New Arrivals, May 2-8, 2011

Eight things this time, half of them bought based on reviews or blog posts I read. Man, reading blogs is killing the budget. Then three books are from Black Dog Books, and the flyer in the box shows more irresistible things coming by the end of Summer. Dang, Tom Roberts is trying to bankrupt me. The other thing you’ll see three of is something completely new to me, the Longarm books. Author, blogger and gentleman James Reasoner has written many of them, and upon seeing a list of those, I decided to try some and bought the three you see here.

I read 2 books this last week, and got 8 in, so I’m minus 6 for the week. Let’s see, that would be 312 more books bought than read, in a year. Either I have to buy less or learn to read faster. Maybe both. Here are the goods. Click the image to see it larger, if you dare.

Barney’s Version by Mordecai Richler [Vintage 2010 trade paper, new] – fiction,  literature/mystery – When Kevin Burton Smith (who is guilty of running the Thrilling Detective Website and blog) says a book is very good, I take notice. When he says

“What I really want to say is that Barney’s Version is by far the best book I’ve ever read. It’s got everything in it. Tears. Laughter. Murder. Family. Children. Bars. Honour. Love. Montreal.”

I leap for the car keys and race to the book store. So here it is, new to the house and waiting to be read. I see it has pushed the other books from the TBR pile, not gently, and is now whispering threats to read me NOW. Or maybe those threats are coming from Lancaster or wherever the hell it is Smith lives, out in the California high desert. Regardless, I’ll pay attention and read this one soon.

The Green Spider and Other Forgotten Tales of Mystery and Suspense by Sax Rohmer [Black Dog Books 2011 trade paper, new] – fiction, mystery – adventure – I have several volumes of stories by Rohmer and am always glad to add to them. These 13 tales have been out of print for a long time, and 4 of them have never been published in the U.S.

King Corrigan’s Treasure by H.D. Couzens [Black Dog Books 2011 trade paper, new] – fiction, pulp adventure – these 7 stories plus introduction should be just the ticket for enjoying with a tall glass of lemonade on a warn Summer afternoon (when we finally have one of those, it’s been a chilly, wet year so far).

Longarm and the Bloody Relic by Tabor Evans [Jove 2011 paperback, new]
Longarm and the Pine Box Payoff  by Tabor Evans [Jove 2008 paperback, used
Longarm and the Scarlet Rider by Tabor Evans [Jove 2011 paperback, new]
There are the three Longarm books I bought (see opening paragraph), all written, I believe, by James Reason under the series penname of Tabor Evans. I don’t even know what the formula for these is, but I’m sure as I read them I’ll figure it out.

Windy City Pulp Stories # 11 edited and compiled by Tom Roberts [Black Dog Books, 2011 trade paper, new] – non-fiction – The 2011 Windy City Pulp Con celebrated the 80th anniversary of Popular Publications. This is an interesting mix of material about that company and it’s publications that I couldn’t resist.

Zorro by Isabel Allende [Harper Perennial 2006 trade paper, new] note: originally published in the U.S. by Harper Collins in 2005, translated from the Spanish by Margaret Sayers Peden – historical fiction – I recently read Tales of Zorro, edited by Richard Dean Starr and it was great. (Look for a review here soon) In it, there was mention of this book and I decided to buy it. Zorro is a fascinating character.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Arrivals, May 2-8, 2011

  1. Evan Lewis says:

    Those Black Dog books all look great.

    I enjoyed Tales of Zorro and the Allende book (and have More Tales of Zorro on order), but nobody writes him better than Johnston McCulley. The novel that introduced him is usually marketed as The Mark of Zorro. I also have the complete Disney series on tape (colorized), if your interest gets that deep.

  2. I’m going to have to order THE GREEN SPIDER. I’m going to have to send you one of my favorite mugs with the inscription: BUDGETS ARE FOR WIMPS!

  3. Ron Scheer says:

    Just saw a trailer for BARNEY’S VERSION. Looks excellent. I hadn’t heard much of Mordecai Richler since THE APPRENTICESHIP OF DUDDY KRAVITZ, which shows what I know.

  4. Patti Abbott says:

    Richler is very good and the book was much better than the movie.

  5. I have two of the Longarms in my new arrivals(read one of them), and the Allende Zorro I read a few years back. The Green Spider and Pulp Stories look good as well.

  6. Fence says:

    I’ve been meaning to read Allende’s Zorro for years now. Have heard lots of good things about it.

  7. Richard says:

    Evan – I read an excerpt of the original Johnston McCulley story “The Curse of Capistrano” somewhere or other a few years ago. Maybe I should get the McCulley “novel” (really a novelette, right?) at the library. Of course I have seen the films with the exception of “Gay Blade”, which looked too camp to bother with, and I loved the Disney television series though at that age I don’t know what I liked about it exactly. It would be fun to see it again. I admit I’m really getting into this Zorro thing, but then something else will undoubtedly catch my fancy…

  8. Richard says:

    George – the mug I have on my desk says MEETINGS. The practical alternative to work. I find it both amusing and true. I don’t need any more mugs! It’s the thought that counts. Be sure and tell Tom Roberts at Black Dog Books that Richard at the Broken Bullhorn sent you.

  9. Richard says:

    Ron – this one was new to me.

    Patti – I won’t bother with the film, but I do plan on reading the book. Thanks for chiming in, I value your recommendations.

  10. Richard says:

    Randy – I’ve never read a Longarm, so it will be a new experience. The Pulp Stories is a real mixed bag. I guess they have been doing these every year, I just wasn’t aware of it.

    Fence – then we’re in the same boat, except I haven’t known about the book for as long.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    That’s what I keep telling Jackie when she complains about her piles of books: Read Faster!

    I ended up taking four books to New Orleans and reading all four! Also read an EQMM and the latest Deadly Pleasures. The books read included THE SPACE MERCHANTS and James White’s STAR HEALER, by the way. (THE SPACE MERCHANTS was the only book in got in last week. Since then I’ve received James Reasoner’s DUST DEVILS.)

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We recently saw the movie version of BARNEY’S VERSION with Paul Giamatti (who can almost do no wrong) and Dustin Hoffman (as his father!) so I might look for the book too. And I have a list of the Longarm books James Reasoner wrote and was planning on ordering a few from PaperbackSwap.com to see if I like them.

Leave a Reply

