FFB – delayed until next week

Hey, faithful readers, I’m sorry to report another week of no Friday Forgotten Book. I had some things planned but, as they say, life got in the way. No, not to worry, everything is fine, I’m just quite busy. Then too I’ve gotten sidetracked by some books I’m now re-reading.

One of the commenters over at Carl Vincent’s Stainless Steel Droppings dropped by here recently and scrolled back through the posts to my bookcase pictures. Looking at them closely – or as closely as the blurry photographs would allow – she noticed some things she asked me about, specifically for cover scans. In doing that, and discussing the books with her, I decided to re-read one of them, which led me to re-reading all of the three of them, which led me to… well, you know how it goes.

So now I’ve embarked on re-reading all 16 of Anne McCaffrey’s Pern books. I’ll be doing a lengthy posting, broken up into several parts, for future Forgotten Book posts, hopefully beginning next week.

Not that McCaffrey’s books are really “forgotten”, but there are a lot of people who are unfamiliar with them, or only with a few of them, and besides, I really like them and am enjoying the reading project. So far I’ve read 3.5 books so there’s a long way to go. I’ll probably be doing three or four books per post, but can’t promise a post every week. First post will be next Friday, July 29. be here or be square.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to FFB – delayed until next week

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    I’ve never heard of her. I won’t be here next Friday to post the links. Todd may step in.

  2. Richard says:

    Patti, this re-reading is interfering with the read someone new plan we had.

  3. Wow, a Pern marathon. I should do that sometime. I’ve only ever read “white dragon”

  4. Todd Mason says:

    A bit like never having heard of Ngaio Marsh. But, then, the FFB exists for all of us who have never heard of Marsh or McCaffrey…and not of Bill Crider’s choice this week…or Janet Fox, probably the most neglected (and only dead) writer in the ones for whom I’m still thinking about what I need to write…I will set up links next week.

  5. Never been able to get into McCaffrey. Don’t know why. I have a friend, she loves everything the woman writes.

  6. I have a few signed McCaffreys. But the only McCaffrey I’ve read is THE SHIP WHO SANG.

  7. deslily says:

    There’s a smile on my face, can you see? lol.. the last time I reread any was maybe 2 yrs ago (maybe 3) for OUaT. I read the first Trilogy and the Harper Hall Trilogy. I know you are enjoying them again!!!

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    Phil has read four new writers and I am failing miserably. Nothing new.

  9. Richard says:

    Patti, my reading plan has shattered, but truth is I’m really enjoying the McCaffrey re-read, so it’s all good. I’ll get to those other authors one of these days.

    Deslily, After reading the Harper Hall books, I’m starting with the chronological order, with Dragondawn. It certainly is the book that makes the most of the science fictional elements (until the very late books) of the series, which I always insist is SF and not fantasy.

  10. Richard says:

    Randy, I guess she’s not for everyone, no writer is, but I’ve really liked the books since I read the first one.

    George, those signed copies may be worth some dough, if they are the hardcovers. Did you have her sign them yourself? When and where? I’d suggest you try a Pern book one of these days, perhaps my posts will encourage you.

Leave a Reply

