Monday weigh-in

I’m not going to burden you all with this all the time, but I thought perhaps posting this, either this once, or once a week if you’d like it, will help me keep on the tough diet I’m on. I have a lot of weight to lose and really need to do so, so I’m head down, nose to the grindstone determined to make progress every week. I weigh in first thing every Monday morning. I’m not going to post my actual weight, not yet, at least, it’s too shocking, so for now I’ll just have a one-liner with my weight loss that week. If you don’t wanna know, say so!

I really started December 20, but have been on the very strict diet for three 1/2 weeks.
This was my best week so far:  – 4 pounds.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday weigh-in

  1. Carl V. says:

    Awesome! That is about how much I lost in my best week of my fitness/health plan. I’ve been averaging about 2 lbs a week but hit a 4 pound loss last week. I think the whole building muscle to increase metabolism along with the cardio work is helping kick my calorie burning up a notch. Glad you are finding a way to stay accountable. I think that is so important.

  2. Randy Johnson says:

    Good deal. I perhaps need to get on this. There are things I can do despite the wheel chair.

  3. macavityabc says:

    Keep on truckin’!

  4. Richard says:

    Since I can’t do the exercise-fitness thing (except I could swim some, if I had access to a pool without kids in it), I have to do it all with eating habits. The rule with weight watchers is: Here is your point limit. You can eat anything you want, as long as you count it, and don’t exceed your limit.

    Sounds easy, but when two eggs and toast is 6 points, and a plain bagel is 8, you start making decisions pretty fast, especially if you have a low point allowance like my 26 per day. I aim for a 6 point breakfast, 8 point lunch and 12 point dinner. Good thing most fruit and veggies are free!

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Excellent! Four pounds is always good. Yeah, bagels are troublesome. We’ve been going with multi-grain bread for the most part – not too many points and a lot of fiber.

  6. Richard says:

    Thanks, Jeff. Having type II diabetes, carbs are not my friend, so I eat as little as possible, though it’s impossible to avoid them completely. I usually choose rye bread when I can.

  7. p881 says:

    I only had that much success in a week on SOUTH BEACH. Carbs are not my friend either.

  8. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Patti, I did South Beach too and had a lot of success – 10 pounds in two weeks.

  9. You’re right about the problem of avoiding carbs. Like Jeff, I try to eat a lot of high fiber foods. Many, like nuts, are low in carbs but high in fiber. Exercise is the other half of the weight-loss equation. Luckily, I have an Aquatic Fitness Center near my house. But it does have kids who will splash you.

  10. Richard says:

    They don’t have an adults only time, George? If not, they should! I wouldn’t go if there were kids in the water, they are there just to play and I would be there for serious swimming workout (by serious, I just mean focused, not competitive).

    Jeff, the problem with South Beach is you can’t live on it forever, and when you go back to regular – though moderate – eating, those pounds come right back.

  11. The “adult” swimming time is during the day when I busy teaching. During the week, I go to the pool after dinner. Plenty of kids, but I manage to create a space where they generally leave me alone. On the weekends, I generally go to the pool in the afternoon. But the kids are there, too. There’s no escape.

Leave a Reply

