New Arrivals June 6 – 12, 2011

“Having read a review…” I wonder how many of the listings in my New Arrivals posts contain those words? Many, I’m sure. I’m in cut back mode, as regular readers will know, but there is a thin trickle. Old orders, preorders, absolute must buys. I’m not in a monastery yet.

The House on the Point by Benjamin Hoff [St. Martins 2002 hardcover with demi-jacket, used] – mystery – as it says on the half jacket, really a bit of heavy paper folded over the cloth cover, this is a tribute to Franklin W. Dixon and the Hardy Boys. Dixon was, of course, a house name in accordance with the customs of the Stratemeyer Syndicate which used ghost writers for it’s various series including the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew. Here, Hoff has rewritten The House on the Cliff for the more grown up reader. The reviews sounded good and I loved then and still enjoy now the Hardy Boys books. I have two versions of The House on the Cliff, which this one rewrites, the original and the mid-1950s rewrite. I’m about half way through and so far have a mixed reaction. Review soon.

Triple Jeopardy by Rex Stout [Bantam Books 1977 mass market paperback, used] – mystery – three Nero Wolfe novellas: Home to Roost, The Cop-Killer and The Squirt and the Monkey – Having intended to read some Wolfe, and after reading the Marvin Kaye edited Nero Wolfe Files my interest in reading the Wolfe canon has been rekindled. I have a little more than three quarters of the books,  so I found this to add to the shelf. Possibly more to come.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, mystery, New Arrivals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals June 6 – 12, 2011

  1. I have a paperback of the stout. I’ve read about half the Nero Wolfs and have about ten i haven’t read. You know the drill, just too many books and not enough time.

  2. I read the whole Nero Wolfe series over a couple of years. I know Art Scott and Steve Stilwell have read all the books 50 times each (and continue to reread the Nero Wolfe series). I consider THE GOLDEN SPIDERS my favorite book in the Nero Wolfe Saga.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I got a couple of things last week: another BURN NOTICE tie-in book and TOMORROW AND TOMORROW, an early sf book by “Hunt Collins” (Evan Hunter) that (see your comment above) Bill Crider reviewed on his blog last week.

    And now I discover that Nathan Lowell’s FULL SHARE is available in paperback… .

  4. Carl V. says:

    Glad to see a more modest new arrivals given the state of your book-to-bookshelf space situation. 🙂

    My package arrived. LOVE IT!!! Thank you so very, very much for your generosity, I do appreciate it.

  5. Never read a Nero Wolfe book. I should.

  6. Richard says:

    Randy, there are more than 10 I haven’t read, but there haven’t been any I haven’t enjoyed, though naturally I have liked some more than others. It amazes me that there has never been a complete, uniform set of the Wolfe books!

    George, will you ever reread them, do you think? I can see doing so, my memory isn’t strong for mystery plots, though I’d no doubt remember some things, and the dialogue would be worth rereading regardless.

  7. Richard says:

    Jeff, the title Tomorrow and Tomorrow sure sounds familiar, but I wouldn’t have guessed the author so I guess it’s not. Yes, I just found out about Full Share when I read Randy’s blog this morning. I’ve ordered it.

    Carl, I hope it came through in good condition, I didn’t have a box so used the double envelopes. I know Vess is a favorite of yours.

    Charles, yep, you should.

  8. J F Norris says:

    There is a complete uniform set of the Wolfe books. In fact there are three – but they’re all in paperback. I guess you mean some sort of hardcover uniform reissue library?

    I do more selling of Rex Stout than reading. Although I am going to attempt to read all the non-Wolfe detective and crime novels Stout wrote. I’m starting with ALPHABET HICKS later this week, then I have THE MOUNTAIN CAT lined up and I’ll wind up with the three Tecumseh Fox mysteries. If I do well I’ll even try the Wolfe spin-off HAND IN GLOVE which features his female operative Dol Banner as the detective. I have only managed to finish three Nero Wolfe books in my life. I wonder how I’ll fare with Stout’s other books. Wish me luck.

  9. Richard says:

    J.F. – I’ll be in touch, there are some Wolfe books I still need (in paperback!). I meant a complete set of Wolfe, paperback would be fine. I know a few publishers have done runs, but not all the books, or at least that was my impression. I have a bunch of the Bantam editions.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    I read about every Nero Wolfe once upon a time. Enjoyed them all. He and Archie had one of those great relationships. Oh, good blog topic.

  11. I doubt if I’ll reread the Nero Wolfe series, Rick. I reread three or four books a year, at most. There are just too many new books coming out (including ebooks!) and I have thousands of books waiting to be read in my basement.

  12. Richard says:

    Patti, you’re right, and that’s one of the best parts. Yep, good blog topic.

    George, so does that mean you might be willing to part with a few, if I give you a “want list”?

  13. Sure, I’d be happy to send some books your way. Email your want list to me.

Leave a Reply

