New Arrivals, the 3 weeks late edition

Hope everyone had a wonderful holidays season and the new year is starting off great for you! I’m certainly feeling better, though the rib is still a long way from healed.

I thought I’d give you a look at the new stuff that arrived here from about December 20 until now: some gifts, some I bought new, used or some that just came in the mail. Here goes.

The Adventures of Tintin, Season One – English language version  from the French television series – 5 hours, animated adventure [Shout Factory 2 DVD set, new] – I love Tintin. I’ve been a big fan for a long time, since I discovered one of the books in a Brentano’s book store while browsing one afternoon. (Side note: that was a wonderful book store for a chain. The stock, employees and layout were better than most chains.) I loved the book, I think it was Cigars of the Pharaoh and immediately went back and bought all the rest of the volumes they had, then ordered the rest – they were all in print then and may still be. This French animated television series was highly acclaimed, and I’ve been waiting for the English language version – completely re-recorded with English speaking voice actors, not just dubbed, for a long time. Finally this is out and Season Two is coming in a few months.

Blood ‘N’ Thunder magazine, issues 29 and 30 – Ed Hulse, editor [monthly magazine, by subscription]- I’ve subscribed to this magazine about pulps, old time radio and film for a couple of years, and bought all of the available back issues to cover as much of the previous years as I could. Hulse does an outstanding job of editing and writing and he knows whereof he speaks. He has a huge amount of expertise and it shows. Highly recommended for anyone who is interested in these topics. Due to a missed issue, I got issue 30 before 29, which came on Christmas Eve. That’s a great present!

Good Eats 3 by Alton Brown [Stewart, Tabori & Chang hardcover, September 2011, new] – cookbook – I love the show, watch the reruns when I catch them, have thought of buying the whole thing on DVD and now have the three volume set of the books. I believe in Brown, use his application (it’s what he calls the recipes), learn from his books.

Horticulture magazine – [monthly magazine, by subscription] – gardening and plants – my wife and I are both fairly avid amateur gardeners, and so it’s always a treat to sit down and read a gardening magazine. This was a gift from my brother and sister-in-law.

Imager by L.E. Modesitt, Jr. [Tor paperback, new] – fantasy – 1st in the Imager series – this got good reviews and sounds interesting. A Christmas gift I haven’t gotten to yet.

Model Railroader  – [monthly magazine, by subscription] – Okay, I admit it: I’ve been interested in model railroading to a greater or lesser since I can remember. The Christmas I came downstairs and found a train circling the tree was one of the most memorable of my life. That was an American Flyer, and I loved it, made a small layout in a tiny bunk room and ran the trains around and around. Later I changed my interest to HO scale trains and they are great. I tried building a layout while I was in college but was defeated by the complexities of the wiring. I have at one time or other collected – and gotten rid of – hand made brass steam locomotives, old diesel locos, a few boxcars and other rolling stock, and even thought about building a small diorama. Most of the time, the bug bites for a while, then it fades for a few years until something triggers it again. That’s when I re-subscribe to Model Railroader, which I did a couple of months ago. This is the current issue that came just before Christmas.

Nikkor AF-S DX 55-300 f:4.5 ED VR and Nikkor AF-S DX Micro 40mm f:2.8G –  camera lenses for my Nikon D40x D-SLR camera [new, from local camera store] – I already had two lenses for the camera, the 55-100 stock lens and a 85-200 zoom. But I found that wasn’t long enough and wanted a telephoto. The 55-300 here has an actual zoom reach of 450, long enough to shoot wildlife, fast enough that a fast shutter speed is possible to freeze movement. A big lens like this can be difficult to hold steady, this one has VR, Vibration Reduction built in. I’ll turn that off when I use a tripod, which will be most of the time with this lens. The micro lens is a mid-distance fixed focal lens that can focus as close as 2 inches for macro shots, provided a tripod is used. In fact, a new tripod is next on the list, as I learn to use both of these superb new lenses.

The Pruning Book by Lee Reich [Taunton Press hardcover, Revised 2nd Edition, January 2010, new] – gardening, tree, shrub and plant maintenance – this is the kind of resource every serious gardner needs. I’ve already learned a lot just glancing through it.

Santa With His Trains – jigsaw puzzle – The holidays always seem like the time to get out a jigsaw puzzle, and when we spotted this one a couple weeks before Christmas we had to bring it home. We also bought another one which we’ve done, and will start this one within a day or two.

Starbridge Book Two – Silent Dances by A.C. Crispin and Kathleen O’Malley [Ace mass market paperback, used] – science fiction – 2nd in series – I enjoyed the first book in the series, Starbridge by Crispin. It’s light fare, YA science fiction about a particularly bright almost adult teenager and a dedicated young doctor and their adventures in discovering a new-to-them sentient race, and then another. The ending left plenty of room for sequels and I knew when I read it that there were several more books. This and the next one are the 2nd and 3rd in the series.

Starbridge Book Three – Shadow World by A.C. Crispin and Jannean Elliot [Ace mass market paperback, used] – science fiction – 3rd in series – I enjoyed the first book in the series, Starbridge by Crispin. It’s light fare, YA science fiction about a particularly bright almost adult teenager and a dedicated young doctor and their adventures in discovering a new-to-them sentient race, and then another. The ending left plenty of room for sequels and I knew when I read it that there were several more books. This and the previous book listed are the 2nd and 3rd in the series.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, At Home in Portland, books, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to New Arrivals, the 3 weeks late edition

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Quite a haul. Glad you’re feeling better,and I hope you’re back to 100% soon.

  2. Patti Abbott says:

    Oh, I am going to get that magazine for Phil. Perfect.

  3. Nice presents! Art Scott also has a copy of GOOD EATS 3. Hope your health continues to improve!

  4. Lana is getting new camera stuff soon, too.

  5. Richard says:

    Patti, I’m guessing you mean Horticulture, not MR or Blood ‘N’ Thunder.

    Thanks, George & Bill. I knew Art already had GE3 but I was waiting for Christmas so I’d put it on my Wish List.

    Charles, what camera does she have?

  6. Cap'n Bob says:

    If I had the time, space, and money I’d have a dazzling model train layout. You have the room…

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    As kids we had a Lionel train set in the basement.

    *sigh*

    I got a number of things over the last few weeks from paperbackswap.

  8. Richard says:

    Bob, what I don’t have is the money, but even more the skill to do the wiring, set up the Digital Command Control, etc. I think it would be cool to build a small diorama, say 5 feet wide by 16 inches deep, but even that is probably beyond my meager skills.

    Jeff, yes, those childhood trains evoke a lot of good memories, don’t they? So what did you get?

  9. Carl V. says:

    Loved the Tintin film and definitely want to read some of the work now that I’ve seen it.

    Nice to see some new lenses for you in the midst of the books.

    I so enjoy Donato Giancola’s art for the Modesitt book covers. I have yet to be persuaded to dive into the series, but those covers are awfully tempting.

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We got the 4 books in Harry Turtledove’s Worldwar series, where in the middle of WWII (The Big One) there is an alien invasion of Earth and we have to unite with our enemies to fight them. Also got Code Blue: Emergency, the next in James White’s Sector General series. After reading Michael Dirda’s ON CONAN DOYLE got the latter’s Round the Fire Stories, which sounded quite good. Also Ray Bradbury’s collection, A Memory of Murder, which I thought I’d read but hadn’t (though I’ve probably read some of the stories).

    Most of these will be going with me to Florida next week (well, the first of the Turtledove series), along with a pile of other stuff I’m sure.

  11. Richard says:

    Carl, I liked the covers for the Recluse books better than this one, but they are all good.

    Jeff, I tried but failed to get into Turtledove. I guess alternate, fictionalized history just isn’t my thing. The White and Dirda sound interesting. I need to get back to White, I still have one of the early omnibus volumes here, unread. Have a great time in FLA! Two weeks?

  12. Carl V. says:

    Yes, the one above certainly isn’t my favorite of his work, but a Donato cover always stops me cold. The man is incredibly talented and often paints these ENORMOUS paintings. They are seldom the small things others paint, his canvases are usually quite large. Makes me long to see some of these paintings in person.

  13. Richard says:

    I wonder if he’s ever had a public show of his works?

  14. Carl V. says:

    I think I’ve seen mention of him participating in some of the Spectrum events that have been hosted in NYC. Unfortunately it doesn’t look like he will be at the Spectrum event later this spring in KC.

  15. Frank Denton says:

    I’m grateful for the news that the French Tin Tin cartoon series is now available and with English dubbing. I caught a few of these on videotape some years back but would love to have the series on DVD. Thanks again. And the news of Good Eats 3 was welcome also. 4″ of snow up here and Seattle and environs does not know how to deal with it. So we hunker down. Good for a bowl of popcorn and a movie, I guess.

  16. Richard says:

    Frank, they didn’t just dub it, they did a complete new voice acting job, as I understand it. By the way, did you get my email about the powwow this weekend? Are you coming down to Portland for it?

  17. Art Scott says:

    Though the Good Eats books all have plenty of good stuff in them, 2 & 3 are somewhat disappointing. I haven’t the kitchen, the equipment, the pantry or the taste buds to do very many of the applications. The only one I cook regularly is the chicken wing recipe, with some modifications. So I don’t really study the cookery part, am more interested in the culinary history & anthropology, and, as a chemist, the food science. What I hoped for in the latter two books was more of the inside-the-show stuff that made the first book such a treat. How they came up with the show concepts, info on the cast/crew members, the crazy made-on-the-cheap props, tales of on-set disasters and so forth. It was a brilliant show (now that it’s done), and I hate to see Alton’s talent largely wasted hosting Iron Chef & Next Iron Chef – though he deserves the success, and probably is glad the creative & production headaches of doing Good Eats are behind him. I hope they at least let him do some new specials, like the wonderful Feasting on Asphalt series.

  18. Richard says:

    I’m in agreement with you on this, Art, though as I said I do use the recipes more than you do, apparently. I wish there had been more about the show in the latter volumes too. I’ve thought seriously about buying the DVDs of the whole series, but they are pretty expensive.

Leave a Reply

