New Arrivals & Some Comments

Nothing new. That’s fine. I have a surfeit of books and CDs now.

There may be something at Christmas, but I think Wife is trying for non-book Christmas, which will probably mean a new winter coat or something. That’s fine with me. Besides, that’s what I got for her (don’t tell her!). We bought our “for the house” present, on deep sale plus 20% off: a new Kitchenaid stand mixer, something we’ve wanted for a few years but considered them too expensive. We used it this morning (see below) and it’s a cool piece of machinery.

I’m felling a lot better – there were a few days when I barely got out of bed, between the mouth ache, headache, vomiting, diarrhea, dizziness and blurry vision it was a really miserable time. Bad reaction to the nitrous oxide plus a heavier-then-usual set of Novocain shots. Who knew? When I go back in a couple of weeks I’ll skip the gas.

Homemade Cinnamon Rolls – on a much happier note, we made homemade cinnamon rolls yesterday/today. We usually go with the Pillsbury ones in the tube, but I wanted to try to make them from scratch. We used Alton Brown’s recipe from the Good Eats 2 book (you can find it here, along with the video and reviews). It’s a lot of work compared to the separate and bake ones, not that much if you’re used to making dough and have the tool, a stand mixer with the right attachments which we now do. The biggest thing with these is the time, you make the dough, let it rise for 2-3 hours, slice it and refrigerate it 10-18 hours (overnight). Next day you take it out, proof it in an oven for 30 minutes, then bake for 20-25 minutes (and don’t bake all the way to 30 without checking it or you may overcook them). The verdict? Really Very Good cinnamon rolls. From now on, we’ll make these unless we’re short on time.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, New Arrivals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals & Some Comments

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Glad you’re better. Cinnamon rolls are good for you.

  2. Carl V. says:

    So glad to hear that you are better. That all sounded pretty miserable. Too bad about the gas, that honestly is the one thing I enjoy about going to the dentist. I’m a bit of a nitrous junkie when I’m in the dental chair.

  3. Richard says:

    Bill, I’m glad to hear that, because they have long been a favorite of mine.

    Carl, thanks, this was the first time I’d had it. I’ll skip it from now on.

  4. Diane bought a KitchenAid mixer a couple years ago and loves it! It cuts many tedious recipes down to size. Glad you’re up and around. Dental pain can be intense…and lingering.

  5. Cap'n Bob says:

    I like to be awake during the procedures. I just tell them to numb me well since I’m not squeamish.
    Glad you’re recovering. Feeling lousy is lousy.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    I can’t take the gas either. I feel like I am floating on the ceiling during it and sick at my stomach after. Who knew teeth could turn into my biggest problem. And yours.

  7. Randy Johnson says:

    Glad you’re feeling better.

    The homemade cinnamon rolls sound good, even with the extra work. I’ll be by later today for mine.

  8. Glad you are feeling better. Sorry for all the unpleasantness.

  9. Richard says:

    Thanks, everyone. Sorry, the cinnamon rolls were polished off this morning.

  10. Art Scott says:

    You’ve gone much farther that I ever will with Alton’s recipes. Baking especially is well beyond my capabilities, and I don’t have the equipment. My biggest success has been with his no-fry chicken wing recipe – works great with a few minor modifications. By the way, Nero Wolfe hated cinnamon rolls (see “Bullet for One”).

  11. Richard says:

    Baking isn’t really that difficult if you follow the directions exactly, have the mixer, practice a little. In the late 70’s, I tried baking bread and after a few flops got the hang of it and enjoyed doing it. I’d forgotten Nero didn’t like cinnamon rolls, perhaps they couldn’t get Ceylonese cinnamon.

  12. Frank Denton says:

    Glad to hear that you are feeling better. You and Barbara will enjoy the Kitchenaid. I’ve had one for a long time and they are worth every last penny. Art’s comment about Nero Wolfe not liking cinnamon rolls. A man with his tastes; who could not like? Just to be ecentric, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

