FFB – The Game

this is the 67th in my series of forgotten books

The Game by Laurie R. King, © 2004, Bantam Books 2006 paperback featuring Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes, # 7 in series, mystery ~ adventure

Mycroft Holmes sends for Mary and Sherlock to ask a favor: find one of Her Majesty’s intelligence agents who’s gone missing. They must to go to India to find him, and his name is Kimball O’Hara, better known as Kim.

It’s 1924, things are unsettled in the empire, especially in India, and Holmes and Russell are drawn into The Great Game, as it’s called, of espionage. They must go to the northern India-Afghanistan border country, make what inquires they can, rescue O’Hara if he is still alive. It’s much more difficult, and dangerous, than they could have predicted.

This really isn’t a mystery, nor much of a spy novel. Mostly it’s adventure fiction, very readable stuff. I can’t assess the accuracy of King’s portrayal of India in those times, but nothing got in the way of my reading and enjoying the story. I like this series, especially the books which take place in England, and though this struck me as being a little longer than it needed to be, I enjoyed it right through.

The 10th in the series, God of the Hive, has just come out in trade paper.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

links to this week’s Forgotten Book posts can be found
on Todd Mason’s fine blog, Sweet Freedom

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Friday Forgotten Book, mystery, Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to FFB – The Game

  1. I have the first two books in the series, read the first one. Not really sure why I stopped though. I like Holmes pastiches and have read a lot. Some were great, some okay, some downright awful. The first one fell into the okay category. That could be why I stopped.

  2. Todd Mason says:

    Links at my blog this week, actually…Patti’s on the road. Visiting George, actually, iinm.

  3. deslily says:

    I’ve read the entire series and like you have have some I like more then others but overall I liked them all! I also read 2 stand alone books by Laurie R King that I just loved: Touchstone and Folly. both contain mysteries..she’s just such a good writer that I loved them both. Touchstone mostly takes place in Cornwall but Folly is on and Island off of Washington state.

  4. Todd Mason says:

    …and I’ve been meaning to give these novels a try for some years now…

  5. Richard says:

    Randy, I’ve read some really bad pastiches, but this series is pretty darn good, though this one is slightly weaker. I really like The Moor, and Justice Hall is another favorite. This is one of those series that I (perhaps foolishly) have intentionally stayed a book or two behind so I’ll have one left to read.

  6. Richard says:

    Todd, whether you like these will depend on your willingness to allow latitude with the characters. I like this Holmes and particularly like the Russell character, especially in the third and after books, though there’s not a thing wrong with the early ones. Compared to many Holmes pastiches I’d read these are quite good.

  7. Richard says:

    deslily, I’ll have to take a look at those non-series books, thanks for the tip.

  8. J F Norris says:

    King seems to have leaned more towards the wild adventure yarn the more the books she writes in this series. I read one out of these Holmes/Russell books out of sequence (THE GOD OF THE HIVE) and it completely ruined the previous book (THE LANGUAGE OF BEES) as it identifies the murderer and reveals some secrets about Holmes’ son. Blah. Louise Penny did this with her most recent books. I leave comments all over the blogosphere where reviews of BURY YOUR DEAD appear warning people not to read it until they first read A BRUTAL TELLING.

    I really enjoyed King’s book THE ART OF DETECTION with her other series character Kate Martinelli. It’s also a Holmes inspired book but deals with a group of California Sherlockians and the death of one of them. It’s a sort of a retelling of the Richard Lancelyn-Green suicide scandal a few years ago.

  9. This book sounds interesting.

  10. I’ve found every Laurie King novel I’ve read (six or seven) too long.

  11. Yvette says:

    I’ve read every book in the Russell/Holmes series and loved them. Some more than others. I am so looking forward to the new one. I think it’s called THE PIRATE KING.

    At any rate, I liked THE GAME, but I too thought it was a bit long. Still, I’d reather be reading a Russell/Holmes adventure than just about anything else.

    I always say that King took Holmes and turned him into a flesh and blood man. I say good for Russell (and King) for giving Holmes a new life.

  12. Richard says:

    J.F. – the first thing, of course, is to read a series in order unless it’s clear there’s no need to do so. This is one it’s necessary to read in order, as you discovered. I agree with you on The Art of Detection.

    George, deciding a book is too long is a personal thing, I admit to thinking a couple in this series struck me that way (this was one) but the rest, not at all.

    goodbyereality411 – I encourage you to try it, and this is one of the few in the series that can be read as a stand-alone novel, the rest should be read in order.

  13. Richard says:

    Yvette, we certainly agree on that! I have read up to Locked Rooms, having “saved” it but will read it and the following book now that I have God of the Hive in hand. I wait for the paperbacks.

  14. Evan Lewis says:

    Yeah, gotta try this series.When I have a few hours to spare. And if I remember by then. So many excuses, so little time.

  15. Richard says:

    Evan, people who make excuses are the salt of the earth, Evan. Of course “salt of the earth” can be construed as either very good or very bad… You? Have a few hours to spare? Maybe. Just pick up a copy of The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and carry it around with you.

Leave a Reply

