New Arrivals September 12 – 18, 2011

Pretty good variety this week, and a reasonable number – meaning not too many – including one thing ordered because of a Friday Forgotten Books review, one of a “regular” review, and one that was on pre-order.

Down the Mystery River by Bill Willingham [Starscape 2011 hardcover, new] – fiction, YA adventure – with illustrations by Mark Buckingham – just out, this tale of a boy, bear, badger and cat in a mysterious wilderness. Max, a top-notch Boy Scout, has no idea how he suddenly finds himself in these woods, nor how he has acquired the ability to talk with the animals who accompany him on this adventure. I really like Willingham’s fiction, both graphic and written, and expect to enjoy this one a good deal.

The Planet Masters by Robert Silverberg [Planet Stories 2011 trade paper, new] – science fiction – the second volume of Planet Stories’ collections of early Silberg novel / novellas, this contains The Plot Against Earth (1959), The Planet Killers (1959) and One of Our Astroids is Missing (1964).

Say it with Poison by Ann Granger [Avon 1993 paperback, used] – mystery – first in a series featuring Meridith Mitchell – I picked this one up based on a Friday Forgotten book review of one of the later books in the series.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, New Arrivals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals September 12 – 18, 2011

  1. Carl V. says:

    I saw that Planet Killers book recently and mentally added it to my list of books to buy.

    Went and picked up a copy of Down the Mysterly River on Thursday before going to see Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark. Looks like another fun offering from Willingham. I like that Max is a boy scout as it brings back memories. Should be a good read.

  2. Richard says:

    Carl, I’m about 1/3 way through Mysterly River and really enjoying it. Fairly quick read, clear-cut good and bad characters, interesting premise. I think you’ll enjoy it.

    I have had a subscription to Planet Stories and this is the 2nd Silverburg collection in a row. I decided to cancel that subscription just last week, so this will be the last one I get. It’s a budget thing.

  3. Carl V. says:

    I’m hoping to read it here in the next few weeks. Glad to hear it is enjoyable thus far.

  4. I want that YA book. sounds like fun. I like the cover on “the planet killers.” I might get that too. LIke me some early Silverberg.

  5. Thw Willingham sounds good and I’ve got to get on those Silverbergs. When I’ll ever find the time to read them though(sigh).

  6. Joachim Boaz says:

    Early Silverberg — hehe…. pretty atrocious but a lot of fun. He got so much better…

  7. Richard says:

    Charles, Mysterly River is fun, I’m enjoying it so far.

    Randy, better a Silverberg in the hand than none in the, uh, something… whatever. You get the idea.

  8. Richard says:

    Joachim, he sure did, but these are fun.

  9. Joachim Boaz says:

    Richard: Yup. I’ve only read one of Silverberg’s really early works — Master of Life and Death — it was terrible. I haven’t read these yet — but, I’ll probably procure the old editions 🙂

  10. You can’t go wrong with anything PLANET STORIES publishes. You would have loved the BLACK DOG table at BOUCHERCON, Rick. Of course, it may have cost you as much as your new deck!

  11. Richard says:

    George, I’ve dropped my Planet Stories subscription, but I’m still a loyal Black Dog customer. Yep, I would have spent a pretty penny, though I have many of their books already. I also got an email that Subterranean Press has shipped something, but I don’t recall what I may have ordered…

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Rick, George and I talked to the Black Dog guy (who didn’t seem to be doing that much business, sadly) and he said you were one of his most loyal customers. Nice guy.

    Granger was one of the “modern” authors whose paperbacks I always picked up in England since many (some? most? – too lazy to check) weren’t published here and they seemed to sell well, but I never read her.

    A few things I bought (as opposed to the freebies) at Bouchercon: Jamie Freveletti’s first two books in paperback, Running From the Devil and Running Dark, as I wanted to get them signed and tell her how much we both enjoyed them. Quarry’s Ex by Max Allan Collins, the latest in a favorite series. Colin Cotterill’s Killed at the Whim of a Hat, first in his new series. Actually, I didn’t buy this – Maggie Mason gave me a signed copy.

    I also got a few older things from PaperbackSwap – Ian Wallace’s The Sign of the Mute Medusa and Heller’s Leap, in the series recommended by George last week, and A. Bertram Chandler’s Star Courier, a John Grimes book.

  13. Richard says:

    Jeff, that “Black Dog guy” would be Tom Roberts, and it was nice of him to say that. I think B’con was an experiment for him, he’d hoped people there would be interested in buying pulp reprints, but maybe not.

    I just finished the Willingham (writing it up now) and am undecided what to read next. May be Louise Penny’s Bury Your Dead, which I had her sign at the SF B’con, and has been on the shelf since I got the hardcovers back out, or the new William Kent Krueger, or that Granger, or… there are so many choices!

    The books you got sound great. I thought Collins’ Quarry series was going to be a three-shot, but it seems to be going on. I’m not familiar with Freveletti, it will be interesting to see you opinions. Never heard of the Wallace books but they have intriguing titles. That Grimes is in one of the collections Baen is doing, I believe.

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The Freveletti is the perfect answer to anyone who think women cannot write exciting thrillers. Her character is a chemist for a cosmetics company (in the first book) and an ultra-marathon runner, on a plane that crashes in the jungle near the border of Venezuela and Colombia. Most of the passengers (not her, of course) are taken hostage by militants to hold for ransom. It’s non-stop action and the chemistry knowledge comes in as handy as her endurance.

    George reviewed one of the Wallace books (not the two I got) on FFB.

Leave a Reply

