New Arrivals, November 20 – 27, 2011

Two things from Haffner Press, ordered after George Kelley did a review. I already had quite a few other books published by Haffner, but not these two. Also two things picked up from BookSwap, also after reading reviews, both from Friday Forgotten Books. So here’s the cover scans, and then the info.

Note: I’m sorry WordPress decided to go the slideshow route, imitating Blogger, I don’t much care for it, but we were given no choice. If you want to see the image full size, click on “permalink” below that image.

Lorelei of the Red Mist by Leigh Brackett, foreword by Ray Bradbury, introduction by Harry Turtledove [Haffner Press 2007 hardcover, new] – science fiction / fantasy – As mentioned above, ordered after reading George Kelley’s review. This is subtitled “Planetary Romances” and contains 12 works of varying length, some short stories, a couple nearly novelette length. This copy is signed by Turtledove. Haffner publishes beautiful books.

My Favorite Fantasy Story edited by Martin H. Greenberg [DAW 2000 paperback, used] – fantasy – fantasy authors pick their favorite stories, an interesting mix.

Shannach – The Last by Leigh Brackett, introduction by Anne McCaffrey [Haffner Press 2011 hardcover, new] – science fiction / fantasy – As mentioned above, ordered after reading George Kelley’s review. This is subtitled “Farewell to Mars” and contains 17 stories. As I said above, but it bears repeating, Haffner publishes beautiful books.

Starbridge by A.C. Crispin [Ace Science Fiction, 1989 paperback, used] – science fiction – this is the first in the so far 7 book Starbridge series, in which mankind encounters their first intelligent alien species. I’ve seen these referred to as both adult and YA books. Don’t know my opinion, haven’t read this yet.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, New Arrivals, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals, November 20 – 27, 2011

  1. Todd Mason says:

    You could do much, much worse. I haven’t read much that I remember by Crispin, but the other three will cover a multitude of sins on the part of any fourth partner.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice choices. I got in a Robert Bloch short story collection, The Stuff That Screams Are Made Of, plus a couple of hardbacks, Ronald Tierney’s Deets Shanahan mystery Asphalt Moon and Tony Spinosa (Reed Farrel Coleman)’s The Fourth Victim, all from the Exchange.

  3. I’ve been busy correcting 100 term papers so I haven’t had much time for pleasure reading or book buying. Those two Leigh Brackett books are wonderful! I second your opinion of Haffner Press. I buy just about everything they published.

  4. These all look good. I’ve read the Brackett. Love her.

  5. I’ve a few of the Starbridge series, but have never read them. The Brackett look good as well.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    The fantasy collection looks great to me.

  7. Richard says:

    It’s time I started READING some of these things, especially the Brackett, instead of just buying them! George, I feel your term paper grading stress, my brother used to have a lot of that to do. Jeff, good choices, I’ve not read any Deets. I got the fantasy collection and the Crispin as a result of Friday Forgotten Books reviews.

  8. John says:

    I only know Brackett from two of her crime novels – one she wrote on her own (NO GOOD FROM A CORPSE) and the other a ghost written book for George Sanders (STRANGER AT HOME). The first is required reading for fans of hardboiled and noir fiction. The other – meh.

  9. Richard says:

    John, I have NO GOOD FROM A CORPSE here, but haven’t read it yet. Seems to me I saw it mentioned more than once on your blog.

  10. Joachim Boaz says:

    Brackett! Brackett!

    I’ve only read The Big Jump but plan on reading a lot more of her works in the coming months…

  11. Richard says:

    I think you’ll enjoy it, Joachim.

  12. deslily says:

    Did you know that “back in the day” A.C. Crispin wrote Star Trek and Star Wars books? Eons ago I read “Yesterday’s Son” by her . she wrote sort of an extension of a star trek episode in which spock fell in love.

  13. Richard says:

    deslily, yes I did. She wrote one of the best-selling of all of the Star Trek novels as well, Sarak.

  14. Carl V. says:

    Lorelei of the Red Mist was on my wishlist for a couple of years because the cover was so stunning and at the end of last year I went ahead and finally pulled the trigger and bought it for myself. Lovely book. It has been a prominent part of my decor in various places throughout the year. I don’t have the heart to hide that cover in a slot in the shelves. I’m hoping to begin reading it during the Sci Fi Experience at the start of the year.

Leave a Reply

