a bit of Flicker never hurts

I snapped this yesterday, through a could-be-cleaner window downstairs, when this fellow visited our bird feeder. A pair of these Flickers were here for a month or two last year at this time, too.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a bit of Flicker never hurts

  1. With the mild termperatures we’re experiencing, the birds will be returning early. I see you’re putting those photography books to good use!

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    My goodness, what gorgeous birds.

  3. Carl V. says:

    Wow, gorgeous bird! I was just looking at bird seed today and deciding that we need to do the bird feeder this year.

  4. Cap'n Bob says:

    We have flickers here all the time. They’re large and make a mess of the bird feeder and suet blocks, but Iike to see any and all birds in the backyard so they’re more than welcome. My favorite, though, is the hummingbird that hovers at his feeder right outside my living room wndow.

  5. Lovely. I”m not sure. My wife would know. I don’t think we’ve seen these down where we’re at, although Lana has lots of shots of our local birds.

  6. Cap'n Bob says:

    It’s actually a Northern Flicker, so might not be seen in southern climes.

  7. Richard says:

    Bill, George, thanks! I’m doing my best with the new lenses.

    Patti, indeed they are. In flight, the markings are gorgeous but I have so far been unable to catch one in the air.

  8. Richard says:

    Charles, see Cap’n Bob’s comment, below yours. Woodpeckers and Flickers are primarily birds of the woodlands, of which there aren’t a lot in your area, I presume.

    Carl, We keep ours out year round, different birds come to it at different times, but we like to see that.

    Bob, we don’t see the mess, the bird feeder is out in the sloped part of the yard. They do occasionally try to peck on the roof, but so far have done no damage and don’t persist for more than a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

