New Arrivals, June 11-17, 2012

I told you there were a (very) few things coming, and they all come in the same week. I’d prefer to have spread out the arrivals. I mean, it’s more fun to open a few smaller boxes than one big one, right? Right? Anyway, here are the new books, pictures, then info, as always.

Caliban’s War by James S.A. Corey [Orbit 2012 trade paper, new] – science fiction – the second novel in the Expanse series. – Each novel is related but stand alone, so it’s safe to read them as they come out, though best done in order. I admit I still have only just started Leviathan Wakes, so this will have to wait until I’ve finished that, and both this and Leviathan are very thick, both in the 600 page range. Summer reading!

Phoenix Rising by Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris [Harper Voyager 2011 mass market paperback, new] – steam punk mystery/fantasy/whatever – the first of the Ministry of Peculiar Occurances novels by this pair of authors. I’m not that much of a steam punk fan, yet I keep getting drawn in occasionally by something, as in this one.

The Janus Affair by Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris [Harper Voyager 2012 mass market paperback, new] – steampunk mystery/fantasy/whatever – the second of the Ministry of Peculiar Occurances novels by this pair. These books have garnered interesting, to me at least, reviews. which is fine with me.

The Retrieval Artist and Other Stories by Kristine Katheryn Rusch [Five Star 2001 hardcover, used] – science fiction short story collection – I really like Rusch’s Retrival Artist novels, having read the first three in the series, but I had missed this one. This was a fact known to a friend who spotted this primo used copy in a used book shop, bought it and sent it along. Thanks, Jeff!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals, Steampunk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals, June 11-17, 2012

  1. All four of these books look interesting. I have to read a VERY positive review from a source I trust (like you) before I attempt to read 600+ page books anymore.

  2. Carl V. says:

    I’m the same way with Leviathan Wakes. I’ve only read about 50 pages of it and really need to get back to it as I am wanting to pick up Caliban’s War (if I like the first one, that is). I’m also really interested in both of those Janus Affair books. Pyr sent me the first of Philippa (Pip) Ballentine’s new fantasy series. It is called Hunter and Fox and I’ve read some good reviews. I need to take a couple of week’s and just binge read to (sort of) catch up.

  3. Richard says:

    Yes, George, I agree about the long books, but I’ve been wanting to read the first one for some time and what I have read is good, it’s just not very much. I can’t recommend the book, yet, nor the sequel. I just got caught up…

  4. Richard says:

    Carl, go for that binge read! I just finished four mysteries and a military SF novel by Tanya Huff, which was good. Rather than jumping from the military SF to another long SF, I decided to clear the palate with yet another mystery.

  5. Evan Lewis says:

    Interesting cover on The Retrieval Artist and Others. Looks like Gil Kane, though I assume it ain’t. Was this story the beginning of the series?

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Enjoy, Rick. Yes Evan, the story led to the series.

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Those Ballantine books do sound interesting too.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    In preparation for a trip to Ireland I got Declan Hughes, THE WRONG KIND OF BLOOD, Declan Burke ABSOLUTE ZERO, and Gene Kerrigan, THE MIDNIGHT CHOIR. And from the library Alan Glynne’s WINTER BLOOD.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I got a used but really nice (really, like new) copy of Cap’n Bob Napier’s second book, THE TOYMAN RIDES AGAIN.

    Patti, have you read John Brady’s Matt Minogue series? Or Bartholomew Gill’s Peter McGarr? Both are set in Ireland.

  10. Haven’t read anything by Rusch in quite a long time but have enjoyed her stories in the past.

  11. Richard says:

    Evan, as Jeff said, the short story came first, then the first retrieval artist novel and the rest of the series.

  12. Richard says:

    Patti, I haven’t read any of those authors, but then your reading is more far ranging than mine is, I think. When is the trip to ireland planned?

Leave a Reply

