New Arrivals: October 31 – November 6, 2011

An omnibus of horror novels, three graphic novels, an oldie and a library book, the last just since I had the image. I’m not doing a very good job of catching up reading the inflow, but I guess that’s nothing new, is it? Here goes:

The Complete Drive-In by Joe R. Landsdale [Underland Press, 2009 trade paper, new] – horror – I’m not normally much of a horror reader, but this was too tempting to pass up. The omnibus contains three novels: The Drive-In: A B-Movie with Blood and Popcorn, The Drive-In: Not Just Another One of Them Sequels, and The Drive-In: The Bus Tour. The latter had been published previously only as a limited edition.

The Empire of A Thousand Planets by Mezieres & Christin [Cinebook 2008 oversized trade paper, new] – SF graphic novel, third in series – I have the others on order, but this is the one that arrived. Though the artwork and coloring are rough, it’s an interesting SFF-style tale. I saw a review over at Bookgasm on this one, thought I’d try it.

The Sarcophagi of the Sixth Continent Parts 1 & 2 by Sente & Juillard [Cinebook 2009 oversized trade paper, new] – mystery-supernatural-adventure – I’m continuing to buy these adventures of Blake and Mortimer as I’ve been enjoying them.

Tour de Force by Christina Brand [Carroll & Graf 1988 paperback, used] – mystery – I’ve seen the film  of Brand’s Green For Danger but have not read any of her other novels. This was reviewed as a Friday Forgotten Book recently, so I thought I’d try it. I like that it has a blurb quote from Anthony Boucher on the cover.

Wicked Autumn by G, M. Malliet [Minotaur Books 2011 hardcover, library borrow] – mystery – reviewed by me here. I didn’t like it as well as most other readers, it seems.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, New Arrivals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals: October 31 – November 6, 2011

  1. I like Lansdale, so THE COMPLETE DRIVE-IN might be right up my alley. Also THE EMPIRE OF A THOUSAND PLANETS and THE SARCOPHAGI OF THE SIXTH CONTINENT book look good.

  2. Jerry House says:

    I enjoyed the first two DRIVE-IN books. The Brand is resting somewhere on Mt. TBR. The other four also sound very entertainiing.

  3. Richard says:

    Randy, Jerry, I have high hopes for the Drive-In omnibus, and the graphic novels as well.

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    I have only read GREEN FOR DANGER too. Let us know.

  5. I read TOUR-DE-FORCE decades ago, but I have no recollection of what it was about. I have some hazy memories of GREEN FOR DANGER which I read about the same time.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    You can’t go wrong with Lansdale.

    I never read TOUR DE FORCE, just GREEN FOR DANGER and her Crippen & Landru collection, THE SPOTTED CAT & Other Mysteries, plus a children’s book – NURSE MATILDA GOES TO HOSPITAL – that I picked up in England.

    I got onr book from the Exchange last week – a paperback of Charlotte Armstrong’s short story collection, I SEE YOU.

  7. Carl V. says:

    We just watched Green for Danger a couple of weeks ago. Really enjoyed it. Perfect for the dark, chilly night that we watched it.

    As always you’ve got an interesting list of books here. Lots of tempting cover goodness as well. I love seeing those Blake and Mortimer covers. They are so fun.

    I don’t even come close to keeping up with reading what comes in, but I’ve just had to come to terms with the fact that I enjoy things coming in too much to stop the flow. I may exhibit more self control at different times of the year which at least cuts down on the flow, but I can never quite shut it down entirely.

  8. Richard says:

    Patti, George, I’m looking forward to trying Tour De Force, I’ll do a review after it’s read.

  9. Richard says:

    Jeff, I read The Spotted Cat, but was, frankly, not impressed. I’m hoping – and expecting – Tour De Force to be better then the short stories. I’m not familiar with the others you mention.

  10. Richard says:

    Carl, it’s a good movie, isn’t it? I’m enjoying the Blake and Mortimer books. I think I’ll like the SFF ones too, thought they are quite different in style and plot.

  11. Carl V. says:

    Yes it is. More thanks for Netflix Watch Instantly or I probably never would have discovered it (until now, of course).

  12. Todd Mason says:

    I’ve found that I like the DRIVE-IN novels less than any of Lansdale’s other fantasticated work I’ve read, and I’ve read the majority of it…so let this be a vote of, don’t let these be your measure of Lansdale’s horror (even the source story, embedded in an article, was better by me than the novels it was the seed for). In fact, even the promising but not fully achieved first novel under Lansdale’s name (ACT OF LOVE) was better, by me, than the DRIVE-IN and the sequels (though I didn’t do much more than glance at the third novel, I’ll cheerfully admit). BESTSELLERS GUARANTEED and similar collections are a better indication of Lansdale in that mode.

  13. Richard says:

    Todd, I’ll admit your comment has taken the edge off my anticipation of reading this, but I’ll still try at least the first one. I do always appreciate – and respect – your input and opinion. So it’s good to temper the unbridled enthusiasm of someone (Crider) for Lansdale with your viewpoint.

    By the way, your FFB last Friday was so chock full of goodness I’m having a slow time working through it, but have seen at least 2 things I want to find… I’ll comment when I have time. Now that the Wife is retired, there seems to be much less time in each day. She’s now around all the time, and encouraging me (“let’s take a walk”, “that bush needs to be pruned”, “this would be a good day to clean out that corner of the garage”, “I’m going to ___, why don’t you come along?”, “the leaves need to be raked up again”, “what are you making for dinner?”) to do things that are non-blog, non-reading. Sigh.

  14. Todd Mason says:

    Exercise is good, as is company…but if you need a little blog time, I suspect that should be An Attainable Goal. And I’m a huge fan of Lansdale’s work…which I why my lack of thrill with the DRIVE IN novels was a disappointment. I like nearly everything I’ve read from THE MAGIC WAGON through the most recent stuff that’s come my way, and if ACT OF LOVE shows signs of being a first novel (except just maybe a pseuded western, I should doublecheck), it’s still a decent piece of work (if also not what Lansdale should be judged by). “The Night They Missed the Horror Show” alone should be enough for immortality, and “Bob the Dinosaur Goes to Disneyland” might be notional, but is so charmingly so that any fault is forgiven. And that’s just two. And, thanks and likewise!

Leave a Reply

