New Arrivals: November 7 – 13, 2011

This time it’s a book I was missing from a series of short story collections and a pre-order that finishes a series. Filling in the holes…

Changer of Worlds by David Weber [Baen 2002 mass market paperback, used] – science fiction short story / novelette collection – Worlds of Honor series # 3 – After reading A Beautiful Friendship a week or so ago (my review HERE), I decided to check the Worlds of Honor set of short stories and novelettes by Weber and other authors, in this one it’s Eric Flint. I discovered I was missing this one and one other, so found a used copy.

Inheritance (or, The Vault of Souls) by Christopher Paolini [Knopf 2011 hardcover, new] – fantasy – After buying and reading the first book, Eragon, I decided to buy the rest in hardcover but not read them until I had the complete set. This is not an unusual practice by me, though it can be frustrating waiting for a many-volume series to be complete. In this case, a trilogy became a quartet as, the author explained a year and a half ago, the finish to the story needed a lot more telling than one volume could hold. So here at last is the conclusion to the Inheritance set, and all I have to do now is re-read the first book Eragon, then read Eldest and Brisinger. And this one.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Arrivals: November 7 – 13, 2011

  1. Carl V. says:

    And here I expected an enormous list!!! 🙂 Well done in the self-control department. I’ll be interested to see what you think of the Inheritance trilogy (plus one).

  2. Bill Crider says:

    Paolini appears to be a real self-publishing success story who got his start before the boom. I’ve never read any of the books, though.

  3. Richard says:

    Carl, I am really trying to cut back, in spite of the last few weeks. Now that Wife has retired, until March 3 we’re living on my pension alone (long story, but driven by the good ol’ IRS and Social Security). That’s enough to pay the bills but not much left over for books, quilting stuff or our other hobbies. That’s okay, I have plenty to read, she has lots of fabric and quilt projects under way, we don’t need much.

  4. Richard says:

    Bill, all I’m aware of are these 4 books.

  5. Not read either of these though I do own a few Webers.

  6. I haven’t read the Paolini books, either. I’ve heard the series gets better in the later books. I think the kid wrote the first book in the series when he was 14.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Happy reading, Rick!

  8. Richard says:

    George, I liked the first one enough to decide to buy the rest in HC. The film wasn’t authentic to the book, but that’s hardly a surprise, and Paolini is not Tolkein, but no one else is either. Yes, he wrote it very young, sort of a prodigy, but I like his reason for writing it: he wanted more of what he liked and couldn’t find any so decided to write some himself. Not an original motivation, but a sound one.

    Patti, thanks!

  9. I did that with Harry potter but usually end up reading some of the series and then having to wait to find others.

Leave a Reply

