Newton Had It Right

…which is no surprise to anyone. Specifically I’m referring to the First Law of Motion which tells us “A body in rest tends to stay at rest, and a body in motion tends to stay in motion, unless the body is compelled to change its state.

Why do I mention this now? Because the first phrase of it applies to me and my getting back into my usual activities of reading, blogging, walking, and so forth. For the last couple of weeks I’ve been doing little or none of those things, pretty much sleeping, eating when I could keep something down and watching a lot of football. But the Oregon win in the Rose bowl was about it, I OD’d on football and it was a relief to just leave the set off the last few nights.

I have started reading again, picking up where I left off in the first John Grimes omnibus by A. Bertram Chandler, about half way through. I’ve also found myself getting interested in other books I see here, and in getting my new lenses on the Nikon and getting outside to try them out, though there will be no photo safaris anytime soon. I am planning on going to the Tualatin Wildlife Refuge come spring for the incoming migratory bird show, though, and need to have practiced and learning the capabilities of the lenses (a long range zoom and a macro) before that.

I visit all of the blogs of the regulars here as well (except Jeff, who doesn’t have one yet…) and you’ll be seeing the occasional comment on your blogs by me, a change from recent weeks.

So, reading more, blogging more, a refreshed interest in books and I’m starting to listen to music again, such as Mahler 3rd Symphony playing as I type this (Bernstein, N.Y. Phil, the Royal Edition on Sony). The main thing laking right now is getting outside, but that will come as I gain some strength back and get outside with the camera.

So the sun is shining, I’m felling somewhat better, and the body is beginning to be in motion. Who knows? Maybe I’ll even have a Friday Forgotten Book or New Arrivals post one of these days!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Newton Had It Right

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Glad you’re feeling better!

  2. Carl V. says:

    Glad to hear of all the improvement and that you are slowly but surely getting back to form. I can’t imagine how pneumonia must rack the body, and hope I never have to find out first hand. 🙂

    Its beautiful here today, in the upper 50’s with a high of 64 predicted. Hope to get out of work early enough to get home and walk the dog while it is still light out.

    Take it easy and keep getting your rest, and welcome back to the land of the living.

  3. Richard says:

    Thanks, Bill and Carl. It’s so good to be feeling better, but there’s a ways to go yet. I have to be careful not to overdo it as the rib is still not healed.

  4. Eventually the routine will come back. NO hurry.

  5. Good news on the health front! It takes time for the residual effects of pneumonia to recede. Until then, I won’t be “ribbing” you! I’m sure you have plenty of reading material to keep you busy until you make a full recovery.

  6. Hey, glad to see you’re on the road to health.

  7. The only upside to being under the weather is how good it feels to start feeling healthy again.

  8. John says:

    Sounds like your back in the saddle again. Good news! I find that sunny days always help speed recovery – so let’s hope the weather stays bright for you.

  9. patti abbott says:

    Glad to hear you’re working your way back. Missed you.

  10. Cap'n Bob says:

    There’s always tomorrow, and tomorrow is another day.

  11. Evan Lewis says:

    Welcome back from the real world, Mr. R.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Good to see you back, Rick. We jsut got back from Arizona where the weather was perfect and my family actually got along, which is amazing in itself. (Yes, my brother was there from Portland.) The occasion was my parents’ 65 th Anniversary.

    Weather was perfect – cool at night and upper 60’s to low 70’s during the day. Not that I am complaining about our winter so far, because it’s been nearly as good as it gets – occasionally cold but NO SNOW.

Leave a Reply

