not how we planned

Christmas has been pretty miserable this year.

What I’d thought was a chest cold was in fact pneumonia, and in the coarse of coughing over a week or so, I finally had such pain I went to Immediate Care, where X-rays confirmed both the pneumonia and a cracked rib. That on top of a jaw so sore from all the dental work that I can’t chew has left me on soft diet. The pain meds make me nauseous, so I’m getting along with Tylenol. The rib will take 4-5 weeks to heal, the jaw isn’t getting better but there’s nothing to do about it, and the pneumonia seems to be responding to the antibiotic prescribed, though  those are making me nauseous. We cancelled Christmas dinner, which was going to be a real treat. Maybe when I can chew…

So I’ve spent most of the time in bed. I got one fantasy paperback, a book on pruning and a classical CD. Also a new lens for the Nikon. I’ll try to talk more about those when I feel up to posting again, maybe in a few days.

Happy New Year to you all.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to not how we planned

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Judy had pneumonia in 2010, and it was a long recuperation. At least she didn’t have the other things you have. On a lighter note, our daughter also got a new lens for her Nikon, which is a much nicer thing to have in common. Let’s hope for a much better beginning to 2012 than the way 2011 is ending!

  2. Redhead says:

    I hope you feel better soon, and in the meantime, take it easy!

  3. Carl V. says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that Richard. Even one of those things would make for a poor Christmas, but all in combination make it that much worse. Glad you finally went to the doctor so they could hopefully get you the treatment you need to kick this thing. And you couldn’t even have the good fortune to get the cracked rib in the springtime when the “honey do” list comes out…that would have been the perfect excuse to lay around reading rather than spring cleaning or doing yard work!!!

    I hope to quickly read about you feeling in tip top shape. Until then get plenty of rest.

  4. Walker Martin says:

    Richard, I hope you recover soon. A few years back I had what I thought was a bad cold or flu and it lasted much of the winter. Later I realized I must have been suffering from pneumonia and it’s a wonder I survived since I did not seek medical attention. One good thing of course is now you will be able to relax in bed and read. Take care of yourself.

  5. Oh, man. Take care of yourself and get better soon.

  6. Sorry to hear about all the pain. Hope you feel better soon. We’ve been struggling a bit with Lana’s recovery from shoulder surgery so I grok what you’re going through.

  7. Laurie Powers says:

    I’m sorry to hear this Rick. Please take care of yourself and don’t push it. Relax and take it easy. My mother went through a quick bout of pneumonia early in December, but she was smart and went to the hospital early on. Still, a scary experience and pneumonia is nothing to mess with. I hope your New Years ends up being better than Christmas.

  8. Scott Cupp says:

    Get well soon.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Yikes! That really is awful. I’ve been sick for about a week but nowhere near as bad as that – the coughing only lasted a day or so. Since you have no other choice anyway, just try and relax and take it easy. This too shall pass and at least you don’t have to worry about missing work, right?

  10. Yes, take it easy and get back into shape soon. My little cold seems hardly to compare with what you’ve been through.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I got antibiotics from the doctor – fortunately my respiratory infection is nowhere near that serious.

  12. Sorry to hear you were sick for Christmas. And multiple health problems to boot! Gotta up your Vitamin-C! Chill out for a couple of weeks until you build up your strength. Here’s your chance to get a lot of reading done!

  13. Steve Lewis says:

    Get well soon, Rick! (You’re bound to if you follow the advice given in all of the comments posted before mine!)

  14. Art Scott says:

    Hurry up and get well, before the Doc suggests you ought to move to a dry climate! Best to you and Barb for the New Year.

  15. deslily says:

    wow sorry you and your wife have been so sick! I hope your recovery is a fast one! and I hope your new year is healthier !!

  16. Todd Mason says:

    Very sory to read it…how’d the rib crack, from swelling in the chest? The pernicious bug has been getting around. Take care…and read only the good books…the mediocre and worse can be safely abandoned in these circumstances…

  17. Richard says:

    Thanks, everyone.

    I cracked the rib through the deep and frequent coughing. One final cough, and that was it, felt like someone hit my ribs with a hot poker. Since, every cough, sneeze, nose blow, etc. hurts like fury and there’s nothing much to do about it.

    The biggest frustration is that I’m really sick of lying on the one side, am dizzy when I sit up and feel like reading absolutely nothing at all. I’ve managed a couple of magazines in brief tries, that’s the best I can do, and all these books waiting to be read. Rats. My wife is going to the New Year’s Eve party we were invited to, I’ll be on the sofa, at best.

  18. This is the time to break out the audio books, Rick! After my knee surgery, I felt the same way you did. Audio books were a life-saver!

Leave a Reply

