New Arrivals, March 28 – April 3, 2011

It never stops, does it? Of course these New Arrivals posts don’t hint at the new items for the garden (with the move, we went from 275 sq. ft. to a quarter acre, and though some of it is wooded hillside, there are lots of garden opportunities), or for the house. But forget that for now, let’s talk books.

Green Hornet: The Sins of the Father Vol. 1 by Kevin Smith (writer), Jonathan Lau (pencils & inks), Ivan Nunes (color) [Dynamite Entertainment, 2010 hardcover, new] – comics graphic novel, superhero, classic – Lots of talk about the Green Hornet lately, what with the film and all. Kevin Smith is a favorite comics script writer, and this should be a really good one, with strong art team backing up Smith’s solid plotting.

The Green Hornet Year One Volume One: The Sting of Justice by Matt Wagner (writer), Aaron Campbell (pencils & inks), Francisco Francavilla (colors) [Dynamite Entertainment, 2010 trade paper edition, new] – comics graphic novel, superhero, classic – I liked the Green Hornet when I heard some of the last radio shows as a kid, and this Year One story line takes us back to the character’s beginnings. I saw James Reasoner’s review and decided to buy it.

The Next Rodeo – New and Selected Essays by William Kittredge [Graywolf Press, 2007 trade paper, new] – essay and opinion – I heard a wonderful interview with Kittredge on the Oregon Public Radio program Think Out Loud on March 24, 2011, a re-broadcast of a show originally airing December 23, 2010. You can hear it here. The interview was so enthralling that I sat in the car after I got home, continuing to listen all the way to the end. I knew I had to read some of his work, and picked this and A Hole in the Sky. I’ll try some of the fiction later.

Queenpin by Megan Abbott [ Simon & Schuster 2007 trade paper, new] – mystery fiction, noir – I’m not usually big on noir. The inevitable spiral to doom isn’t usually the kind of thing I want for entertainment, but for this writer I make an exception.

The Song Is You by Megan Abbott [ Simon & Schuster 2008 trade paper, new] – mystery fiction, noir – I’m not usually big on noir. The inevitable spiral to doom isn’t usually the kind of thing I want for entertainment, but for this writer I make an exception.


About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Arrivals, March 28 – April 3, 2011

  1. Ron Scheer says:

    Kittredge’s Hole in the Sky is a very readable memoir of his early years on the family-owned ranching operation in Oregon. I like his short stories, which is where he’s at his best. I would stay away from the novel The Willow Field. The first 75 pages are fine as a novella; the rest was aimless and repetitive.

  2. The two Green Hornets look interesting. May add those to my TBR pile. I have the two Abbotts nestled there already. The Kittredge I don’t have, though it sounds interesting.

    My list is up now.

  3. Evan Lewis says:

    I read both those Hornets, and liked ’em fine, especially Year One. Sins of the Father took a little getting used to … this Hornet is Britt Reid’s son and his chauffeur is Kato’s daughter … but I’d like to read more in the series.

  4. Megan Abbott is the Queen of Noir.

  5. Richard says:

    Ron – I’m 2/3 of the way into The Next Rodeo and am enjoying it quite a bit. I have a hunch it and Hole will have some overlap, as they both have autobiographical pieces in them. So far, Kitteridge tells an interesting tale. I’ll look for short stories, do you have a recommendation for a specific book?

  6. Richard says:

    Randy, Evan – I’m going to try to get to at least one of the Green Hornet books this week, but I’m a third of the way into a mystery by Max Collins, and 2/3 of the way into the Kitteridge, so we’ll see. Plus it’s tax week (sigh).

  7. Richard says:

    George – makes you wonder why you don’t hear more of her unless you’re an insider (hard core mystery fan, at a convention, reading Mystery News (RIP) or it’s ilk.

  8. Charles Gramlich says:

    Great covers. I still have to read Queenpin

  9. Carl V. says:

    the Megan Abbott books look great. I need to put them on my wishlist.

  10. Patti Abbott says:

    Megan’s novels are noir. Both of those two are less grim, far less grim than BURY ME DEEP.

  11. Richard says:

    Patti – yep, I know, I identified them as such in the listings, saying “for this author I make an exception”.

Leave a Reply

