New Arrivals May 16-29, 2011

I had a couple of things last week but was too busy with other posts to do a New Arrivals on Monday, so here is an extra week’s worth. The first, third and fourth books came a week or more ago, the rest this last week. Lots of Edward Marston. See my review of the first in the series (these are the next 6) here.

Black Gate # 15 – Spring 2011 – quarterly fantasy periodical – I subscribe to this, one of several magazines on the market that publish original short fantasy fiction along with book and film reviews and opinion pieces. Quality varies, but it’s usually worth the read.

Dangerous Ways by Jack Vance [Subterranean Press, 2011 hardcover, new] – mystery / crime fiction – this volume collects three of Vance’s crime novels: the Edgar Award-winning The Man in the Cage, the unforgettable hider-in-the-house thriller Bad Ronald, and the exotic South Seas murderfest The Deadly Isles.

Hunt the Space Witch by Robert Silverberg [Planet Stories 2011 trade paper, new] – early science fiction stories – this is a collection of Silverberg’s early, 1950s era stories, published in digests of the time. Kind of pulpy stuff and somewhat predictable, but fun.

The Kiss-Off by Douglas Heyes [Signet 1951 mass market paperback, used] – mystery fiction – bought as a result of a Friday Forgotten Book post somewhere, sometime, it arrived and I’ll get to it one of these days.

books two through seven in the Railway Detective series by Edward Marston:

# 2 – The Excursion Train (2005)
# 3 – 
The Railway Viaduct
(2006)
# 4 – The Iron Horse (2008)
# 5 – Murder on the Brighton Express (2008)
# 6 – The Silver Locomotive Mystery (2009)
# 7 – Railway to the Grave (2010)
all published by  Allison and Busby in trade paperback edition, all bought new.

Spider Pulp Double # 19: The Slaves of the Dragon and The Spider and his Hobo Army as by Grant Stockbridge, originally published May 1936 and November 1940 [Girasol Collectables 2011 oversized trade paper, new] – these come out several times a year and I subscribe to the series, this is the latest. The contents are not published in chronological order, the publisher picks what he believes to be the better stories. I’m quite a ways behind on these so it will be a while before I get to this one.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in New Arrivals, Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals May 16-29, 2011

  1. Plenty of good reading here! I really enjoyed rereading Jack Vance’s mysteries in DANGEROUS WAYS. I’m way behind on the SPIDER reading, too.

  2. Richard says:

    I’m so frustrated about the bookcases and shelving things (post tomorrow) that new books don’t seem like a good idea any more.

  3. Richard says:

    George, you must have gotten the Silverberg by now. I finished Excursion Train yesterday, and while it was good, I’d figured out who did what and why halfway through.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice. I especially like the retro look on the Marston books. I like when a publisher issues a series in a similar format with covers that go together.

    I’ve picked up a lot of books lately, mostly through the Paperback Exchange: 6 of James Reasoner’s Longarm books (as by Tabor Evans), Kristine Kathryn Rusch’s EXTREMES (second in the Retrieval Artist series), Wodehouse’s THE CODE OF THE WOOSTERS, the first two Monk paperback originals by Lee Goldberg (Mr. Monk Goes to the Firehouse and …to Hawaii), two more I, Spy books by “John Tiger” (Walter Wager), MASTERSTROKE and COUNTERTRAP, and James McKimmey’s SQUEEZE PLAY.

    The one new book I got (and I’m halfway through it) is the latest from Crippen & Landru, which you should have by now, VALENTINO: DETECTIVE by Loren D. Estleman.

    What with library books things are starting to pile up here again.

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Oops – of course the title should be VALENTINO: FILM DETECTIVE.

  6. Richard says:

    Good stuff, Jeff, but please don’t say “pile up” to loudly, I’m a little sensitive to that phrase just now.

  7. The Spider looks good. I have a lot of Spiders in various editions over the years, but none of that series.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    I will be buying no new books until I get to some of the nearly 75 I bought when our Borders went under. Well, maybe in Columbus in two weeks. I hear they have some cool bookstores.

  9. Drongo says:

    That Silverberg book has both a great title and cover.

  10. Charles Gramlich says:

    I want that “hunt the space witch.” Silverberg in those days was awesome.

  11. Richard says:

    JeffValentino came today. It will be in next week’s New Arrivals, perhaps the only thing.

    Patti, I hear you, believe me. A new book came in the mail today and when Wife brought it from the mail box I saw it and said “Oh, no.” That’s a new reaction for me.

    Charles, Drongo, the Silverberg is good so far, I’ve finished one story and started the second.

Leave a Reply

