New Arrivals, April 23-29, 2012

Once in a while, you just have to have a book – in this case a series – and I caved in on these. I’d wanted them for a while, but a review of the second on in the series finally convinced me to buy them. I’m not much of a fan of steam punk, but these look too good to pass up. Since this is New Arrivals and not a review, I’m not going to put in plot summaries, but I did add the blurbs, by popular demand.

The Bookman by Lavie Tidhar [Angry Robot Books 2010 mass market paper, new] – steampunk mystery-fantasy – The blurb:

When his beloved is killed in a terrorist atrocity committed by the sinister Bookman, young poet Orphan becomes enmeshed in a web of secrets and lies. His quest to uncover the truth takes him from the hidden catacombs of a London on the brink of revolution, through pirate-infested seas, to the mysterious island that may hold the secret to the origin, not only of the shadowy Bookman, but of Orphan himself…

Camera Obscura by Lavie Tidhar [Angry Robot Books 2011 mass market paper, new] – steampunk mystery-fantasy – The blurb:

The mysterious and glamorous Milady De Winter is one of their most valuable agents. A despicable murder inside a locked and bolted room on the Rue Morgue in Paris is just the start. This whirlwind adventure will take Milady to the highest and lowest parts of that great city, and beyond – and cause her to question the very nature of reality itself.

The Great Game by Lavie Tidhar [Angry Robot Books 2012 mass market paper, new] – steampunk mystery-fantasy – here’s the blurb on this one:

When Mycroft Holmes is Murdered in London, it is up to retired shadow executive Smith to track down his killer – and stumble on the greatest conspiracy of his life.
Strange forces are stirring into life around the globe, and in the shadow game of spies nothing is certain. Fresh from liberating a strange alien object in Abyssinia – which might just be the mythical Ark of the Covenant – young Lucy Westerna, Holmes’ protégé, must follow her own path to the truth while, on the other side of the world, a young Harry Houdini must face his greatest feat of escape – death itself.
As their paths converge the body count mounts up, the entire world is under threat, and in a foreboding castle in the mountains of Transylvania a mysterious old man weaves a spider’s web of secrets and lies.
Airship battles, Frankenstein monsters, alien tripods and death-defying acts: The Great Game is a cranked-up steampunk thriller in which nothing is certain – not even death.

As I said above, these just look too good to pass up. I hope they read as good as they promise.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals, April 23-29, 2012

  1. Randy Johnson says:

    They do look interesting, though I’m no that much of a fan of the steampunk sub-genre either.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No, but they look great. The covers alone would – at least – make me check them out.

    The only “new” book I got last week was an old paperback (from the Exchange) of John D. MacDonald’s collection of sf stories, OTHER TIMES, OTHER WORLDS.

  3. Love the covers! But, I’ve been burned plenty of times by books with great covers that turn out to be unreadable. I await your review before I act.

  4. Richard says:

    It shouldn’t be too long, George. As soon as I finish Between You and Me, an autobiography by Mike Wallace, that I got from the library, and the book for the single author FFB I’m part way through, I’ll be reading The Bookman.

  5. p881 says:

    Now this is a genre I need to check out. Also want to read the Wallace bio and find out how he produced a son who could work for FOX NEWS. Patti

  6. Richard says:

    Patti, the bio says very little about his son, it does mention that he started with another network and then moved to Fox, but that’s about it.

  7. Evan Lewis says:

    I like that War of the Worlds cover on The Great Game.

  8. Richard says:

    Yeah, it’s pretty cool. I just added the blurbs for the books.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    WordPress wouldn’t let me comment on the odious Mr. Wallace (the younger), for whatever reason. I just want to smack the damn smirk off his face.

  10. Like great covers, I’ve been burned by great blurbs, too. I’ll just be patient and await your insightful reviews, Rick. Chris Wallace is a shadow of his great father. Odious is too mild a word to describe Chris Wallace’s performances on FOX.

  11. Richard says:

    I never watch Fox so I wouldn’t know, but I’ll take your word for it, Jeff. Sorry about not getting in, don’t know why that would be. Rick …………………

  12. Carl V. says:

    I’ve read good things about this series and will be interested if the first book draws you in. I am a fan of steampunk, though I tend to read it sparingly. My favorite by far is the Langdon St. Ives books by James P. Blaylock. My appetite was whetted by a couple of short stories in the 13 Phantasms collection and then I was fully hooked when I read the novel Homunculus. I’ve got a few more of his adventures waiting on the massive tbr pile. The Langdon St. Ives stories have a great Holmes feel to them, lots of atmosphere and mystery.

  13. Richard says:

    Carl, George will be happy to read that, St Ives is a favorite of his, too.

Leave a Reply

