New Arrivals, January 23-29, 2012

A mix of books and music this time. Here we go.

Music of Downton Abbey by John Lunn [Decca Records December 13, 2011 audio CD, new] – soundtrack – original music from the TV series, Season One – I still haven’t seen this series, though it’s in the Netflix queue, but I listened to a few clips of the MP3 files of this and decided to buy it, on my preferred format, a CD. It’s what I’d call “a good listen”, not great, but most of it (the vocals I can skip) very pleasant.

Dragoncharm by Graham Edwards [Harper Prism 1994 mass market paperback, used] – fantasy – all I know about this is it was recommended, I got it from BookSwap, and I’ll get around to it one of these days.

Fables 15: Rose Red by Bill Willingham, Mark Buckingham, et al [DC Vertigo 2011 trade paper, new] – graphic novel – fantasy – I have been pounding the pulpit, so to speak, about Fables since the first comics showed up at my local comic shop. When the first collection was published I gave it my highest rating and a rave review, and have done so again with each successive volume, and deservedly so. This is the only comic / graphic novel I currently read. After moving to Portland, the only good comic shop is a ways away, and I just don’t get there very often. Thus, I buy what I know and this is it. Highly recommended! Start at the beginning (vol. 1) and try this, you won’t regret it.

Fables 16: Super Team by Bill Willingham, Mark Bucking ham, et al [DC Vertigo 2011 trade paper, new] – graphic novel – fantasy – I have been pounding the pulpit, so to speak about Fables since the first comics showed up at my local comic shop. When the first collection was published I gave it my highest rating and a rave review, and have done so again with each successive volume, and deservedly so. Highly recommended! Start at the beginning (vol. 1) and try this, you won’t regret it.

The Film Music of Brian Easdale – BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Rumon Gamba, conducting [Chandos Movies 2011 CD, total time: 76:42, new] – film music from various films – I continue to buy the Chandos film music CDs, I find them very enjoyable listening, even better when I put them in the 5-disc changer on Random and they spin away for hours. This one contains music from the films The Red Shoes, Kew Gardnes, Black Narcissis, Battle of the River Platte (only a march), Adventure On! and Gone to Earth. Confession: I had this on my Amazon wish list for a long time, but no one got it for me, so after Christmas, I bought it for myself. That’ll show ‘em!

Johan Halvorson Orchestral Works volume 1 – Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Neeme Järvi conducting [Chandos 2010 audio CD, total time: 76:48, new] – classical music – I’m new to Halvorsen, so I bought this and the next listed CDs to try his music. This one has Symphony No. 1, the Suiyte from Mascarade and three short pieces.

Johan Halvorson Orchestral Works volume 3 - Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Neeme Järvi conducting [Chandos 2011 audio CD, total time: 80:32, new] – classical music – I’m new to Halvorsen, so I bought this and the next listed CDs to try his music. This one has Symphony No. 3, Fossgrimen Suite and three short pieces.

About Richard

he's the guy who's blog you're reading
This entry was posted in books, Classical Music, Music, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals, January 23-29, 2012

  1. Carl V. says:

    I’m way behind on my Fables reading, but I keep buying every issue each month as I’ve loved the series thus far and have no doubt I will continue to do so.

    I keep hearing Downton Abbey praised from folks all over the spectrum as far as their tastes go. Sounds like something the wife and I will need to catch up on.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice eclectic mix. We stopped all books coming in last week.

  3. Everything on your list is enticing. I’ll definitely order the FABLES books. The music deserves a listen online (but I wish the samples were longer than 30 seconds).

    Carl, DOWNTON ABBEY is basically an update of UPSTAIRS, DOWNSTAIRS. Great cast, excellent BBC production. I’m sure you and your wife would enjoy it. The first season is on DVD. The second season is finishing up on PBS and will be out on DVD next month. They’re already filming the third season.

  4. I don’t have any of these. sigh

  5. Richard says:

    Carl, I bought the individual issues for the first year or so, then when the first collection came out I saw that was the way to go, so I’ve been buying them ever since. So much more compact and easy to store. As for Downton Abbey, it’s available on Netflix, I have the DVDs in my queue but I have to watch the other film I have on hand first.

  6. Richard says:

    George, 30 seconds isn’t enough to tell anything about a classic piece. A pop song, sure, but not classical music. I don’t think you’d be disappointed with the first volume in this series. Certainly Symphony #1 i nice and a couple of the suites are too. I like everything on the disc except the march, which is only 4:30 long, so I just skip it.

    Charles, you can easily change that. I think you should try the first Fables collection.

  7. Carl V. says:

    I don’t have the DVD part of Netflix anymore but I see it is on streaming so I went ahead and added it to my queue.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    I am going to check out that classical music. I am betting Phil would like it.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, I just ordered the 2nd volume, which has his Symphony #2, perhaps his best known work.

Leave a Reply

