New Arrivals, February 6 – 12, 2012

Mystery! Fantasy! Science Fiction! I’ve gotta read faster!

The Admantine Palace by Stephen Deas [Roc Fantasy, 2011 paperback, new] – fantasy – When I read a really positive review of a book like this, often on The Fantasy Book Critic website, I look for the first book in the series. If I like that one, I’ll buy another, if not, only one book bought. This series has gotten positive reviews, and besides, I like the cover art. I was unable to determine the artist, but inquired of the author who informed me the artist for the US cover of all of the Memory of Flames series is Stephen Youll. This is another book I’m eager to read.

Frost at Christmas by R.D. Wingfield [Bantam 1995 paperback, used] – mystery novel, first in the Frost series – I’ve seen a couple of the Frost episodes that were on Mystery! but not read any.

The Legend of Eli  Monpress by Rachel Aaron [Orbit Fantasy, Feb 2012 trade paperback, new] – fantasy – omnibus – This whopping (1033 pages) omnibus volume contains three novels: The Spirit Thief, The Spirit Rebellion and The Spirit Eater. Those are the first three books in the Monpress saga, with The Spirit War and Spirit’s End either out or on the way. Needless to say, if I like these, I’ll read those. Meanwhile this should keep me busy a goodly part of the winter!

Shooting Hollywood by Melodie Johnson Howe [Crippen & Landru 2012 hardcover, new] – mystery short story collection: the Diana Poole Stories – I get every Crippen & Landru publication, have done so for years, and this is the latest. C&L is a specialty publisher of short story collections, and when I’m in the mood for some mystery stories, it’s often where I turn. This author is new to me, the stories were written between 1991 and 2009.

Stargate original motion picture soundtrack (Deluxe Edition) music by Davis Arnold [Varese Sarabande CD, 37 queues, 1.2 hours, new] – film soundtrack, science fiction film – this was recently voted among the very best SF film soundtrack by readers of the SF Signal blog. I didn’t have it, hadn’t heard it. I soon remedied that, and they are right, it’s a good one.

Under the Moons of Mars, New Adventures on Barsoom edited by John Joseph Adams [Simon and Schuster 2012 hardcover, illustrated, cover art by Mark Zug, new} – SF-F – 13 short stories “inspired by the Mars books of Edgar Rice Burroughs – I couldn’t resist. I’ve already started it, and enjoyed Joe Lansdale’s opening story a lot.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, film music, New Arrivals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals, February 6 – 12, 2012

  1. I got UNDER THE MOONS OF MARS as well. Like you, how could I not?
    THE LEGEND OF MONPRESS looks good< I'll be awaiting a review, as I will for THE ADMANTINE PALACE. Fantasy is not near the top of my favorite type of fiction, but there are things here and there, think LOR and THE HOBBIT, that I do like.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice group. I have read the Frost and I suppose I’ll have the Howe waiting for me when we get home from Florida next month.

  3. I’ve been considering UNDER THE MOONS OF MARS. Sometimes these collections work, sometimes not. Sounds like this one is a winner. Like Randy, I’ll await your review of THE ADMANTINE PALACE. It looks promising.

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    Never fails to amaze me what different books we read. You guys are hanging out with the wrong Miss Kitty.

  5. Under the Moons of mars looks like a big seller. I got that one too

  6. Richard says:

    I’ve only read the first story in the MOONS OF MARS collection. It was by Joe Landsdale and was a good one.
    Patti, surely you have read the Frost?

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Yes, I have read a Frost or two and seen many of the TV episodes.

  8. Carl V. says:

    I’m not sure I’ve ever paid much attention to the Stargate soundtrack. I will for sure now the next time I watch it. Good movie.

    I have Frost in my queue for Netflix streaming. I loved David Frost in The Darling Buds of May and look forward to getting to this series at some point.

    The Barsoom book looks great. I saw a copy the other day and was very tempted to pick it up.

  9. Richard says:

    Carl, the character’s first name is Jack.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, I think he got mixed up between the character (Jack Frost) and the actor (David Jason). We have the DVD series of THE DARLING BUDS OF MAY and watch the Christmas episode every year. It was the show that made the young Catherine Zeta Jones a star.

    Speaking (as you were) of reading faster, I managed to read 8 books in our first two weeks in Florida. Granted, many of them were short ones but I hope I don’t run out of reading matter before the trip is over. I’ve got several bigger books left.

  11. Carl V. says:

    Oops, yes I did. I meant David Jason. That’s what you get for not proofing.

    Darling Buds of May is a wonderful show. We were so surprised by how taken we were with the characters on that show.

Leave a Reply

