Happy Easter

I hope that each and every one of you has a wonderful Easter, whether you start your day with Sunrise Services or an Easter Egg hunt, whether you are celebrating the second day of Passover or having ham and scalloped potatoes, as we are, may this be a day for some introspection, appreciation of the world around us, the glories of Spring and family and friends.

Here’s an image by an always favorite artist of mine, Alfonse Mucha, that seemed appropriate for today, and for Spring.

Mucha, Documents Decoratifs, 1901

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Easter

  1. Carl V. says:

    Happy Easter to you and your wife as well! Hope your day is a relaxing and special one. Unlike yesterday, today has started with clear and sunny skies, so the after church family get together should be blessed with fine weather. And ham is on our menu as well.

    Mucha is great, good choice.

  2. Happy Easter! We’re hosting the Easter feast: ham, Polish sausage, perogi (like ravoli but stuffed with Farmer’s cheese…this is another traditional Polish delight), veggies, baked biscuits, mashed potatoes, wine, and good cheer. Of course, plenty of cake for dessert!

  3. Richard says:

    Thank you, Carl and George.

    Glad to hear you’re going to have good weather, Carl. Enjoy the day.

    George, that sounds like an awful lot of food! Plus dessert? Wow. I think there is some sugar-free jello still in the refrigerator if I want it, that’s the only dessert-like thing we have in the house. Remember, I’m on strict Weight Watchers, as I am very overweight and really need to lose. We’ll have ham (I’ll weigh my portion), scalloped potatoes (I get 1/2 cup), and asparagus. That’s a big meal for me. If I were at your house, I couldn’t have the sausage, perogi, biscuits, potatoes or wine.

  4. Carl V. says:

    I commend you on working on your weight Richard. Although I haven’t talked about it yet on the blog, I’ve been eating much healthier and exercising daily since Feb 1st. Over that time period I’ve lost 26 pounds. I’m nearly at my ideal body weight but still have work to do because I want to lose the rest of the around the middle gut that I know is so unhealthy in males. I’m not “dieting”, just changed me eating habits to eat smaller portions of meats and am eating a lot of fruits and veggies with every meal. I’m probably eating more than I used to actually because I eat breakfast now. I’m with you in spirit on the weight loss!

  5. You and Carl put me to shame, Rick! I’m trying to lose 10 pounds before my total knee replacement surgery on June 26. I’m trying to eat less and exercise more. I go to our local Aquatic Fitness Center at least five days a week to frolic in the pool.

  6. Richard says:

    I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to make anyone feel bad(ly). If I weighted 200 instead of… what I do… I’d have all that stuff, George, since it’s a special holiday meal. And Barbara came downstairs right before she left for church and gave me a See’s Bourdeax easter egg. I’ll have to wait until after I weigh tomorrow (Monday morning is my weigh day), then I’ll cut it in thirds and have a third per week… oh, the sin of it! That aquatic work out sounds good, George, I wish there was a place like that here, instead of having to join 24-Hour Fitness and trying to fight for pool space with all the work out fiends or taking a fat lady pool jumping class.

  7. p881 says:

    Oh, boy. Weight. An intern working at my doctor’s office, and said, “Well, you are pretty much stuck at being 20 pounds overweight for the rest of your life since you’ve been that weight for the last twenty years. (That’s when they found out I had hypothyroidism). That made me feel both good and bad. Still I am always on a diet. Hoping to lose it eventually. We have no pool until Memorial Day although I walk an hour a day. Patti
    Oh, yeah. Happy Easter Rick and Barbara.

  8. Evan Lewis says:

    Sunshine today. Must be a shock to your system.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That really sucks. I did a whole long comment this morning and it seems to have vanished into the ether.

    I hate that.

  10. Richard says:

    Evan, Happy Easter to you two. Not a shock, we’ve had lots of sun already this year, but the 70.1 we hit here was a big, big treat. Naturally I was out in the garden whilst Barbara slaved over a ham.

    Jeff, I learned, on any blog, to put my comment into the clipboard before I post it, that way if it doesn’t pop up I can re-post it. If you end up double posting on my blog, I delete the earlier one.

Leave a Reply

