New Arrivals, January 30 – February 5, 2012

Just one book this time, and it’s something a little different.

How to Be A Bad Bird Watcher by Simon Barnes [Short Books 2006 trade paperback, new] – non-fiction – the various reviews of this have intrigued me, all of them good, and I kept seeing mention of it here and there, and thinking “I should get that.” So a week or two ago when I came across it again I picked it up.

A review in The Observer said “An amiable mix of memoir, the merits of binoculars, Charles Darwin, laughing gulls and comments on how watching birds can compare with watching English footballers.”

Though I read mostly mystery, science fiction and fantasy, I’ve already put this on the top of the TBR as a break from those genres. Can’t wait. Review here soon.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, New Arrivals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Arrivals, January 30 – February 5, 2012

  1. This sounds intriguing. I’ll await for your review of it. You seem to be reading more non-fiction lately.

  2. Look forward to your review.

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    Let me know how you like it. I have a good friend who is a poet and bird watcher and it might be just the thing for her.

  4. Richard says:

    Yes, I’ll be reading this as soon as I finish re-reading an older John Harvey mystery, Off Minor. The type isn’t small and the margins are generous, so it shouldn’t take log once I get started. Patti, I’ll admit I thought of you and Phil when I wrote up the entry yesterday.

  5. Carl V. says:

    I like memoirs that come in an essay-style format and this one sounds interesting. I’ll be interested in your review when it comes time.

Leave a Reply

