The Next Rodeo

William Kittredge © 2007, Graywolf Press 2007 trade paper, non-fiction, essays, biographical, semi-biographical

After hearing Kittredge interviewed on Public Radio, I wanted to read his essays, and this was the collection that was mentioned in that interview. The essays range from Kittredge’s youth on a large agricultural ranch in eastern Oregon to his thoughts on the politics of poverty, wide-ranging in their topic and spare but evocative in their language.

The changes in culture, society and personal understanding of the world are beautifully delineated. I read just an essay or two per week, and it took me a while to make my way through the sometimes dense, sometimes lighthearted pieces. Fine work, well worth reading.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, reading, Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Next Rodeo

  1. Ron Scheer says:

    I have liked Kittredge’s short stories and his memoir HOLE IN THE SKY. He also did a nice job as editor of the Viking Portable Western Reader. I’ve been disappointed only once, in a novel whose name I’ve forgotten. I think short fiction and nonfiction are probably his long suits.

  2. Richard says:

    Ron, there is some overlap between this collection and Hole in the Sky. I really enjoyed this book.

  3. I’m reading a collection of essays now myself, but all science based. I should read outside of that more but I have lots of science books lined up i want to get to. I’ll keep this on a want list.

  4. Richard says:

    Charles, this is one I think you’ll enjoy.

  5. This sounds like my kind of book. I’m ordering it now!

Leave a Reply

