New Arrivals, June 20 – 26, 2011

The excesses of last week are past. This time I have just three things, two of them the result of a post by Evan Lewis [ HERE ] and a book that has been on pre-order. That’s a change for the better, isn’t it? Yes, of course it is. Here are the covers, you know the drill.

And Sudden Death by Cleve Adams [Crestwood Publishing, Prize Mystery Novels #5, 1942 digest-sized paperback, used] – mystery – an astoundingly good copy of this second of Adams’ novels, which originally appeared as Homicide Honolulu Bound.

The End of Everything by Megan Abbott [Little, Brown, 2011 hardcover, new] – mystery – I’ve had this on pre-order for some time, it came on the day the book was published. I’d read an excerpt and was hooked.

Sabotage by Cleve Adams [Penguin 1944 mass market paperback (2nd printing), used] – mystery – a very good copy of this 67 year old Penguin paperback, the first Adams novel featuring Rex McBride.

A note on the Rose City Book Fair, held Friday and Saturday, June 24-25. I didn’t buy a single book! As a matter of fact, I didn’t even go. So there.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to New Arrivals, June 20 – 26, 2011

  1. A good looking trio

  2. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That first Adams book does look amazingly good, especially considering it is 70 years old.

    Only two books last week, the previously mentioned Full Share by Nathan Lowell, and a trade pb of The Illuminatus! Trilogy.

    I also got the CD of the music from season 1 of HBO’s Treme, which you’d probably enjoy.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:
  4. Richard says:

    I’m reading Half Share now, will finish it today and move directly to Full Share. As others have said, Half Share is not as good as Quarter Share, I think Lowell got sidetracked with one of this themes, but still entertaining.

  5. Carl V. says:

    Oh I don’t know, I kind of like seeing someone bring more books into the house than I do. Gives me an excuse to buy more. I can justify it by saying, “At least I didn’t get as many books as Richard this week!” 🙂

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    Hey, I got the music from TREME too. It’s better on the show though. I need the visuals.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, I realize it’s advertised as a “soundtrack” and that’s accurate, but my inlcination is to consider it “music from the film” instead. Why? Because it’s an assemblage of songs performed by various artists rather than an original soundtrack composed for the film (in this case the series) such as Howard Shore did for the Lord of the Rings films. Nice to Hear Dr. John, though.

    Sorry Carl, get used to it, my goal is to have even less next time. I need to READ MY BOOKS, not add more. Really.

    Patti, in this case I understand that perfectly, since… well, see my comment to Jeff, above.

  8. Carl V. says:

    I wish you the best of luck with that goal, Richard. If you don’t slow down you are going to be needing to make furniture out of your books so that you have some place to put them.

  9. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Dr. John was on the show (as himself of course) the last two weeks, playing with some real all-stars. Jackie gets annoyed when they don’t do the entire song on the show (sometimes they do) but I still love the feel of it. It helps that we know a lot of the places they film – for example Rock ‘n’ Bowl this week.

  10. Carl V. says:

    I was thinking about your “read my books” goal when I went home for lunch and decided I wanted to count the books in my house that I have, have not yet read, but still want to read. Upstairs I found 35. And I don’t have a great deal of my books stored upstairs. That number is going to climb significantly when I get a chance to go count what is downstairs.

  11. Evan Lewis says:

    The dealers at the book fair went away poorer for your absence. But you probably benefited by staying away. You’d have been hard-pressed to resist hauling home a BIG stack.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    35? The sound you hear is hollow laughter. I have 35 unread books on one shelf.

    Although I am proud of one bookcase in the hall where I have read nearly every book. Of course, that doesn’t count the wall o’books here in the den… .

  13. Carl V. says:

    I went ahead and scoured the basement and, give or take a few books (mostly likely give) I have about 220 unread books in my house that I still, when looking at them, believe I want to read them.
    At my average yearly reading pace that would be anywhere from 3-5 years worth of reading if all I did was read those books.

    Probably just a drop in the bucket compared to you guys, but I only started really keeping and holding on to books these past couple of decades and even at that I weeded out about 200 books to sell back when I first started my debt elimination plan about 3 years ago. They’ve really begun piling up in earnest over these last 3-4 years. Hate to think of where I’ll be if I don’t start making a concerted effort to at least read SOME of these.

  14. Richard says:

    Carl – I can’t imagine what my number of unread but want to books would be. I could manipulate the catalog files and then do numbering, but that would take longer than it’s worth to me. I think a % would be a better indicator. It appears, at a rough estimate, that about a quarter of my SF-F books, and about a third of the mystery fiction are unread, excluding multiple author anthologies or collections. The unread general fiction and non-fiction would be a much lower number.

    Jeff, I’ll bet your unread is similar or slightly less than mine, but I could be way off.

  15. Carl V. says:

    Looking at the pictures of your bookshelves I have no doubt that my number is insignificant in comparison. But for both of us is good reason to make some proactive effort to read what we have and slow the tide of incoming books.

  16. Richard says:

    I doubt “insignificant” should be applied to your – or any – books, Carl, but you are correct, reading what’s in hand (this was my New Year’s Resolution, if you recall) makes a lot of sense.

  17. Carl V. says:

    It was mine too! Out of the 28 books I have completed thus far, only 5 are from my TBR pile. 12 are new purchases. The rest were gifts, re-reads, and library books.

  18. J F Norris says:

    Well, Rick I admire your self-control in avoiding the Rose City Book Fair. Two weeks ago I wanted to go to a book sale that helps fund one of the many AAUW organiziaotn around here. But it entailed taking a 45 mintue train trip and paying an admission price for the first day’s privilege so I skipped it. But just yesterday I went to a book store in the Loop that I hadn’t been to in a over a year and I spent $30 on a small pile of vintage science fiction paperbacks – nearly all of them mentioned in the FFB posts this year or by writers who have intrigued me for a years. One day I have self-control and a few weeks later I’m falling off the wagon. Maybe I really do need a 12 Step program as many of my friends keep joking.

Leave a Reply

