FFB: Trigger and Friends

Trigger and Friends by James H. Schmitz original stories published between 1958 and 1974 – Baen 2001 paperback – science fiction – short story (one novelette)

this is the 81st in my series of forgotten books

This is the 3rd book of 4 in Baen’s core Hub story series. I read the first couple of those Hub stories in Astounding SF / Analog a long ago and probably read some or all of the contents here too, but have forgotten. No matter, I enjoy Schmitz’ writing.

The stories here (see table of contents, below) mostly contain stories which feature Trigger with Heslet Quillan and/or Holati Tate. As it happens, Quillan is one of my favorite Schmitz characters, so this was a real treat for me. The stories contain some element of Hub politics with other worlds and Federations, with plenty of intrigue and spy-type stuff and are great fun. There’s no need to have read the first couple of volumes of this 4 volume set, each will stand alone just fine. Highly recommended.

Table of Contents:
Harvest Time
Lion Loose
Aura of Immortality
Forget It
Legacy
Sour Note on Palayata

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

links to all of this weeks Forgotten Book posts can be found
on Patti Abbott’s blog, Pattinase

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Friday Forgotten Book, Review, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to FFB: Trigger and Friends

  1. macavityabc says:

    Hadn’t thought of the Hub stories in a while. Good pick.

  2. Randy Johnson says:

    It does look interesting. May have to break down and pick up some Schmitz. Not that i need any more books coming. Wait till Monday. It all blew up on me this week.

    here’s an amusing tidbit. When the email came notifying me of the post, I saw Trigger and Friends and immediately thought you’d done a western. Hah!

  3. Richard says:

    They’re just as good as may remember, Bill.

    Randy, It was supposed to go up last night at 7:10 PST, but the scheduling didn’t work. It’s not the first time, so I guess I’ll have to just publish manually from now on.

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    The real Trigger’s friends were Bullet and Buttercup. This one must be an imposter.

  5. Todd Mason says:

    I’ve read less of Schmitz than any of the major Campbell writers…less, even than such bad but prolific JWC writers as E.B. Cole. I should rectify that.

  6. James H. Schmitz is truly an underrated writer. BAEN Books reprinted most of Schmitz’s best work, but will soon be out-of-print. Last I checked, some of Schmitz’s work could be downloaded for free on the BAEN Books web site.

  7. Richard says:

    Todd, I know you’re not much of a Campbell stable fan, but I think Schmitz is worth a look by you. But then I love Eric Frank Russell whom I don’t think you care for…

    George, correct. When I decided to get as many of the Baen collections of Schmitz as I could, I found many of them OP and some quite pricey, though I didn’t search very deeply, I admit, as I got the ones I wanted.

  8. I’ve liked his stuff that I’ve read. I haven’t read that much, though

  9. Richard says:

    Seems like that’s the case with everyone, Charles.

  10. Todd Mason says:

    Oh, who can not like Eric Frank Russell at his best? I like the Campbell bench at least as deep as Rick Raphael when I’m in certain moods, and Verge Foray (though I like his work as Howard Myers better). It was just how dull ANALOG got around the time it was turning into ANALOG that I don’t care for…I have yet to read a good story by E.B. Cole. Algis Budrys is an old favorite, and he was Campbell’s chiefest protoge in the early ’50s, after all.

  11. Todd Mason says:

    Or, even, protege…Ben Bova’s ANALOG was simply better than the latter-day JWC ANALOG (and, sadly, so much better than the Schmidt ANALOG).

  12. Richard says:

    I’ll admit when Astounding became Analog I was disenchanted, but there were some great stories. I think Dune came along after the change, and some other of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

