New Arrivals May 30 – June 5

As I sat in the living room gazing at the new bookcases filled to overflowing and swore “no new books!” two arrived on May 31 and June 1. Both pre-orders, and I’m glad to have them, but oh my this has got to stop. And so it will, but not without a few last gasps and undoubtedly a small trickle now and then of things I just have to have. You know how it is. Here are the goods:

The Damned Busters by Matthew Hughes [Angry Robot Books 2011 mass market paperback, new] – fantasy – just out, this tells the tale of a man who accidently summons a demon, then refuses to sell his soul, which leads to some confusions to, well, Hell going on strike. This means nothing bad ever happens in the world, which turns out to be a really bad thing. This is supposedly book 1 of a saga, but reviews tell me it can be read as a stand alone. Can hardly wait.

Fuzzy Nation by John Scalzi [Tor, 2011 hardcover, new] – science fiction – billed as a “reboot” of H. Beam Piper’s 1960’s era novel Little Fuzzy (and perhaps it’s sequel), Scalzi puts his Touch on a wonderful story I read way back when. This should be a good one!

Vanentino: Film Detective by Loren Estleman [Crippen & Landru, 2011 hardcover, new] – mystery-crime short story collection – the latest of C&L’s books, all of them wonderful.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books, fantasy, mystery, New Arrivals, science fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals May 30 – June 5

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    The Estleman looks pretty good. Does the world need a reboot of Little Fuzzy? I’m not so sure. What was wrong with the original?

    P.S. Which three books are being relegated to boxes to make room for these? I think that should become a regular feature of New Arrivals.

  2. Cap'n Bob says:

    The Evan Lewis Home For Wayward Books would be the perfect charity for those books you dispose of.

  3. Fence says:

    The Damned Busters sounds interesting. And Carl has just reviewed the Scalzi book which makes me want to read it as well. But I am also on a “no new book” kick, unless I can get them on the kindle, cause then they take up no room 🙂

  4. They all look good. Can confirm how good FUZZY NATION is. Evan, don’t be so quick to dismiss it. Nothing was wrong with the original, something Scalzi is quick to point out AND point people toward the Piper books. The fact that he loved Piper’s work is how this book ended up.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I’m two stories from the end of the Estleman. I’d read some before (“Greed” stands out in my memory) but not all, and I’m really enjoying them.

    I’ve been vacillating over whether or not to try the Little Fuzzy, as I do like Scalzi.

    One new arrival last week: Calder Willingham’s Eternal Fire – got it after reading Bill Crider’s review.

  6. Todd Mason says:

    Yes. We can quit at any time. I don’t need more b-b-b-b-b…

    I gotta have a fix. Now.

  7. I’m reading THE DAMN BUSTERS by Matthew Hughes right now. Review to follow soon. Jack Vance fans should read Matthew Hughes. He’s the writer who channels Vance’s style.

  8. Richard says:

    As I read through the comments, I had several responses, but someone else said it in their comment, so all I can say now is to repeat. Original Fuzzy is just fine, the new one is a retake, from a more current perspective but in no way intended to take the place of the H. Beam Piper book(s). As Randy said.

    The Scalzi is already on the shelf, it made it under the wire for that new “rule” Damn Busters is a mass market paperback and there is room for it in the lower level library. The Estleman may require a pull of something else, which will go into the overstock box(s), or it may be the book which goes there, after I read it I’ll know. Meanwhile, I guess TBR has taken on an additional meaning. And, the Hoff book that came Saturday didn’t make it this time because I hadn’t cleaned up the cover yet, for scanning.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    If you like Eternal Fire, Jeff, try RAMBLING ROSE-my favorite.
    All these look good, Rick. I hadn’t heard about the Estleman. He is a consistently fine writer.

  10. J F Norris says:

    Todd is so right about “gotta have my fix.” Oh, how I know the “I gotta stop” mantra. It just doesn’t happen. Printer’s Row Book Fair was last weekend. I came home with 15 books and one lone dollar in my wallet. (I won’t tell you how much money I left with.) I found such amazing stuff and, for the most part, also in amazing condition. My haul included one specatacular find. I’ll be posting a bit with photos later tonight. Have to scan some of them and can’t do that until I get home.

  11. Richard says:

    Patti, always glad to have alerted someone to a potential book they’d enjoy.

    J.F. – That’s a surefire lure if I ever read one, I’ll be haunting (no pun, or maybe it is) your blog until the goods appear. As for not buying any more books… it seems like a necessary thing, but I’ll not go overboard about it. I have a half dozen books on pre-order which I have no intention of canceling, there is always the very good Multnomah County library system, plus interloan for many things, and beyond that, well, once in a while isn’t too bad. It just means I may have to pull a book off the shelf and put it in a box downstairs, where it will be less accessible, harder to find, less likely to be read.

  12. Redhead says:

    The Scalzi looks fun, and Damned Busters was hilarious. by the way, scrolling down your blog, I am insanely jealous of your wall of bookshelves!

    and you know, nature abhors a vacuum like bibliophiles abhor an empty bookshelf. Or even a full bookshelf that’s got just enough room to cram three (or four! or five!) more books on.

  13. Richard says:

    Redhead – true enough, and believe me, there is no lack of other books here to fill those narrow slots for growth. But 20 or so large cartons of books are going into a storage room, now designated as Overstock, and there will be more coming…

Leave a Reply

