New Arrivals, October 24 – 30, 2011

Excepting the birthday, stuff, which was already posted, here are the two new arrivals. I read a review of this series sometime within the last couple of months, but search as I could I can’t find the source, whether it was a Friday Forgotten Book, a link from another blog or what. So I apologize to whomever wrote that review, and if you read this, please speak up.

I have been aware of these for a long time, have always found the covers attractive, but never tried one. When I decided to get the first couple in the series, featuring Hugh Corbett, imagine my surprise to find them completely out of print and available only from the UK used bookshops! What? But order them I did, with the ouch-making shipping cost, and here they are. Now to dig in.

Oh, if someone knows of a more local and cheaper source, please let me know!

Satan in St. Mary’s by Paul Doherty [Headline 1990 paperback, used] – historical mystery fiction – Hugh Corbett # 1

Crown in Darkness by Paul Doherty [Headline 1991 paperback, used] – historical mystery fiction – Hugh Corbett # 2

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Arrivals, October 24 – 30, 2011

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Too bad. I hate to tell you this but when I was selling British books I had a lot of Doherty’s books in this and other series and they would undoubtedly have been a lot cheaper. Oh well.

    No new books here lately.

  2. Covers are definitely cool. I haven’t seen these before.

  3. John says:

    I don’t think you’re looking hard enough, Rick. If you don’t mind used paperbacks you can easily find nearly all of Doherty’s book from US used booksellers. They’re all over the place. I just found a used copy of SATAN IN ST MARY’S from a seller in Lakewood, WA (close to you I’m sure) for a buck plus $4 shipping. I’m emailing you the best used book search engine.

  4. Richard says:

    I looked on ABE, and the US copies were even more expensive. So, yes, I’m not looking hard enough. Or, to misquote the C&W song, I’m ‘looking for books in all the wrong places…’ I’ll look for the email, J.F.

    Oh, by the way, Jeff, none on BookSwap either.

  5. Some of the Brit books have vastly better covers than the U.S. editions. If there are more books in this series that you need, let me know and I can search for them in Canada. Plenty of British editions over there! And at better prices!

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    Ebooks, library books but no print purchases. We have no bookstores within many, many miles. Oh, I did order a Canadian book.

Leave a Reply

