NFL Draft

Yes, I spend a lot of time watching it. Yes, I always hope that the teams I like to watch, the ones I like to root for if they are televised, the Seahawks (the closest thing we have here to a local time), the 49ers (a team I’ve loved for a long time) and the Cardinals (a team I just have a soft spot for).

Each of those teams has had a good – but not great – draft this year. I think the Seahawks made a reach with their first pick because the kid has a lot of off-field problems, though he has a lot of talent. We’ll see how that works out.

It’s interesting hearing what the various gurus have to say about the players, keeping in mind they like to say good stuff when they can, feed the hope, and hope is really what the draft is all about. I watched the whole media circus the first night, then it calms down on the second day, today for the last rounds it’s pretty much just analysis, which is what I wish the entire three day broadcast did. Still it’s on in the background as I continue to do other things, and I can always catch up on the whole thing with both the NFL channel and ESPN on-line.

So do you watch, and if so, how’d your team do?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to NFL Draft

  1. Randy Johnson says:

    Never paid a lot of attention to it while going on. Usually watch some of the analysis later. The “Skins got , maybe, the QB they haven’t had in years. The Jets were a bust before the draft and don’t look much better. The Panthers picked up a couple of pieces on defense they need, a running back they didn’t. We’ll have to wait and see I guess.

  2. Richard says:

    I don’t understand why the Redskins picked ANOTHER QB in the 4th round,a very good one that a lot of other teams could have used, while Washington has other needs. They will either create a QB controversy or force him to be a back-up when he has starter talent. I hope they trade him. Soon.

  3. The Buffalo Bills took care of their biggest needs in the Draft: corner back, offensive tackle, and wide receiver. Today, they’ll just draft the cliched “best player available” to build dept. The Bills lost seven games in a row last year because once the starters got hurt, they had a huge talent drop-off.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    To be honest I didn’t watch at all this year. There is no way for the Giants to go from Super Bowl champions but down, especially given their upcoming schedule (San Francisco, Green Bay, Pittsburgh, New Orleans, Atlanta, Baltimore, plus the Eagles and Cowboys twice each). I’m happy to sit back and wait and see for now.

  5. Jeff is right about the Giants having a killer schedule. Plenty of prime-time appearances, though.

  6. p881 says:

    Not since I had a teenage son at home. Too many years of bad Detroit Lions’ teams made me lose interest. I doubt I will ever regain it at this point. Patti

  7. Richard says:

    Patti, the Lions did quite a good job last season, made the playoffs.

  8. Presently, the Buffalo Bills have the longest playoff drought in the NFL (12 seasons). One good draft isn’t going to fix all their problems, but Bills fans can see improvement.

  9. Richard says:

    I’m not sure being in the playoffs is such a big deal any more, with the formula including so many teams. Once the wild card games are over and the real playoffs begin, then it matters more. Still, how long has it been since they had a winning record? They are in a pretty tough division (as opposed to the AFC West).

  10. Being in the same division with Tom Brady causes problems. But, the Bills competed well with Miami when they had Dan Marino so it can be done. The last decade in Bills’ history has been a chronicle of mis-management and draft buffoonery. Gregg Williams (now suspended by the NFL for his “bounty” program at New Orleans) was Head Coach here. “Nuff said!

  11. I completely missed it because of school work. I’ll have to watch one of the update shows at some point to give me the highlights.

Leave a Reply

