simple pleasures

Friday morning I got up, made some coffee, and I sat in the living room by the fire. I opened a book and read. One of the cats came and curled up on the sofa next to me.

A decade ago this would have been the greatest of luxuries. I would have gotten up earlier, put on slacks, shirt, tie and coat and taken the freeway to my office, where I would have begun what would be a 9 or 10 hour day. Since retiring about eight years ago, that’s all changed. Getting up in the morning, reading a while before I do much of anything else, except light that fire and get the coffee, is a common event and I don’t usually give it much thought.

For some reason I thought of it yesterday, and felt the happiness of a simple pleasure: doing something I enjoy in a pleasant, safe, warm, comfortable place. Thank God for books, cats, fireplaces and rainy mornings. Thank God for simple pleasures.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, Personal Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to simple pleasures

  1. Amen, brother! Those that don’t, or won’t, do such things know not what they are missing. Pardon all the negatives, though I’m sure you understand the sentiment.

  2. Richard says:

    Sure do, Randy. Sure do.

  3. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Amen. Glad you seem to be in a better mood today.

  4. Richard says:

    Me? I’m always in a good mood, Jeff.

  5. I’m with you. Absolutely.

  6. Drongo says:

    It does seem blissful. I’m glad you enjoy such pleasures.

  7. Fence says:

    I can’t wait for my retirement, work tells me I have 30 odd years to go unfortunately 🙂

  8. Carl V. says:

    Thank God for simple pleasures indeed! They are often, if not always, the very best pleasures to be had. I am a long way from retirement (unless I somehow hit the lottery that I don’t play…unlikely), but I often think of how nice it would be to get up on weekday mornings, have a little breakfast and do the newspaper crossword puzzle, and just ease myself into the day. I could get up earlier and do that now, but I haven’t perfected the art of being able to make myself go to bed earlier!

  9. Such peaceful moments need to be cherished. It can all change in a moment. We live in turbulent times…

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    The fact that you included rain in that sentiment seems like a good sign.

  11. Cap'n Bob says:

    I drag my dead ass out of bed at 4:30 a.m. to let the puppy out. Don’t like coffee. I envy you, a little.

  12. Richard says:

    I think this comes under the category of stopping to smell the roses. After the work angst fades (and it does, really) retirement can start to seems like anything else, same old, same old. It’s just what George points out that first got me thinking about this a few weeks ago.

    Yes, Patti, and it’s beautiful, cool and sunny here today, just beautiful. I’m halfway through a really enjoyable space opera, the coffee is fresh and hot, all’s right with the world.

  13. Walker Martin says:

    I agree absolutely about the pleasures that you describe. I took early retirement 11 years ago and have never regretted it. Now my days consist of reading, collecting old pulps and paperbacks, watching old movies, especially film noir and westerns, listening to jazz and classical music, and attending baseball games, mainly minor league ball.

  14. Richard says:

    Walker, we have about the same number of years of retirement under our belts, and do a lot of the same things with our time there days: I don’t collect pulps, as you know, but do buy and read many collections of the stories along with SF-F and mysteries, watch some old movies, listen to jazz and classical. I wish there was a baseball team here, other than the local small college (Portland State), but it will have to do.

Leave a Reply

