New Arrivals, September 26 – October 9, 2011

Two weeks worth of new arrivals. Seems these things come in batches, I had just one in late September so skipped doing a new arrivals post, now bang! So here’s the story: several of these are gifts, one from Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings, and the rest from George at www.georgekelley.org Thanks to both of those fine gentlemen! The items from George are from the St. Louis Bouchercon.

In addition, I ordered four things, one that I’ve been waiting for (the Elliot) and the next three of the adventures of Blake & Mortimer, which I’ve been enjoying reading. Plus I got one book from Paperback BookSwap. Here’s the gallery, descriptions after as usual.

Adventures of  Blake and Mortimer # 6 – S.O.S. Meteors by Edgar Jacobs [Cinebook 2009 oversized trade paper, new] – graphic novel – I’ve been enjoying these, the writing and artwork are similar to that of the Tintin books, which are personal favorites.

Adventures of  Blake and Mortimer # 7 – The Affair of the Necklace by Edgar Jacobs [Cinebook 2009 oversized trade paper, new] – graphic novel – I’ve been enjoying these, the writing and artwork are similar to that of the Tintin books, which are personal favorites.

Adventures of  Blake and Mortimer # 8 – The Voronov Plot by Sente & Julliard [Cinebook 2009 oversized trade paper, new] – graphic novel – I’ve been enjoying these, the writing and artwork are similar to that of the Tintin books, which are personal favorites.

Cold Fire by Kate Elliot [Orbit 2011 trade paper, new] – fantasy – this is the 2nd volume in The Spiritwalker Trilogy, following Cold Magic. This is a book I’ve been looking forward to. From the reviews I’ve read this very highly praised trilogy has avoided the middle book slump. The next – last – volume will be out in close to a year. No, I’ve not read the first one yet, nor will I read it or this one until I have them all in hand. Then I’ll settle in and indulge myself to an orgy reading of all three. Some Bach or Mozart, a cup of hot coco, a comfy chair…

Cradle in the Grave by Sophie Hannah [Penguin 2010 trade paper, ARC, new] – mystery – don’t know a darn thing about this one, gift from George, probably was in the book bag at Bouchercon. More on it when I have a chance to read it.

Eifelheim by Michael Flynn [Tor 2009 paperback, used] – science fiction – I’ve been picking up Flynn’s SF novels as they come up on Paperback BookSwap. This one is a stand-alone with an intriguing premise: the population of a small village in Germany disappears in 1348. Now, aliens from a distant star are discovered living the the nearby forest, with remnants of their smashed starship… How could I resist?

Never Burn a Witch by M.R.Sellers [E.M.A. 2006 paperback, new] – mystery – don’t know a darn thing about this one, gift from George, this was also probably in the book bag at Bouchercon. More on it when I have a chance to read it.

St. Patrick’s Gargoyle by Katherine Kutrz [Ace 2001 hardcover, new, remainder marks] – fantasy – Another of the gifts from George, Kurtz is a favorite fantasy author, I was unaware of this collection until I opened the box. What a treat!

The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson [Tor Fantasy 2010 paperback, new] – fantasy – after Carl bought this, he couldn’t resist the beautiful hardcover ediiton (they were published at about the same time) and bought one. Since he had this “spare” he sent it to me. Thanks! This is one of those fantasy series that promises to go one for years. Rumored to be at least 10 volumes, and Sanderson writes about one every couple of years or so. Still, I’ll read them as they come out in paperback, probably, and won’t count on having the whole thing in hand first.

And that’s it, gang. Fantasy, science fiction, mystery, graphic novels. Not included here are the Bouchercon program and miscellaneous ephemera George sent along. Very cool.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals, reading, science fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals, September 26 – October 9, 2011

  1. Bill Crider says:

    Now this haul is more like it!

  2. Charles Gramlich says:

    I put in an order myself today. Got some sports related books.

  3. Richard says:

    Thanks, Bill. This won’t be the norm, but every once in a while this may happen.

    Love to know what you ordered, Charles, or what you got when they arrive.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice covers on these.

    Yes, George is a generous guy. I think I did see the Hannah in some of the book bags at Bouchercon, though we didn’t get one. In the end we left the large majority of things we were given.

    The only books I’ve gotten in the last two weeks are Robert B. Parker (the other one)’s PASSPORT TO PERIL (a Hard Case Crime reprint) and Charles Portis’s NORWOOD, from Amazon.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff, I particularly like the cover on the Kurtz.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    I have been meaning to try Hannah for a long time. Let me know if you like it. The only new books I got this week are ebooks. Not quite the same although I hope a few people will try mine –due out this week.

  7. Richard says:

    Patti, if I had an e-reader, I’d buy a copy. If it were in print, I’d have it ordered.

  8. Hope you enjoy those goodies I sent you, Rick. Unlike Jeff and Jackie, I brought a ton of books home from BOUCHERCON. You’ll enjoy the Kurtz volume. And the HAVING A BLAST AT BOUCHERCON pin. By the way, my blog is at: http://www.georgekelley.org. The guy at georgekelley.com isn’t me.

  9. Richard says:

    George – Oops! I’ve corrected that goof. I just grabbed the wrong link, though I’m not sure how… Yes, I’m enjoying all the goodies, thanks again.

  10. Carl V. says:

    Good looking stuff there. I am particularly interested in the Edgar Jacobs books. I like that art style. Haven’t read any Tintin but it always looks enticing. I imagine the Peter Jackson film will inspire me to do so.

    I picked up the latest Star Trek Vanguard paperback this past week and a nice new trade copy of a re-release Penguin edition of H.P. Lovecraft’s The Call of Cthulu and Other Weird Stories from Barnes and Noble. Ordered a used of Ken Grimwood’s novel Replay from ebay for the SF Bookclub read this month and ordered a new copy (from BN online) of a book called Picturing Tolkien that is essays about the films. Also picked up a used copy from ebay of an Andre Norton book called Star Born. Lovely cover and it had a fun review from a fellow blogger.

  11. Richard says:

    Carl, the Blake & Mortimer books are adventure with a slightly SF twist to them, as opposed to Tintin, which is based more on just crime-adventure. They are very dense pages, no 9 panels per page here!

    I always love having people stop by on Monday and share what they have picked up over the previous week! Sounds like some good stuff, especially that Picturing Tolkein.

  12. Carl V. says:

    I always take something Tolkien related on our fall camping trips (in late Nov) and I’m looking forward to Picturing Tolkien being that book this year.

  13. John says:

    Sophie Hannah struck me as a very bright woman when I heard her speak at one of the Bouchercon panels. Some day I may read one of her books. You’re right, Rick – that ARC was in the Bouchercon book bag. I got a copy in mine, too.

Leave a Reply

