the “chat” it’s really good. The other CD I got was Neil Young & Crazy Horse’s AMERICANA, which includes (shall we say) very interesting takes on such songs as “Oh, Susannah,” “Clementine,” “Travel On,” “This Land is Your Land,” “Get a Job” (my favorite), and – oddly – “God Save the Queen.” If you buy a ticket to the upcoming tour (we did) you get the CD free as a bonus. I like it a lot.

    The last arriving purchases were DVD’s: Jackie’s favorite INDEPENDENCE DAY, which I thought we’d already had (but it was a VHS copy) and DINNER RUSH (your could look it up), which I’ve been looking for since reading about it in Leonard Maltin’s 151 BEST MOVIES YOU’VE NEVER SEEN.

  5. Although many critics despise it, I’m a big fan of INDEPENDENCE DAY, too. The Blu-ray version is fabulous. I’ve heard of DINNER RUSH, but I’ve never seen it.

  6. Richard says:

    As posted recently, perhaps in the July 4th post, we watch it most years at that time. I admit I’m getting tired of it. I haven’t been buying any CDs or DVDs, as it is we get a DVD from Netflix and it sits here for a month or two. Right now it’s John Carter, which I really wanted to see, but now never seem to be in the mood for. Sheesh.
    I hope to finish the Shelby book today or tomorrow, also the Rafferty book very soon. I think one of these WWII books will follow, then I’ll probably will be ready for some more SF-F.

  7. Carl V says:

    2 books? Not bad at all. That is what we bloggers are for though, right? To get fellow bloggers to buy more books? We are such a gold mine to publishers.

  8. Richard says:

    That’s so true, Carl. Evan Lewis’ post today got me to order a book… (http://davycrockettsalmanack.blogspot.com/).

  9. Just got Helen Macinnes’ ABOVE SUSPICION this week.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We used to like her books a lot, Patti, back in the day. ABOVE SUSPICION, as you probably already know, was made into a movie with Joan Crawford and Fred MacMurray.

  11. Richard says:

    I Haven’t read ABOVE SUSPICION, nor have I seen the film, but I have read some other books by her, titles escaping me at the moment.

  12. Cap'n Bob says:

    Just a note to say Pork Chop Hill was the Korean War. Glad to hear you’re reading books about the old wars, though. Seems today the kids have no idea these even occurred.

  13. Richard says:

    Bob, thanks for correcting that. Now that you say it, I do remember it was Korea. For an awful lot of us, the REAL wars stopped after Viet Nam.

Leave a Reply

