New Arrivals, July 25 – 31, 2011

I went to Borders on Monday morning, after the hordes had stripped about half of the stock. The books, with a few exceptions were only 10% off, not the 40% the bug signs said, but I bought three books, two on gardening and one fantasy novel that was on my want list.

Then a couple of days later a big box arrived from Mosaic Records, for which I’d been waiting a while. Man, I love the Mosaic sets! Since the boxes are too big for the glass on my scanner, I scanned the pages from the latest Mosaic catalog instead. Lots of information in them for anyone who’s interested in jazz, and if you think that’s good stuff you should see the full sized booklet that comes with these sets! Click twice for the full size if you want to read the text.

Then the next day two more packages one with another gardening book, the second with the just-released collection of western stories by Paul Powers. Huzzah! Plus one last trip to Borders netted one more SF paperback. So here we go, click for bigger image and all that.

Timber Press Pocket Guide to Conifers by Richard L. Bitner [Timber Press 2010 trade paper, new] – gardening, conifers, reference – we’re gardeners, and with some new landscaping going in we’re looking for ideas.

Timber Press Pocket Guide to Hostas by Diana Grenfell & Michael Shadrack [Timber Press 2007 trade paper, new] – gardening, Hostas, reference – same as above. In our climate Hostas do well and are interesting landscaping plants as well as attractive potted plants. We have half a dozen or so that were here when we arrived plus one or two we bought. Also, there is a superb Hosta Nursery nearby, Seabright Gardens. So we want to know more.

The Complete Jimmie Lunceford Decca Sessions – Mosaic Records 2011 collection, new – jazz, big band – love this stuff. This is the latest Mosaic set.

The Complete Atlantic Studio Recordings of The Modern Jazz Quartet 1956-64 – Mosaic Records 2010 collection, new – jazz – MJQ has always been a favorite, and I’ve seen them live several times. Mellow yet swinging, a sound I never get tired of. I already have some, but not all. of this music on other CDs, but it’s nice to have the complete Atlantic sessions. I’ve been listening to it for days.

The Classic Artie Shaw Bluebird and Victor Sessions – Mosaic Records 2010 collection, new – big band jazz – I have an embarrassingly small amount of Shaw’s band on CD, so this will get lots of play time.

The Mystery of Ireta by Anne McCaffrey [DelRey 2004 mass market paperback, new] – science fiction – this collects two novels, neither of which I’ve read, Dinosaur Planet and Dinosaur Survivors. I’ve been on a McCaffrey binge lately and when I saw this one discounted 20% at Borders I bought it.

Riding The Pulp Trail stories by Paul Powers, edited and with an introduction by Laurie Powers [Altus Press 2011 trade paper, new] – fiction, western, short stories – a brand new collection of western stories by Paul Powers, edited by Laurie who’s wonderful blog, Laurie’s Wild West has tons of good stuff including information about her grandfather and other books.

Sword of Fire and Sea by Erin Hoffman [Pyr Books, 2011 trade paper, new] – fantasy – this is the author’s first novel, but has received good reviews.

The Wild Garden (Expanded Edition) by William Robinson with Rick Darke [Timber Press 2009 hardcover, new] – gardening, reference – our lot here is half an acre, and we think we can keep the lower back portion fairly natural, so this, though a little on the academic side, will be a great resource.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, Jazz, Music, New Arrivals, reading, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New Arrivals, July 25 – 31, 2011

  1. Some interesting stuff here. The jazz looks good. As for the gardening, I have the proverbial black thumb. I like plants, but am absolutely ignorant about dealing with them( i once lost a potted cactus someone gave me), and, as for the fantasy, I’m somewhat ambivalent. Most of it, except for Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit(no other Tolkien) leaves me cold after a volume or two of a series.

  2. I almost forgot. The Powers book is on my list.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice. RIDING THE PULP TRAIL is a great title.

    I got in a couple of paperbacks from the Exchange:

    Cain’s Wife (originally CAIN’S WOMAN) by O. G. Benson, in the Perennial Library reprint, after reading Bill Crider’s review last week. And Kolymsky Heights by Lionel Davidson, which I found by clicking the ‘order more from this member’ button. I’ve never read Davidson and always meant to try one.

  4. Richard says:

    Randy, the Mosaic collections are pricey but excellent, they do a fine job of cleaning up old recordings when necessary. Most cactus die from overwatering. I’d say after Tolkein my favorite fantasy series is David Eddings’ first one, the Belgariad. I also like Fred Saberhagen’s Empire of the East, and it’s a single volume work.

    Jeff, lately when I check the exchange what I want isn’t there. I did just have a book from my wish list sent. I’ve not read any Davidson.

  5. I got a lot of reference type books at borders here when it closed too.

  6. Todd Mason says:

    Well, the magazines were 40% off…they were dumping the romances at 20% off, most of the books at 10 (though as a Borders “member” I get another 10% off). I swept the newsstands and picked up a few remainders.

    Of the Mosaics, I’m going to have to pick up the MJQ…I have most of them on vinyl, but only several on CD, and this is a good opportunity (almost all their best work was recorded for Atlantic, though it was past time when the Apple reissue program put out the two Apple albums on cd…and, of course, the Philips albums are fine, among others. I got to see the MJQ twice before the death of Connie Kay…they were good in front of an asinine audience at Wolf Trap, there to see Miles Davis’s latest dull fusion band, and they were better at WT some months later, having the Kronos Quartet open for them and playing with them at the end.

  7. Todd Mason says:

    Borders might be worth another visit. I was impressed by how many good items were overlooked, but I don’t have the most common tastes, I suspect (for example, multiple copies of THE STRAND magazine and ZOETROPE ALL-STORY, though I did buy the last copies of the current F&SF and THE PARIS REVIEW with the Samuel Delany and William Gibson interviews and the Jonathan Lethem piece).

  8. Richard says:

    I didn’t even go near the magazines… should have done that. I’ll be near it again Wednesday.

  9. Todd Mason says:

    I can sympathize here (about the MJQ Mosaic box)–it certainly shows on the original issues:
    Vibes are not the easiest instrument to capture on tape and the Modern Jazz Quartet’s considerable dynamic range doesn’t ease matters. So there are tracks with some peak distortion when an engineer got brave with levels and there are others with tape hiss when he became overly prudent.

    This bit saddens me:
    For reasons of size and repetition of repertoire, we have not included the live recordings from the spring 1960 European tour, released as European Concert and Dedicated to Connie, both of which are or have been available on CD. In 1965, the quartet recorded Jazz Dialogue, a studio album which revisited older material with big band backdrops. This was followed by a succession of live albums which, while excellent, introduced little new repertoire and broke no new ground. So the Porgy And Bess album seemed the logical stopping point.

    …since I don’t have EUROPEAN CONCERT on CD (I’m not sure DEDICATED TO CONNIE was ever on vinyl). I don’t think I’ve heard JAZZ DIALOGUE, yet, either.

  10. Richard says:

    Todd, I’ve not heard, and haven’t gotten to on the set yet, the Porgy and Bess album. I must have a dozen versions of it, vocal, instrumental, jazz, blues, show, classical, never tire of that music for some reason. Now don’t ask me to go through the albums and name them off for you, I don’t have THAT much time!

    Agree with you that it’s too bad some of the live stuff isn’t here, but in seeing them a couple of times, both times as solo acts in concert, I know that their live stuff doesn’t differ from the studio recordings; not as if they have hot new solos or go off in new directions much. I think I read somewhere (don’t you just love that as a lead in? Heh.) that there are similarities between the 10:41 “Conversations” on the THIRD STREAM MUSIC album, which is here on Disc IV, and the Jazz Dialogue. If so, it’s experimental, non-melodious stuff that may offer and interesting listening experience but isn’t likely to become an oft-enjoyed favorite.

  11. Richard says:

    I’ve not heard, and haven’t gotten to on the set yet, the Porgy and Bess album. I must have a dozen versions of it, vocal, instrumental, jazz, blues, show, classical, never tire of that music for some reason. Now don’t ask me to go through the albums and name them off for you, I don’t have THAT much time!

    Agree with you that it’s too bad some of the live stuff isn’t here, but in seeing them a couple of times, both times as solo acts in concert, I know that their live stuff doesn’t differ from the studio recordings; not as if they have hot new solos or go off in new directions much. I think I read somewhere (don’t you just love that as a lead in? Heh.) that there are similarities between the 10:41 “Conversations” on the THIRD STREAM MUSIC album, which is here on Disc IV, and the Jazz Dialogue. If so, it’s experimental, non-melodious stuff that may offer and interesting listening experience but isn’t likely to become an oft-enjoyed favorite.

    Rick ======

  12. Todd Mason says:

    Ah…but…my two favorite albums are THIRD STREAM MUSIC and THE LAST CONCERT, the latter being the first I ever heard, and they definitely took some interesting turns there…I’d say they did so on the EUROPEAN CONCERT/DEDICATED TO CONNIE tour, as well. (I love the experimental non-melodious stuff, too…in fact, the somewhat non-melodious and definitely experimental for its time Anthony Braxton at Arista box set is the second-most sexy Mosaic offer I saw on their website today.)

    The albums that they offer in this box are:
    Fontessa
    The Modern Jazz Quartet At Music Inn
    The Modern Jazz Quartet
    One Never Knows (aka No Sun In Venice, for which film they provide soundtrack music)
    The Modern Jazz Quartet At Music Inn Volume 2
    Pyramid
    Third Stream Music
    The Modern Jazz Quartet And Orchestra
    The Comedy
    Lonely Woman
    The Sheriff
    A Quartet Is A Quartet Is A Quartet
    an Alternate Takes set
    Collaboration (with Laurindo Almeida)
    and The Modern Jazz Quartet Plays George Gershwin’s Porgy And Bess

    …of which by me, the least I’ve heard is probably PYRAMID, which even with “Ain’t Got That Swing” sounds too tightly-laced (a typical complaint about the discography as a whole). The fave, as mentioned, is 3RD STREAM MUSIC, though I haven’t heard the paraphrase of Gertrude Stein album yet, nor PORGY AND BESS (possibly I have heard the latter, but haven’t owned it).

  13. Way to stimulate the economy, Rick! Our BORDERS are running sales, too. I picked up a couple Wodehouse novels I didn’t have, but most of the inventory is still not discounted enough to interest me. Maybe in a week or two…

  14. Patti Abbott says:

    If things go like it did with our Borders last spring, eventually they will offer 90% off. So if you are eying anything not likely to find a buyer, wait. Still makes me sad.

  15. Carl v. says:

    You did good, grabbed some interesting stuff but didn’t go hog-wild! Well done.

    I ended up going back again last Thurs. when fiction went up to 20% off (plus my additional 10% with the card) and bought a hard back copy of Songs of a Dying Earth (as I had given my copy away as a gift), Black Lung Captain (Chris Wooding’s sequel to Retribution Falls, which I am enjoying), and a 40% off copy of the most recent Artful Blogging magazine (a lovely magazine but way too expensive).

  16. Richard says:

    Patti, yes the books will have a larger discount, but the choices are more limited.

    George, my second, or was it third, trip was a bust, I walked out empty-handed.

    Carl, feels to me like I went hog-wild, but it’s all relative. I have a deadline after which I’l be buying little if anything (don’t ask, I’ll explain when the time comes) so I guess I’ve loosened up some. The Wife has less objections to the gardening books, which she reads too, as opposed to SF-F which she will not read.

Leave a Reply

