New Arrivals – April 11-24, 2011

I skipped a week or two here, both because I was busy and because less is coming in, which is fine, I have been reading (!) instead of shopping. So here’s the goods, but a word first: I love Black Dog Books! Tom Roberts does a fantastic job with the selection, layout, publishing, it’s excellent, flat excellent. There are 4 books from Black Dog listed below. As always, click to enlarge.

The Best of Adventure Volume 1: 1910-1912 selected and with an introduction by Doug Ellis [Black Dog Books, 2010 trade paper, new] – pulp adventure fiction – When this came out, I was pretty sure I wanted it, but dawdled until I happened to see that it was nominated for the 2010 Book of the Year Awards in the Anthology category (my congratulations to Tom and Doug) and that pulled me out of my lethargy. I can’t wait to get to it.

Doubleday Crime Club Compendium by Ellen Nehr [Offspring Press, 1992 oversized hard cover, used copy, signed] – mystery fiction reference – Blame it on J.F. (John) Norris. His blog, Pretty Sinister Books has been the culprit in several hits to the budget these last months, since he began contributing to Friday Forgotten Books at Pattinase the blog of Patricia (Patti) Abbott. This is one of the more expensive items, a massive 682-page book listing, in alpha order by author, every crime club books published 1928 through 1991 plus the radio show. The cover section is worth the price alone. I was lucky to find this VG condition copy, a scrape to the front notwithstanding, and signed no less. Hours of fun here, and a great reference, of course. The author was gone, and gone from DAPA-Em, the mystery apa I later joined and was in until it’s demise early this year, but I understand she was quite a character. That she poured her energy into to a task of this magnitude shows her love for, and dogged determination to better, the mystery genre.

Secret Operative K-13 by Joel Townley Rogers [Black Dog Books 2011 trade paper, new] – pulp spy fiction – Who is he, what is his mission? No one knows. What are his orders? Can he be stopped? The answers lie within these pages. Cover by Paul Stahr.

The Master of Dragons by H. Bedford Jones [Black Dog Books 2011 trade paper, new] – pulp adventure – four novelettes from 1932, all featuring O’Neil and Burket (not to be confused with Dan Cushman’s Armless O’Neil) in the orient. I gobbled up the adventures of Jones’ Captain Dan Marguard on his sloop, the Gadfly in The Golden Goshawk (my review is here) and since reading those tales I snap up any Bedford-Jones tales I can find. This is on the top of my TBR.

Naked and Alone by Michael Lawrence [Popular Library # G354, Eagle Books Edition, 1953 paperback, used copy] – mystery/crime fiction – After reading a review of, then getting a copy of Lawrence’s other Johnny Amsterdam nover, I Like It Cool, I had to search out this one. Amsterdam is – his words – “a private cop working out of Times Square”. This time it’s a prostitution racket he’s looking to bust, but these things are never easy…

Nomad’s Trail – The Saga of Simon Bolivar Grimes, Volime 1 by E. Hoffman Price [Black Dog Books 2011 trade paper, new] – pulp western – a dozen stories plus an introduction by James Reasoner. Pure entertainment, Reasoner tells us, and these are written, quite intentionally, in the spirit of Robert E. Howard’s western tales. You know I had to try this!

Fisherman’s Hope — Voices of Hope — Patriarch’s Hope
by David Feintuch [Aspect Science Fiction, 1996, 1997 mass market paperback, used copies] – hard/military science fiction – Over a decade ago I bought the first three books in this series, Midshipman’s Hope, Challenger’s Hope and Prisoner’s Hope in paperback editions by Aspect. They were duly put on the shelf for the day I was in the mood to read them, and finally that day came a month ago or so. I liked the first book so much, and discovered it was a 6 book set, not a 3 book one, that I got these three from Paperback Bookswap. The second book in the series was pretty grim and the main character (is that term outdated?) became more and more angst-filled until by the end I was unsure I wanted to go on. I began the third book with some sense of trepidation, found that character still filled with anger and angst and glimpses of the forthcoming plots makes me think that’s not going to let up. So I’ve stopped reading for a while, but I’ve got all 6 books now and will likely read them over time. They are well written and the plotting is good, I just wish the character would, well, get over it.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in Adventure, books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Arrivals – April 11-24, 2011

  1. Patti Abbott says:

    I will not trouble the world with the 7o some books I purchased at our going out of business Borders. What a treasure trove.

  2. You have some good looking stuff here yourself. Everything I would have in my house. The Hope novels I did read years back.

  3. I had to go back and check because I thought I remembered seven in the Hope series. There was. Feintuch also did two books in a fantasy series as well. He passed away in 2006.

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Nice selection! Mine over the last couple of weeks have been prosaic in comparison. The highlight may have been Jon Tuska’s THE DETECTIVE IN HOLLYWOOD from ABE for $1.49.

    Let me say as one who knew her well that to call Ellen “quite a character” does understate it somewhat. She was sui generis.

  5. Art Scott says:

    Since I was the guy who shot the dust jacket photos for the Crime Club Compendium, I’m pleased you thought they were a highlight of the book. I myself wince a bit when I look at them, there were a lot of technical flaws. The technology spurt (from photo to digital scan) in the decade between working on Ellen’s book and the McGinnis & Great American Paperback books was huge.

  6. Richard says:

    Jeff – I didn’t know how better to say it. You did. I gave my copy of that book to Dave Lewis.

    Randy – great, now I need to find that last book, even if I don’t read the rest of them, ever the completist.

    Art – yes, but how could you know, and even if you had…? That must have been quite a project, and a bit of a chore. As for technical flaws, I look at the covers, not the photographs of them.

  7. As usual, I’m envious. These look great.

  8. Richard says:

    I can hardly wait to get to them, Charles.

  9. Lots of goodies here! Of course, Ellen Nehr’s book is classic. Art Scott’s cover is brilliant. I’m shocked that Patti Abbott would buy 70 books at a Borders’ “Going Out of Business” sale. Our local public library is hosting its annual Book Sale next week. I’ve found treasures there in years past.

  10. Richard says:

    I’m not shocked at all. Good luck with the library sale, George.

  11. Jon says:

    You’ve got the Feintuch series pretty well pegged. I struggled through most of them, and got extremely tired of the protagonist’s attitude. Reminded me far to much of Thomas Covenant.

  12. Richard says:

    Jon – that’s a comparison I wouldn’t have thought to make, but it is spot on. I finished the Covenant trilogy, but it was a struggle, and vowed not to read any more by the author. Sold the hardcovers at a garage sale.

  13. Pingback: Dapa em | Beyondnauvoo

Leave a Reply

