Rodrigo y Gabriela and C.U.B.A – Area 52

Here in Portland, it’s Summer! It was been in the 80s all weekend and was 88 yesterday, (a new record high, hottest May 14 ever), glorious heat and sun, and believe me, we’ve been enjoying it. So I decided it was time to crank up the summer music and when I think hot Summer weather and music, I think of steaming Latin Jazz.

Friend and frequent participant here at Bullhorn Jeff Meyerson had sent me a link to the live feed for Jazzfest in New Orleans and I watched a good bit of it, including most of a great set by Rodrigo y Gabriela, a Cuban guitar-jazz group that blew me away with their guitar playing and musicality. I bought (downloaded) this album and a couple others soon after and have been playing them a lot the last couple of days. Really great stuff. So get out the Sangria, cold white wine, frosty beer or your favorite summertime beverage and have a listen.

 Rodrigo y Gabriela

Click the link for one of their best on U-Tube (sorry about the commercial but you can skip it after 5 seconds.) You can preview this and their other albums on either A-zon or iTunes.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rodrigo y Gabriela and C.U.B.A – Area 52

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’m glad you liked it Rick. We didn’t get there until Saturday so missed them (they performed late on Friday afternoon) but you definitely got the best of it – you avoided the huge crowds and the brutal heat and humidity and got to hear the music.

    I like this too. Parts of it reminded me of Santana without his lead guitar.

  2. Richard says:

    It’s great stuff, Jeff, thanks again for that link. There’s a link on u-Tube to a segment of their performance there.

  3. A bunch of my friends went to Jazzfest, since we all live here in the New Orleans area. I’ve been before but didn’t go this year. I fear I’m not actually a fan of jazz.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Charles, this will probably be our last year as the crowds have just gotten too massive to deal with if you want to see any of the biggest acts. But of course there are all kinds of music there – blues, jazz, rock, Cajun, zydeco, gospel, hip hop (for those who consider that music), etc.

  5. Todd Mason says:

    Thanks for the pointer…did you like Strunz and Farah much?

  6. Richard says:

    Not familiar with them, Todd, will have to check them.

Leave a Reply

