New Arrivals March 21-27, 2011

After a zilch last week, a few more things this time, of various types and topics, information and explainations on each follow the gallery. As usual, click to enlarge.

A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants by The American Horticultural Society [Covent Garden Books, 2006 oversized hardcover, new] – reference, gardening, plants, horticulture – I’m almost always a sucker for big gardening books, especially if they have a lot of information and a lot of photos, which this one does. And extra especially when Spring is just starting to show in a very tempting way. This is one of those almost-made-for-the-remaindered-shelf, with a $75 price almost no one will ever pay. Mine was right where you’d expect me to find it, plus a 40% off coupon, so I paid just over $20. This double-doorstop sized leviathan will keep me browsing for many hours.

A Question of Proof by Nicholas Blake [Rue Morgue Press 2008 trade paper, new] – fiction, mystery, classic English type – Blake wrote this in 1935, it’s about as much a classic British mystery as you could ask for, or so I think before reading it. Based on a review by John Norris of this and another novel by Blake.

Thou Shell of Death by Nicholas Blake [Rue Morgue Press 2009 trade paper, new] – fiction, mystery, classic English type – Blake wrote this in 1936, it’s the second in the series of mysteries featuring Nigel Strangeways. Christmas house party, a murder predicted by letters, a houseful of suspects. Classic stuff.

The Cloud Roads by Martha Wells [Night Shade Books 2011 trade paper, new) – fantasy – You’ve heard me say this before, and whether it’s wise or foolish, it’s true: I tend to buy books about which I have read several strong, positive reviews. This is another one, and will be the first of Wells books I’ve tried.

Hidden Cities by Daniel Fox [Del Rey 2011 Trade Paperback original, new copy] – fantasy – This is the third and final volume of Fox’s Moshui: The Books of Stone and Water trilogy. I have the first two, Dragon in Chains and Jade Man’s Skin, also trade editions, on the shelf having bought the first two in the wake of strong reviews, and now plan to read the three books as a set in the near future. I posted on this blog not too long ago that I had no TBR. Now I do; these three books.

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss [DAW Books 2007 hardcover (first edition, 9th printing), new] – fantasy – Okay, okay, I did something I rarely do. I bought a book I already have, knowingly, on purpose. I have a brand new unread copy of this book. Well, actually I read about 15 pages of it and stopped. You see I had thought it was a stand-alone novel and about the time I started reading it I found out that it was the first book in a trilogy. Usually I wait to read these when the work is complete, so I stopped. But then I started seeing the reviews; not the initial ones that got me to buy it in the first place, no. It was the ones by people who had waited, and finally read it, and said, in different ways “this is one of the best fantasy novels ever written and if you’ve waiting, well, wait no more. Then the second book came out, just a couple of months ago, and the raves reached stunning decibel levels. So I bought the 2nd book (below) and I bought the first one in hardcover, so I would have matched format. That’s scary, isn’t it?

The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss [DAW Books 2011 hardcover (first edition, 2nd printing), new] – fantasy – So as I was saying, I bought this one. The question is will I be able to wait the 3 or possibly more years it will be before the third and final book comes out, or will I cave in and read The Name of the Wind and this book? I don’t know.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, books, reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Arrivals March 21-27, 2011

  1. Not at all scary that last comment. I like matched sets as well. Funny that way. If I started a series in paperback, for example, I try to get them all that way. If hardcover, I go in that direction.

    I have to say, you’ve got stuff by no writers I’ve read myself. The Rothfuss books I may have to try, though fantasy is not my favorite genre, outside of THE HOBBIT and LORD OF THE RINGS of course. I hope you review them.

  2. Evan Lewis says:

    That A-Z resides in our house, too, though not on my shelves.

  3. Richard says:

    Randy – here is the review, by my friend Carl Vincent, that pushed me over the edge. Read it for yourself: http://www.stainlesssteeldroppings.com/the-name-of-the-wind-patrick-rothfuss#more-2715

    Evan – nor mine, but it is on (in?) the smallish gardening / cooking bookshelf upstairs in the living-dining area, or will be as soon as I can get the team hitched up to move it. My gosh it’s heavy!

  4. Jeff Meyerson says:

    My name is Rick and I”m a bookaholic.

    Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

    I got a couple of things from the Exchange last week: RALLY ROUND THE FLAG, BOYS! by Max Shulman (which, despite my assuming to the contrary, I seem not to have read in the past, though I remember the movie clearly), and BURN NOTICE: THE GIVEAWAY, a tie-in with the USA TV series by Tod Goldberg.

    But the big one was HELLCATS AND HONEYGIRLS by Lawrence Block and Donald E. Westlake, collecting three of their “sleaze” collaborations from 50 years ago.

    The titles are A GIRL CALLED HONEY, SO WILLING and SIN HELLCAT, by the way.

  5. Richard says:

    Jeff – I read the Schulman so many years ago I’ve forgotten when, but I think it was when I was in high school, so probably 1962 or so (what’s the (c) date on it?). I didn’t know they were doing tie-in novels to that show, might have to try one, if I ever start READING instead of just adding things to the already groaning shelves. You seem to get more good stuff from the exchange – BookSwap – than I do, but then I don’t look for stuff there very often, and I have quite a few points I could spend.

  6. Apparently there’s plenty of disappointment with the sequel to Rothfuss’ THE NAME OF THE WIND, THE WISE MAN’S FEAR.

  7. Charles Gramlich says:

    After reading your hardback, matched format comment, I just have to say, THere is no hope for you. 🙂 Welcome to the club.

  8. Richard says:

    George – well thanks for bursting that bubble. Still, I haven’t seen any negative reviews so far… and probably won’t look for any. Could it just be middle-novel let down on the part of some readers?

    Charles – I’ve been a member of that club for a long time.

  9. Richard says:

    George – here – in part – is the review by my most rusted fantasy reviewing site, Fantasy Book Critic:

    “At the end of the day, despite all of its praise and recognition, The Name of the Wind was far from perfect. The book after all, was still a debut effort. Still rough around the edges with uneven pacing, one-dimensional supporting characters, and shallow world-building some of the novel’s more notable flaws. So when the two books are compared against each other, it’s easy to see how much Patrick Rothfuss has grown as a writer and how much better The Wise Man’s Fear is than The Name of the Wind. The writing for instance, is much more polished. The prose is more refined, the pacing is tighter with fewer lulls, and the overall flow of the narrative is smoother, which is especially impressive considering how much bigger the novel is than its predecessor.”

  10. A friend of mine who read THE WISE MAN’S FEAR said, “It’s a 1000 pages of nothing. It doesn’t develop the characters or the plot.” The wonderful Scott Cupp has sent me some signed editions of Martha Wells’ work. I’ll be reviewing them soon. Bill Crider wrote a very positive review of Wells’ latest novel.

  11. Jeff Meyerson says:

    The Shulman was published in 1957. I do have THE MANY LOVES OF DOBIE GILLIS and SLEEP TILL NOON on my database but not this one. The movie of RALLY was released at the very end of 1958, and the Dobie Gillis TV series ran from 1959-1963. I’m sure I read the books somewhere in that period.

  12. Richard says:

    George – well that’s discouraging, but I’ll slog on.

    Jeff, then the timing for my reading the paperback would be okay.

  13. Patti Abbott says:

    I love Nicholas Blake. And Phil might want to snag that plant encyclopedia.

  14. Richard says:

    Patti – I’ve not read Blake, it was an FFB review by John Norris that made me want to try him. If Phil can get that A-Z for as cheaply as I did, I say go for it.

Leave a Reply

