Happy Independence Day!

No New Arrivals
Nothing this week, not a thing. Aren’t you all proud of me? Yes, yes you are. Thank you.

Independence Day
There’s good news and not so good. Good: the weather is beautiful here and it promises to be an excellent July 4th.  Not so good: the next door neighbors, the ones who have a pool and love to party, are having a Fourth of July Party on Sunday, starting at 2:00 pm and continuing throughout the afternoon and evening, until Midnight when they will shoot off their fireworks. Midnight. Oh my achin’ ears. Good thing we have some ear plugs around here somewhere.

Anyway, here’s an image to put you in the holiday mood. Flags, Statue of Liberty, fireworks, what’s not to like about this one?

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Happy Independence Day!

  1. Nice image that reminds me of something I’ve wondered about. Haven’t been a regular reader of comics in years(got expensive way too fast). How did Nick Fury end up being black, both in comics and movies. I’m told the comic version was modeled after Samuel Jackson anyway, so the perfect actor for the movies.

  2. Richard says:

    Somebody at Marvel decided they had to “update” the character for a reboot of the title, always a bad idea, I think. This Steranko art has it right.

  3. chrislatray says:

    When Marvel launched their “Ultimate” universe, Nick Fury became the Samuel L-lookin’ version. The “regular” Marvel universe retained the original version of Nick Fury. I don’t know what the current state of affairs is, but the first two Ultimates collections are fantastic.

  4. Carl V. says:

    Happy Independence Day to you and your wife, Richard, and to all the rest of you as well. We’ve had a fairly steady barrage for several hours but it seems to have calmed down now. I imagine tomorrow night will be a war zone into the wee hours of the morning. That’s okay, I will be able to fall asleep when I need to.

    I did my part to take your place this week, buying 3 new books and 3 used books to add to my collection. Ah well, it had been a few weeks and I enjoyed the shopping.

  5. Evan Lewis says:

    Nice art. This looks more like a throwback to the old Howling Commandos covers than one of Steranko’s vintage pop-art SHiELDs.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    No new arrivals? Bravo! I only got one new thing (from the Exchange): Lester Dent’s Honey in His Mouth (the Hard Case Crime reprint).

    We had a few firecrackers go off last night but will undoubtedly have more today. One of the beauties of this quieter neighborhood is that – unlike where we used to live – it doesn’t sound like the Invasion of Baghdad on July 4th.

    Have a good one.

  7. I wouldn’t mind reading some Nick Fury

  8. Richard says:

    Unfortunately, the neighbors here really get into the whole pool party-barbeque-light ’em up thing. The music and popping began about 3:00 in the afternoon and was sporadic until 9:30 or so when it started to get dark. Then they and three other houses on the cul-de-sac at the end of our street swarmed to the pavement and it was, as Carl and Jeff describe it above, like a war zone. I haven’t heard the level of explosive blasts since I was in the Army, and that experience is one of the reasons I don’t much like July 4th. We were invited, but while Wife went out and watched, I was in bed with ear plugs and a pillow over my head, while the cats, terrified, were under that bed. It went on until 2:00 am. I expect more today. At least it blessedly quiet now.

  9. Cap'n Bob says:

    Call the cops.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    I am waiting for my William Gay book to arrive today. He is the new writer I have vowed to read this summer. Phil chose TO THE LIGHTHOUSE. He outclasses me every time.

  11. Richard says:

    Bob – that’s not a very good way to keep cordial relations with your neighbors!

    Patti – I still haven’t finalized my choice, and the summer is flowing past. Must make up my mind.

  12. chrislatray says:

    I don’t know, Patti. William Gay is pretty great. You may be surprised.

  13. I’m a big fan of Steranko’s run on S.H.I.E.L.D. and have read it several times. Never read any of the Ultimates line, but I keep hearing good things about it.

    There were some fireworks around here, but less than usual, which is good since the whole state is so dry right now.

  14. Richard says:

    I read the first Ultimates collection and enjoyed it, but they did decided to make a number of changes to the tried-and-true characters we’re used to.

  15. chrislatray says:

    Yeah, if you’re not willing to accept some tweaking of what you may be accustomed to character-wise, you may not care for the Ultimates. But if you don’t mind a little experimentation — it’s great stuff. The first two runs, anyway. By the third it went off the rails story and art-wise. And everything since . . . not my thing.

    The 4th was a nightmare here. New neighbors or something. Had to sit up with the dogs until 1 AM. Almost got to the point where I was going to boot up and go looking for fisticuffs, but didn’t. It’s been quiet since, though, which I’m thankful for. I suspect other neighbors must have raised a fuss, because usually the 4th provides 2 or 3 nights of mayhem around here.

  16. Richard says:

    As I said, Chris, I’ve only seen the first collection. The good thing is the neighbors came the morning of the 4th and told us they were having a pool party and fireworks shoot, we were invited, they told us they wouldn’t be setting he stuff off until around Midnight, so we were prepared. In the situation you describe, by 11pm I would have gone and told them to shut it down or the cops will be called.

Leave a Reply

