progress on our summer bed

Every now and then I post an update on our garden, and I figured it was time. This is the first year we’ve really been able to do anything, and we’re enjoying it immensely. We’ve had some nice warm weather, and the bed we planned for summer perennials and annuals is coming along nicely. There is lots of room for growth, of course,  but there’s color and some height and there will be sweet peas on trellis-sticks that are still bare (right side). The snapdragons will get much bigger and there is a little room for the Stock that I’m growing from seed in a flat in another area. So here’s a before-during and current look at one small portion of our garden.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to progress on our summer bed

  1. Looks good. Plants are something I never had much luck with, unlike most of my family. I always say I have a black thumb.

  2. Carl V. says:

    That is looking really good, Richard. Pretty selection of plants.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    And here I thought it was going to be about changing quilts for the summer!

    Nice work. We’ve always lived in an apartment so never had a garden but my father in Arizona has not only grown a lot of different plants but oranges, lemons and grapefruits, which they’ve picked off the trees and eaten for breakfast. Some years he’s grown really big ones.

  4. Very attractive garden! Like Randy, I have a Black Thumb, too. And allergies.

  5. Richard says:

    Barbara used to say she had a black thumb, too, but has developed into quite a good gardener.

    George, it’s a shame about those allergies. How on earth did you become so allergic to all things green and growing?

  6. Trust me, I didn’t volunteer for allergies, Rick. I acquired them in my 40s, got allergy shots for years, and now I just self-medicate. I know what triggers my allergies so I’m mostly in A/C in the Summer and near an air-purifier the rest of the year.

  7. Todd Mason says:

    My folks developed them in their 30s, and I might be lagging them now by a decade, myself…but not so severe as to forbid gardening nor lawn care…that does look healthy.

Leave a Reply

