Its Summer!

Yep, absolutely, it’s Summer here in Portland. The mercury just hit 90 (in the shade), easily the hottest day of the year. We’ve turned on the air conditioning, the first time since we moved here last Fall.

So enjoy a tall cool beverage, (I’m a lemonade guy, myself) and enjoy. This is what you longed for last winter, remember? Here’s a nice hot orange bloom for you all, from our garden.

Oriental Lily in the garden

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Its Summer!

  1. When Summer arrives, I rarely leave the A/C. That plant looks pretty, but it’s probably an assassin to my allergy system. I’m getting caught up on email (154 messages since my surgery). and reading now that my head is clear. PT tomorrow.

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We had the annual “winter or summer?” discussion yesterday and once again I voted for summer, hands down. You can always stay in the air conditioning, like George, but in winter (in the northeast) if there is snow and ice on the ground there is no escape (other than getting out of town).

    Glad you’re getting back to yourself, George.

  3. Carl V. says:

    Gorgeous flower!

    Wow, I wish I lived in a place where I could wait until July to turn on the air conditioning. We’ve had to have it on almost every day since May due at first to the humidity and then quickly after due to the heat.

  4. makes me feel like I need to be there. We’ve been trapped in our house by heat for a couple of months now.

  5. Richard says:

    George, glad you’re improving. Since we’;re gardeners, we lot being out in the yard. I’d hate to be restrained to the house all summer.

    Jeff, I always said the opposite in SoCal, you can always put on another sweater, but you can only take off so many clothes… but where it’s considerably colder, I don’t know. Never lived where there is snow and ice on t he ground for more than a day or two at a time.

    Carl, it’s the humidity that really gets me, and thankfully, when it wet here – rainy – it’s cool and when it’s hot the humidity is pretty low, yesterday it was under 30%.

    Charles, the heat in Texas this year has been awful!

Leave a Reply

