New Arrivals August 22 – 28, 2011

Just one this time, something from BookSwap.

All the Myriad Ways by Larry Niven [Del Rey 1971 – this edition 6th printing, 1983 paperback, used] – science fiction short story collection – this collection of 14 stories from the late 1960s and early 1970s fills a hole in my Niven section of the shelf. Since Niven is a favorite, when I spotted this used copy on BookSwap I ordered it.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in New Arrivals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Arrivals August 22 – 28, 2011

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    Nice! I just picked up a Niven short story collection as well — The Flight of the Horse. I haven’t read his works in a while although I enjoyed many of his short stories. I guess I was put off by the poor quality of the Ringworld sequels 😉

  2. Agree with Joachim on those Ringworld sequels.

    I do have this one in an older edition.

    I see Barnes and he have a new Dream Park novel, The Moon Maze Game, out. I remember liking those(it’s been a few years since the last one).

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We (mostly Jackie) have been picking up quite a few things from PaperBack Exchange lately. Nothing for me this week, however. TOo busy fighting off earthquakes and hurricanes.

    😉

  4. I’m a fan of Larry Niven’s short fiction, too. I have most of those stories in THE BEST OF LARRY NIVEN, that great Subterranean Press collection from 2010.

  5. Carl v. says:

    Wow, I’ve never seen that collection before. Like George I am sure that most of the stories in it are in that Best of Larry Niven collection, which I have as well, but I like the cover on this enough that I’m going to have to add it to my list of books to look for when I am treasure hunting in used bookstores.

  6. Richard says:

    I have a few of these elsewhere, I think, though I don’t have the Sub Press book. Hope you came through Irene okay, Jeff. My back spasms are a minor annoyance compared to that!

  7. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Thanks, Rick. We were fine. Just a lot of wind and rain, more nor’easter than hurricane. Other areas, however, got hit really hard, especially with flooding.

  8. Todd Mason says:

    ALL THE MYRIAD WAYS is one of the key collections of early (which usually means better) Niven. While THE FLIGHT OF THE HORSE is mostly his heartfelt, but perhaps too notional, science-fantasy stories (and another of his early-work collections).

  9. Richard says:

    Todd, I have Flight of the Horse, and most of, perhaps all of, the Known Space books plus other Niven, but I was missing this one. I’d be interested to know your opinion on the best thing(s) Jerry Pournelle has written. I like The Legacy of Heorot, written with Niven, quite a lot, have re-read it a couple of times. The sequel, Beowulf’s Children, is less successful.

  10. Todd Mason says:

    I’m not Pournelle’s biggest fan…though I did meet his daughter once, at the wedding of a mutual friend, in an utterly null-fannish circumstance. I read and mostly enjoyed their take on INFERNO when I was about ten…I’m not sure I’d be as happy with it now…

Leave a Reply

