Enough Already!

According to the weather guy last night, this is now the wettest March since sometime in the 1950s, we are 230% of normal rainfall for the month and have had 24 consecutive days of rain and 29 of 30 in the month – it must have not rained one of the days in early March, but I can’t recall a clear day. Now I know this is a rainy climate, and I’m fine with that, but this is just silly. Plus, usually by March 15 we have had at least ONE day where the temperature reached 60. Not this year, we had a 57 a week ago, and they forecast 60 for today, then moved that to tomorrow, then moved it again to Friday. Now they say maybe Sunday. I’m glad I got new windshield wipers on the car before we moved here.

On another happy note, we go to the Tax Man (actually a woman) today to get the news. Buying and selling houses, filing Federal and in two states and making some major W4 adjustments, we had to go to the pro this year, plus the many changes by the Fed and States to the tax codes, many of them last-second, made it a wise thing to do. Here’s hoping we get a refund! I’ve got (more) bookshelves to pay for!

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Enough Already!

  1. Carl V. says:

    Ooo, taxes. That will be fun. Hope it goes smoothly for you.

    I always imagine I could handle the upper northwest rainy climate, but I’m not sure I could do a month of rain. That would be testing my patience.

  2. Richard says:

    Carl – as it is testing ours. Even the weather people, and news people, and our long-time resident neighbors, are saying they’re getting sick of it. After an unusually cold winter, with especially early snow (before Thanksgiving) now we have an unusually wet late Winter-Spring. We’ve had the March Lion, now we’re ready for the Lamb!

  3. Charles Gramlich says:

    Wow, that’s a serious rainy season.

  4. Our taxes are fairly simple. We have no exotic investments and we’re not buying or selling any real estate. I fired up TURBOTAX last month and was done in 25 minutes (that includes doing the NY State tax, too). I’ve adjusted our withholding so we basically breakeven.

  5. Carl V. says:

    I believe our lamb is supposed to return tomorrow. I cannot wait.

  6. Richard says:

    George – I read in the newspaper that the last TurboTax update was last Friday. You may want to check. If you’d come out differently you might need to file an amended return…

    Carl – I’m ready.

  7. Drongo says:

    Always funny when a Californian finds out that it rains in Oregon. 🙂

  8. Bill Crider says:

    Meanwhile, Texas is in the midst of its worst drought since the 1950s. Go figure.

  9. Richard says:

    Drongo – come on, we knew it’s a rainy place before we moved. But 230% of normal??? TWO AND A THIRD the usual March rainfall amount? You must admit that’s a lot more than “finding out it rains”!!!

  10. Cap'n Bob says:

    Not as bad up here in Washington except for the flooding in the lowlands. I recollect a few years ago we had 100 days without sunshine, and rain on many of them. Most folks just buy a slicker and get on with life. Teenagers wear T-shirts and get soaked. Damn fools.

  11. Patti Abbott says:

    Maybe I won’t move to Portland. Doubt my sinuses could handle it.

  12. Richard says:

    Come on out, Patti. My sinuses aren’t having any trouble at all, especially compared to down south when the Santa Ana winds blew. Compared to what you’re going through there, this is a piece of cake.

    Bob – that’s a long stretch with no sun. That “except for the flooding” line — there hasn’t been any of that here. Supposed to be nice here today, and reach 60 for the first time this year. I don’t have a slicker yet, I’m lazy about buying clothes, but I do dress in layers and wear a hat under a hoodie. It serves.

  13. Jeff Meyerson says:

    London just had the driest March in 50 years (it rained the day we arrived) and after a warm January the flowers were out early, way earlier than they are here. The day we left there it was 77 degrees and beautiful. Most of the rest of the week was in the low 60’s.

    We managed a refund, though smaller than last year’s. Taking withholding on Jackie’s social security was definitely the way to go.

  14. Richard says:

    Jeff – I wish I could say we are getting a refund, but no. Glad you had a good trip and good weather.

Leave a Reply

