New Arrivals, Current Reading

Hey there, faithful readers. No new arrivals this week – again – which as I’ve been saying each time is just fine with me. I’ve decided, since I have so few new arrivals these days, to combine them into a post about my current reading. Your comments both on what’s new at your home and what you’re currently reading are very welcome.

After three false starts, I’m finally reading Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey (pseudonym of fantasy authors Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck). I’m about three-quarters of the way in and hooked. I’m getting owrried that both of the two major protagonists won’t survive, but the story is leading places I can’t yet predict and has already taken me through a few plot twists I didn’t see coming. Some readers might be reminded of Heinlein’s Starship Troopers, but this really has a different feel to me. Pretty much what I think of – by my sixty-year old plus SF reader definitions – as classic hard SF space opera. Good stuff. I already have the sequel, Caliban’s War, at hand. Full review Wednesday.

I’ve also finished but not yet reviewed three other books, two by Agatha Christie one of which I’ll review for a one-author Friday Forgotten Books post later in the month and the other whenever. The other a classic YA novel, My Side of the Mountain, about which I have mixed feelings (I didn’t like the ending) but will review one of these days.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Current Reading, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, Current Reading

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Well, I can’t exactly say I didn’t get anything last week. Two more of the Lee Child paperbacks I mentioned last time (one more to come) and a couple of science fiction things I ordered after reading about them on George Kelley’s blog: THE SCIENCE FICTION HALL OF FAME Volume Two B and SCIENCE FICTION: The 100 Best Novels. The latter was from ABE ($3) and the other three from PaperbackSwap.com.

    Reading? It’s mostly been short stories by Cheever (the end is in sight on the Library of America volume). Also read my third ebook since getting the Kindle, Patti Abbott’s MONKEY JUSTICE: Stories (good one), Ben Rehder’s GUN SHY, a good one in his Texas game warden John Marlin series, and Craig Johnson’s latest (his eighth) Walt Longmire book, AS THE CROW FLIES, which I enjoyed as much as any in the series.

    Although this seems like I’m reading a lot, June was actually the first month I haven’t read at least 10 books this year, due to the Cheever reading. Overall I read 60 or so short stories.

  2. Richard says:

    Seems like a lot of things incoming and read to me, Jeff. I do have one thing on the way that will probably show up this week, a biography. Nothing else bought or ordered, and when I read an 800-900 page doorstop like Leviathan Wakes, it seriously cuts into my book read count, which usually hovers around 70 a year as is.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    I just finished GONE GIRL, by Gillian Flynn, which I liked with one caveat. Phil is reading THE SISTERS BROTHERS. I am also reading my short story a day. Very rewarding.

  4. Richard says:

    Patti, it’s those caveats that can kill a book. I’ll be interested to hear what Phil has to say about SISTERS BROTHERS.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The 900 pages of Cheever is always looking at me reproachfully (or at least I feel that it is) so I’ve been reading one or more stories a day.

  6. I picked up a couple of kindle books but nothing else. No new arrivals by mail.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I know, Charles, every time I see those words “Free Today on Kindle” I have to at least check it out.

  8. I downloaded Gil Brewer’s THE BRAT for free after Patti mentioned it on her blog. I’ll be eager to read your review of the second book in this series. LOCUS wasn’t enthusiastic.

  9. Richard says:

    I downloaded that one too, to the Kindle Reader for Mac program I got. I have about 10 books in it now, have read not a single page of any of them, but they are there.

  10. Carl V. says:

    Glad to hear that you are hooked. I have yet to get back to it. I’m in the middle of reading too many things right now and I’m spreading myself too thin. I’m going to have to take a few books back to the library and get to them another time so I can just settle down and concentrate on one thing at a time.

  11. Richard says:

    My full review goes up this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

