New Arrivals April 25 – May 1, 2011

Things are settling down a bit here, and I’ve been reading a lot of short stories (see previous post). This week just a few things trickled in, one I had on pre-order, the other two items of interest after reading reviews.

Best Dr. Poggioli Detective Stories by T.S. Stribling [Dover Publications 1975 trade paper, used] – mystery-crime-medical detection – I have in hand the more recent collection of Poggioli stories from Crippen & Landru, but after reading an article on the stories of Stribling in CADS I decided to hunt up this collection of 15 stories as well. Dr.Poggioli is usually considered to be the first forensic detective.

The Universe Wreckers – The Collected Edmond Hamilton Volume Three by Edmond Hamilton [Haffner Press 2011 hardcover, new] – science fiction – the handsome Haffner Press collections of Hamilton’s early science fiction, continues with this volume of stories from the late 1920s and early 1930s,. I haven’t read the first two volumes yet, but they’re on the shelf and of course I had to have this one too.

The Railway Detective by Edward Marston [Allison & Busby 2008 trade paper, new] – mystery fiction – I like Marston’s both of other series so decided to try this one, featuring Victorian period railway Detective Inspector Colbeck. This is the first in the series.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to New Arrivals April 25 – May 1, 2011

  1. I love Haffner Press books! I have all the Edmond Hamilton and Leigh Brackett collections on order. Plenty of good reading here!

  2. Richard says:

    George – absolutely right. The books themselves are very nicely done, and the contents are great too.

  3. I’m just getting ready to start on volume 1 of the Edmond Hamilton stuff.

  4. Richard says:

    Charles – be sure to let us know how you like it, won’t you, please?

  5. Jeff Meyerson says:

    I had the Poggioli, along with a lot of the other Dover titles, back when they first came out. After reading them I got rid of most of them. I had the Marston from the library but returned it before I got to it, so let us know how you like it (if you get to it).

    This week I got Lori G. Armstrong’s first paperback original, BLOOD TIES, since I liked her newer series. Both are set in South Dakota. Also got KILL YOUR DARLINGS, fourth of the Max Allan Collins series about Mallory. (I believe you reviewed this one recently. As mentioned, I’ve read them already.)

    Lastly I got a paperback of a book I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never read, Pohl & Kornbluth’s THE SPACE MERCHANTS.

    All were from PaperbackSwap.com.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    I just finished CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER, which I greatly enjoyed. Reading THE PARIS WIFE–not enjoying it much. Historical fiction always troubles me.

  7. The Marston and Hamilton look interesting. I’ve been thinking about Hamilton’s two volumes of Captain Future titles(i have some of the old paperbacks), but the forty dollar price tag has slowed me a bit. A lot when I could divide that up for a number of other things. Still on my mind though.

  8. Richard says:

    Jeff – I’ll get to them all – – – eventually.

    Patti – that’s an interesting statement about historical fiction. I wonder what it is you find disturbing? Usually I either find it very interesting and somewhat instructive in a learn about it sense, or boring and stop reading. I have not read Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.

  9. Richard says:

    Randy – I haven’t read any of the Captain Future books, and with a budget to consider decided to go for the Hamilton collections instead. How are those CF stories?

  10. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Crooked Letter was another I had to return to the library when I ran out of time. Now that we’re leaving for New Orleans on Wednesday I’ve returned everything I had, read and unread.

    The question was: what to take to read on the plane trips. (I doubt I’ll read more than a short story a day while we’re there.) The paperbacks I have are by Lawrence Block (his first book, MONA), Donald Hamilton (the next Matt Helm), Ross Macdonald (THE DOOMSTERS), Jon Talton, James White and Lori G. Armstrong, which I’ve started and will probably take to read on the plane. I’m also taking a couple of EQMMs.

    I prefer to take shorter books (except for the Armstrong) on these trips. I know it’s only a week but I don’t know what will strike my fancy.

  11. Richard says:

    Jeff – I’m surprised you had so many, and that you didn’t renew at least one of them… If it were me, I’d take the Ross MacDonald or James White.

  12. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Since they are paperbacks I’m taking all of them. Actually I finished most of the books I had other than two newish ones that I couldn’t renew because someone else had them on hold.

  13. Richard says:

    Jeff – Ah. Well, enjoy the books and the trip, I hope you have good weather while in the big easy. I’ll miss reading your report in DAPA. Enjoy the crayfish pie and sugared bengats or whatever they are called…

  14. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Beignets. No crawfish pie for me. Shrimp po’boys, blackened catfish, biscuits, jambalaya….

    I forgot one more book: THE SPACE MERCHANTS.

  15. Carl V. says:

    I really like the cover design for The Railway Detective, that is very nice!

  16. Richard says:

    Jeff – I’d skip all that but the biscuits, I guess, I’m not much of a one for seafood, which is too bad because there is a lot of it here, very good, I’m told. But I would try to get me some barbeque and some fried chicken. And the biscuits with gravy. I’d be interested to know what you think of Space Merchants, I liked it when I read it 30 years ago, or was that 40 years ago…

    Carl – yes, nice cover, it’s the warm tones that make it appealing, I think.

  17. I’m glad to hear about the Hamilton collections. James Reasoner turned me on to THE SUN SMASHER and I’ve been reading him every since.

  18. Richard says:

    David – I haven’t gotten to them yet, the first two have slipped into hiding, I can’t find them, but then the hardcover books are mostly all packed awaiting the next set of bookshelves, scheduled to go up in about 3 weeks (I sure hope!). I’m keeping a close eye on the latest one, but you know, books do things in the night…

Leave a Reply

