from SW 55th

We planted a vine yesterday, but it’s really too cold to plant so it may not make it. Whatever. It rained today. It will rain tomorrow. Watched some of The Masters today. It was a pretty good finish, but Woods got all the press even though he was fourth. Bah. Reading tonight, walking tomorrow and going to the library.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to from SW 55th

  1. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Sounds like you’re getting pretty fed up with Portland’s recent weather, which is completely understandable.

    Looking forward to New Arrivals. I got a bunch of DVD’s of British TV series in London but, sadly, few actual books.

  2. You sound grumpy, Rick. Patrick will be flying out of Seattle today. His flight lands in Buffalo at 11 P.M. tonight. It will be a late evening for us.

  3. Richard says:

    No new arrivals. That is, there were a couple, but I won’t be doing those posts any more. Why bother?

    Yes George, I guess I’m always grumpy which is part of the problem, isn’t it? As for the weather, I keep coming to terms with it, and it gets a few degrees warmed, and then we get near-freezing night temps again (tonight will be another).

    I guess it’s just that we can’t seem to get settled in here, there is always another task before things are all set up and functional. There are still many, many boxes of books everywhere and the main floor bookshelves are stalled, there is a room full of artwork – mostly prints – that needs to be sited and hung, the quilt studio still needs the design wall made and mounted, plus there are smaller things, a door with a loose hinge, boxes in the garage that need to be sorted and the stuff put away… it goes on and on. It’s beautiful outside right now, but it’s 42. I don’t want to to bundle up like I’m in the bloody Arctic just to go to the mail box…

  4. Remember when I told you months ago that if you were going to move, then you needed to move right away. As we get older the whole process of moving and settling in becomes more exhausting and expensive. I wouldn’t move now if someone paid me. The hassles are not worth it.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    I would move in a flash. I am just plain tired of springs that come in May and winters that come in early November. I am tired in living in the most depressed city in the country. I am tired of a state legislature who wants to balance the budget on the backs of the poor and middle class. I would move tomorrow.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    It’s funny. When Jackie was getting ready to retire we thought we’d be gone south in a shot: no more snow was the biggest thing. But we like our apartment and our life here, the restaurants and the theater, and we are not ready for more than about six weeks in Florida, though we may be some years down the line. The way we have it worked out now is working, despite the awful winters of the last two years.

    This way we can still travel – besides Florida and London we have New Orleans, Ontario and St. Louis scheduled for this year.

  7. Jeff and Patti: I have no problem with people moving. My problem is that many people fail to calculate the costs of their actions. Moving (and settling in) gets harder and more expensive as we get older.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    Believe me if I lived in New York, I would not move. If I lived in Southern Cal, probably not. But Detroit is in its own special level of hell.

  9. Richard says:

    The problem I’m having is just that I didn’t expect the cold to drag on so long. EVERYONE here – the weather people, the neighbors, the newspapers, the realtors, every single person we encounter day to day, like the ones at Starbucks or the market or Post Office ALL say this is the coldest, wettest Spring they ever remember. We have broken records set in the 1950s. It’s just our fortune to be here for this record-making event. I’ve been in Oregon for trips and vacations since I was about 10 years old, in Spring, Summer and Fall and it has always been very nice here. Patti would find it delightful compared to her present climate. I do have to remember we are on a mercator Parallel with Toronto, though of course the Pacific Ocean influence keeps it much warmer than that city.

    It’s not the moving so much, at least at this point, as that final settling in process.

    Patti – if you feel that way, you need to move. Really.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    We probably will once Phil retires in 2-3 years.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    Think Brooklyn, Patti.

    Or Sutton Place.

    😉

Leave a Reply

