Chicago Lightning

Chicago Lightning by Max Allan Collins © 2011, Thomas & Mercer 2011 trade paper - mystery short story collection– Nate Heller

I’ve only read a couple of Collins’ Nate Heller novels, enjoyed them very much and have several more waiting on the shelf for the right time. So I was glad to see a new book listing for this and bought it right away. I had time for a short story collection recently when I was ill, and this was just the ticket.

This book collects 13 stories, all set in Chicago early in Heller’s career. Some tell the same or part of the same story from different perspectives or with a slightly time frame, but all are interesting, well written and I found them page-turning.

As far as I know, this is the only collection of Heller stories existing, or at least in print. A very satisfying collection which offers many insights into the character Heller was and will become.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, mystery, Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chicago Lightning

  1. Wow, great minds think alike. I ordered a copy of CHICAGO LIGHTNING when AMAZON put it on sale for $5.00. It’s in my Read Real Soon stack. I’ve read some of the Heller novels and enjoyed them. Max Allan Collins always does a nice job of historical research and it shows in his books.

  2. Richard says:

    You mean to say I beat you to a book, George? I can hardly believe it. I got a great new one today, but you probably already have it. See the next New Arrivals, Monday.

  3. Carl V. says:

    I like it! Yet another tantalizing book you’ve read that I have to add to my list!

  4. Thanks for the kind review. My JFK Heller, TARGET LANCER, will be out later this year.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    DYING IN THE POST-WAR WORLD was the previous Heller collection, some 20 years ago. I don’t know if the two books overlap but I’ll be getting the new[er] one and checking it out.

  6. CHICAGO LIGHTING has all of the short stories from DYING IN THE POSTWAR WORLD plus three or four new ones. The upcoming TRIPLE PLAY collecs the three Heller novellas: “Dying in the Post-war World,” “Kisses of Death” and “Strike Zone.” These two new collections replace and expand the earlier ones.

    Thanks for the interest!

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    And he has a great rock group too!

  8. Richard says:

    Patti – Yes. Yes he does. I heard the group at a couple of cons, great dancing material!

    Max, thanks for stopping by, and the information on the other novelette set. This one just whet my appetite for more Heller.

  9. Steve Lewis says:

    Into my Amazon shopping cart this one goes. Thanks, Richard!

  10. Richard says:

    You’re very welcome, Steve! Hope you like it.

  11. Pingback: The “H” Word « Friends/Family/Fans of Max Allan Collins

Leave a Reply

