New Arrivals July 4 – 10, 2011

Just two things this week, which is just fine. I already had the first three of this series collecting Secret Agent X, and decided to get the next two. Whether I continue or not, I’ll decide after I read some more of them. The first three are limited edition hardcovers, but I decided to save some dough and get these in trade paperback; just makes sense. Volume 4 is from 2010, 5 is 2011, both from Altus Press.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, New Arrivals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to New Arrivals July 4 – 10, 2011

  1. I’m still a Secret X virgin.

  2. Patti abbott says:

    Just Kindle fare for me. Doesn’t seem the same at all.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice. I’m happy they don’t appeal to me, other than to look at them.

    I had a good week – I read three books and didn’t get a single new book in.

  4. Richard says:

    Charles, I have read just two stories, so I’m not much ahead of you.

    Patti, I agree. It’s not the same. So far I’m managing to live pretty comfortably without an e-reader.

    Jeff – well done, my friend, well done!

  5. Carl V. says:

    I always sound like a broken record, but I like these covers. I’m fond of this kind of art, so no surprise there.

    Two is great! I should do one of these posts, I’ve went a bit crazy with book buying over the past week or so. 🙂

  6. How many books are in the SECRET AGENT X series? Like Carl V., I really like those covers!

  7. Carl V. says:

    Well, you did it Richard. You made me feel the need to go to the confessional and post about my recent acquisitions. 🙂

  8. Richard says:

    Carl, I like it too, even if it is a little too heavy on the S&M stuff, the art itself is great. I’m looking forward to reading your post!

    George, there are 5 so far, they are planning to reprint them all, I don’t know how many volumes that will take.

  9. Evan Lewis says:

    How much you like the stories might depend on which author you’re reading. Most were written by Paul Chadwick and G.T. Fleming-Roberts. My favorite X writer is Emile C. Tepperman, whose first was Hand of Horror. He also wrote some of The Spider and Operator 5 adventures, and did some good stuff under his own name.

  10. Richard says:

    Evan, that’s true. They will no doubt get to the Tepperman stories eventually.

  11. Like Charles, I’ve not read any of the Secret Agent X stuff. Lord, there’s so much I want to read…

  12. Richard says:

    Me too, Randy, I just can’t seem to make much progress, what with all the great stuff that keeps coming to my attention. I read several hours every day, but seem like I’m gettin’ behinder.

  13. Stan says:

    Never read the books, but I have seen the serial with Lloyd Bridges, which was sort of cool

  14. Yvette says:

    As usual around here, I simply LOVE the cover art. Just gorgeous. I’m not, nor have I ever been, a reader of these things, but I’m beginning to think I might be missing something.

    But what with so much else to read…yadda, yadda, yadda. 🙂

  15. Richard says:

    Yvette, sometimes the covers are better than the stories, but most of the time they over-dramatize the scene, if it is in the story at all. But yes, I love this art too. There is a great book on pulp illustrator Norman Saunders, who was one of the very best, authored by his son David Saunders that would be well worth your time to look up. Absolutely tons of color cover art!

Leave a Reply

