You Must Believe In Spring

Not only a terrific 1977 jazz album by the Bill Evans Trio, but something necessary for us all. It’s beginning to look like it might happen here in Portland. I took these this morning.

About Richard Robinson

Enjoying life in Portland, OR
This entry was posted in At Home in Portland, Personal Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to You Must Believe In Spring

  1. Carl V. says:

    Well bid it a welcome for me. It is funny, I think you mentioned on my site the other day about the lack of bird sounds but the preponderance of frogs singing. So, this past Monday my wife and I picnicked at the local nature reserve for her birthday and as we were driving through the reserve, windows down to enjoy the nearly 80 degree temps, we were blown away by the loud, reverberating chorus of frogs. I instantly thought of you and laughed. Guess it is truly spring here as well.

  2. Bill Crider says:

    Nice. I’ll have some spring photos up tomorrow, too. Or Friday.

  3. Ron Scheer says:

    For me, it’s “Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most”. . .

  4. Evan Lewis says:

    Forsythia and Camelia, says the expert in residence.

  5. Richard says:

    Carl – they seem to sign the loudest around sunset, and don’t mind the rain, as long as it stays in the 50s, which is what we’re having. Looking for 60 any day now. The forcast is rain for 5 days, then maybe sunny next Wednesday.

    Bill – I look forward to them.

  6. Jeff Meyerson says:

    We’ve seen crocuses and a few buds on the trees, but then the wet snow and cold came back yesterday so who knows?

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    High of 30 degrees in Detroit. I should have never left LaJolla.

  8. oh that is nice when you begin to see such lovely flowers.

  9. Richard says:

    Evan – that’s correct. We’re amazed how this old Forsythia, which has obviously gotten no attention (pruning, feeding,) has put on a nice display. We even have some branches inside in a vase.

    Ron – now THAT’S a sad one. I like it sung by June Christy.

    Jeff – I still haven’t made the seasonal adjustment. In the last house the roses would be budded and I’d be out n the garden planting, feeding, doing the early Spring tree pruning. The daffodils would be done and the baby snapdragons ready to go in.

  10. Richard says:

    Patti – Not a bad plan. When are you moving to the west coast?

    Charles – yes, yes it is. There will be more, soon I hope.

  11. Diane and I shoveled about five inches of freshly fallen snow from our driveway and sidewalks this morning. I ran the gas out of my snow blower, Big Red, last week and stubbornly resisted refilling Big Red’s gas tank. Ah, ever the optimist…

Leave a Reply

